We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT A WONDERFUL PLACE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winchester Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“WHAT A WONDERFUL PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have now stayed at Winchester Mansions three times - twice this year. They were both on our recent trip to Southern Africa. We have a huge welcome - and staff remembered us from last year which is just amazing when you think of the number of visitors that come through the doors.This place is a true haven for a weary traveller. If is very beautifully situated with the Atlantic on its doorstep. The rooms are clean and comfy. The breakfasts are superb. Our dinners that we had were always top quality and catered for vegetarians very well. During our first stay we had a very early morning flight to Namibia - we had wonderful "breakfast boxes" waiting for us at 4am when we checked out for the airport. Another features that is truly wonderful and will bring us back again and again is their transport shuttle between the hotel and the V &A waterfront. It is a top service - they always pick one up when they say they will - and it is with a smile. We will be back - just love the place

Room Tip: this is an older hotel - so the rooms are all sorts of shapes and sizes - but it does not matter whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    274
    71
    31
    21
See reviews for
167
494
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

This was a special visit to Sea Point for me as I used to live in the block of flats as a child and it was my first visit back in over 40 years!
I remembered the Mansions when it was a bloc of flats many years ago.
The Mansions are elegant in a Cape Dutch style.
It is not a chain hotel,but delightfully unique with an understated old world charm.
The conversion has been subtly and tastefully done.The inner courtyard with a fountain and dining is a stroke of brilliance and creates a lush cool and tranquil environment.
The rooms are either cutting edge modern or old world chintz depending on your preference.
The staff are genteel and polite yet welcoming and have the knack of being unstuffy-its a clever and rare mix.
The safety issues sadly necessary are taut ,but not oppressive.
The situation is unbeatable-at the front it is one road away from the roaring Atlantic,yet and easy ten minutes to Downtown Cape Town.The rear views look up to Lions head and Table Mountain.
Surprisingly for all this the tarrif is reasonable as are restaurant prices.
Hope to stay again on any and all subsequent visits ti the Fairest cape.

Room Tip: higher floors facing the sea are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

The Hotel was our final stop in South Africa and sealed a wonderful time. Hotel ideally placed to enjoy beautiful sunsets from bar. Tour Bus Stop right outside Hotel which is great for seeing Cape Town and the Hotel operates a shuttle bus to the Waterfront. Add to this the pleasant walks along the promenade opposite the Hotel and what more could you ask for? Rooms are clean comfortable and quiet. Pool is lovely although there is some road noise it is relaxing non the less.
When we ever return to Cape Town it will be top of the list . Staff all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Robert R
thank you for your kind post about your stay with us. We hope to have you back real soon!?
Kind regards from sunny Cape Town Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

When you wanted to visit capetown, this hotel is the best option to stay! Good breakfast, quite rooms, taxi service from the hotel and extra services! We enjoyed staying here and will comeback surely!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Martijn 007

a big thank you for your great review of your stay with us. It makes our job so much more pleasant when our efforts are being recognised and appreciated.

kind regards from lovely Cape Town Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

The Winchester Mansions Hotel was the first destination on our itinary in South Africa.eThe hotel gave us a warm welcome with a bottle of champagne and a bowl of fresh fruit,as it was our 40th wedding anniversary! Great location, lovely food and good service.
Good bus service for The Waterfront just outside the hotel. Thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsieR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

A very nice hotel , great location, the hotel staff were very helpful and polite , they provide a free shuttle to the waterfront, the breakfast was excellent . The room was very comfortable , really enjoyed my stay there

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaggie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, USA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

If you are looking for a quiet and scenic Cape Town neighborhood then you should head to Sea Point, and the Winchester is the best full-service hotel in the area. You have the ocean across Beach Road in front (no swimming though!) and behind the hotel on Main Road you'll find all the shops and markets you could need. A cheap (and safe) public bus runs the route to the V&A Waterfront, and private tourist buses will take you to other sites in the city.

The Winchester is truly a beautiful hotel, with a stylish blend of classic architecture and modern elegance that I was admiring throughout. Had the weather been more welcoming I would have loved to sit in the courtyard with a good book and a drink. Service wasn't flawless but the staff made up for it in enthusiasm. My room was clean and quiet, excepting noise from a very windy storm we had to endure.

All that said my room felt small, with an odd layout that set aside half the space to the bathroom. And while it may not be fair to hold the Winchester to an international standard, I found the breakfast disappointing and room amenities a bit sparse, especially when compared to my stay in Johannesburg.

In short, I would definitely recommend the Winchester, but consider the Hotel Riviera down the road if you need more space and a full kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gridskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
dear gridskipper
thank you for taking the time to review us in such detail. I am sorry to hear that you felt your room was small. When you hopefully return, please advise which room you where in and we'll asign a different one. we have many rooms types and tastes are different when it comes to choices available. I hope you will visit us again soon. Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing