We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exception staff and service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winchester Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Ddorset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exception staff and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was our first visit to Cape Town and the Hotel was chosen for us. With a very long promenade to walk along I wondered 'were we safe' My worries were unfounded. The Hotel itself has great character with the outsisde restaurant in the middle of the Hotel with trees and shrubs in abundance! Our room was OK we would have preferred to be sea facing. The staff however could not do enough for you, from repairing a pair of shorts to producing a 'Happy Birthday' dish for my husband. The complimentary shuttle bus to the Waterfront was very convenient.
I would certainly recommend the Hotel but choose you room carefully.

Room Tip: For a room with a view choose sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Dot5346
it is wonderful to see your great review, thank you for taking the time and please return very soon to renew your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    274
    71
    31
    21
See reviews for
167
494
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The staff at Winchester Mansions is just incredible. I arrived in Cape Town at 4PM and, given the capricious weather atop Table Mountain, requested information from the front desk about how to get there as quickly as possible while the weather was good. Not only did I get the information I needed, but the front desk even arranged a cab to drive me there right away. Within 1 hour, I was on top of Table Mountain with incredible, other-worldly views of Cape Town. The experience was top-notch.

In addition, this hotel is a stop on the Hop on/off tour bus, which gets you nearly everywhere you would want to go and simultaneously stay on budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summer07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Summer07Boston
thank you for the great comment you posted. It makes our profession so much more worthwhile when efforts are being recognised. Hope to be able to have you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Really great hotel in lovely location. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good breakfast, loved eating in the courtyard - so pretty. Had two meals in the restaurant which were delicious, would really recommend this rather than the V&A, special mention to our waitress, Pepsi who was lovely. Rooms very stylish and spotless. Harveys Bar was great - staff so friendly, food here was also very good. The location is great, just across the road for the red bus stop, also nice for a stroll. All in all a great place to stay in this lovely city - would definately recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Sue G
thank you for your review, I am very glad to see we managed to fulfil your expectation. Many kind regards from sunny Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in Jan 2013. Staff all friendly and helpful. Room very nice as was the swimming pool, although it gets shady in the afternoon. Terrace bar gets very crowded but has beautiful views. Restaurant was good and breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank njwoodhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

The staff couldn't have been more solicitous, and such a great location. Great value and very nice setting. Breakfast is great - indoors or on the terrace, with eggs made to order. They have a shuttle service that is free to the Waterfront, and for a small fee they will take you other places (less expensive and more reliable than taxis). I would recommend it if you are looking for a smaller hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyinWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Great location, beautiful garden courtyard, great breakfast buffet! Rooms are very comfortable- have great amenities. Lime cordial a treat! Bar has buzz at sun down--lots of action with people from all ages. Bikes are great and don't miss the rides along the Promenade to the V&A or to Sunset Beach, etc! Beautiful! Sorry to miss the Sunday Jazz Brunch--sounded great!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barefootsusyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We sat on the verandah, right on the sea front, after a friendly and professional concierge welcomed us at the front door. A wonderful start, but the menu was limited, especially for children, and the service was awful. We waited to be served, then we waited to place an order and then again to get small plates of rather bland food. When we wanted more drinks, the waitress told us to, you guessed it, wait! Someone else needed their bill. No training? No manners? Whatever it was, it was unaaceptable for such a gorgeous, top class establishment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank FavouritePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Favourite Places
thank you for your feedback even though not positive. I apologise most sincerely for the suboptimal service delivery you were subjected to. I am not sure whether you mentioned your complaint to one of our managers, who would certainly have endeavoured to assist in putting things right. I sincerely hope you will give is another try as we usually manage to please our guests. Thank you again for your valuable input. Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing