We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, Very Disappointing and Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I just stayed their in July 2013 and found them very unfair, disappointing and not fair. Cheated me out of a 4 night stay and would not credit me and were very deceitful in their practices. Beware. Customer satisfaction and good customer service is a big part of the hotel industry as well as all industries and obviously that is not their focus.

Room Tip: I would not stay in this hotel because of their poor customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Michele P

Only through your comment on Tripadvsior did I become personally aware of the fact that you are unhappy with regards to a booking for June 2013, for which you did not arrive. When you arrived one month later, we of course had invoiced for the "no showed" stay. It is common practise that guaranteed bookings are invoiced in the event of the guest not showing. I would like to see whether we can come to some sort of an arrangement and would like to hear from you in order to explore some options.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Nils Heckscher – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Best spot to watch the sun set on the Atlantic sea board. Sit back and enjoy, good cocktails and comfortable seating makes for a great early evening spot. Bar is well stocked and indoors in comfortable but the terrace is truly where it is at.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear JamesHAfrica
there is a cocktail waiting for you on the terrace now! the sun is out and the skies are blue! We are here when you're coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We are a family of five and I looked at so many hotels in Cape Town center and on the V&A waterfront that would work for us and not blow our budget. And then found the Winchester Mansion and we had a winner! Our family stayed in the Harvey Suite and it was the BEST room and so perfect for our stay. Two large bedrooms and bathrooms, a half bathroom and a small third bedroom along with a living room and dining area. It was by far the best value for a room and breakfast we have ever had in our travels. Impeccable service, fabulous breakfast, state of the art bathrooms, charming courtyard and breathtaking views out the suite windows overlooking the ocean. Out the front of the hotel is a park and walkway that runs for miles full of runners and walkers. The hotel has a complimentary van to take you to the V&A waterfront which is a short 5 minute drive away. The hotel also supplies airport transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2snowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Luv2snowski
i am delighted to have read your kind review, thank you! It is good to see that our value for money attitude is being recognised as are the efforts by the team to make your stay a comfortable one. We hope you will make the trip from Michigan again soon!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at Winchester Mansions 27-28 June 2013 and before arrival expected old & gold which was certainly not the case. Although the building has lots of history, the decor is classic and the hotel is very well keeping up with the times. The rooms are very spacious and if staying at this hotel I will definitely recommend sea view as you have an amazing view over the Sea Point promenade. The breakfast was excellent and they have a great public area in the courtyard where you can have Sunday lunches with jazz. The bar is also open to the public so you have a nice vibe feeling throughout. I can recommend this to families, couples and business travellers. The hotel staffs were exceptionally friendly & well trained and you feel part of the family when you leave. Parking is R75 per day which is a normal rate for Cape Town. If you are a light sleeper be aware that there is a level of noise levels in the rooms early at night and early in the morning as I could hear that the hotel staff was busy setting up for meals in the public areas. You can also hear when staff / people are walking / talking outside your room. The hotel has a heated swimming pool which I think is a bonus for Cape Town. In summery I think it’s a great option in terms of location as you are within walking distance to many shops and restaurants and you have the Sea Point promenade in front of you. The hotel certainly exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Defiantely rather pay extra and take seafacing room as add to the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trudie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Trudie J
Thank you for your detailed review, this makes it easy for readers to follow and make yup their mind, great. We have spoken to our staff to be more mindful of noise especial late and very early in the day. I hope we may welcome you back soon to Winchester Mansions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel in Sep 2012, we spent 5 wonderful nights there. The hotel staff are all friendly and we ate a couple of times in the restaurant and bar and the food was excellent, we will be returning next year to the hotel. Our flight arrived very early in the morning and we were given a room on arrival which was great as it meant we could shower and start our sightseeing that morning. The rooms were always cleaned well, and the hotel is in a good location opposite the sea and near the V&A.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoobydoo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Scoobydoo38
thank you for reviewing us, we look forward to having you back this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We absolutely loved staying at the Winchester Mansions. We started off with their famous Sunday Jazz brunch and followed that with a night in one of their divine family suites. Perfectly suited to us a family of 3. The food was delicious, the bar was vibrant. The staff were outstanding. The little touches made all the difference, treats for our son including a special turn down gift and the little putt putt on each floor. We cannot wait to go back in Summer.

Room Tip: Sea view suite was directly above the bar so maybe a little noisy for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fumpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear fumpo
thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to hear you liked Winchester Mansions. why wait 'til summer, come back sooner, the skies are blue and the sun is out right now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Winchester Mansions to begin our trip to southern Africa. This hotel was perfect. Our room was lovely -- the sitting room had an Atlantic Ocean view -- beautiful! The location is great -- walking distance to the Waterfront, red/blue tour bus stop right across the street. I especially want to compliment the staff; they were helpful in every instance, providing maps, shuttle service, restaurant suggestions. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear P3W
thank you for reviewing us. It is heartening to see that our efforts are being recognised. Please tell many more people in Texas about us and come back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,757 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £110 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing