We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to stay in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Place to stay in Cape Town”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for a weekend at the end of the Garden Route. From the moment of arrival we experienced great hospitality. They had a very good deal of a 'winter special' which gave us a junior suite at a great price. I could not fault the hospitality of any of the staff in anyway.

The breakfast was very good and plentiful though finishes a little early on the Sunday.

A really positive bonus is their shuttle bus service which you can book to drop you to the waterfront. They will also pick you up anytime up to 11 PM. This balances the fact that the hotel is not that central. Though if you want to take a city tour bus they stop right outside the front door!

A small negative would be the wifi system. While wifi is free in public spaces you are charged in your room subject to your usage i.e you pay per MB. This means that at times the bar area is full of people logging on!

Overall its a fine hotel with top class hospitality and one that we would be more than happy to return to the next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gael-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    294
    76
    33
    21
See reviews for
178
516
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I recently took a group of 20 to South Africa. Our first stop on arrival was a 3 night stay at Winchester Mansions. Never have I experienced such excellent customer service anywhere in the world. After a LONG flight from the US, the hotel greeted our group with a champagne toast. They also provided each member of our group a listing of the room number of the members of our group to make it easy to contact one another. On the last day, our flight out of Cape Town was at 7AM, so we had to leave before breakfast, so they gave us a special set up of coffee, tea and pastries. They provided restaurant suggestions, and transportation to and from the waterfront. When we decided we just wanted to stay at the hotel one evening, they set the downstairs lounge area up for us. There wasn't anything these people wouldn't do to make our stay better. A special thanks go out to Bradley, the manager, Thalia, the front desk manager, and the 2 best bar waiters in the world, Milton and Pardon. Thank you so much for setting the tone for a wonderful trip to your country. I would never stay anywhere else in Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbeam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outer Banks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here and had a wonderful room looking out at the ocean. The staff were excellent, courteous, and professional. They went out of their way to accommodate our every request. This is one great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeththecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

From the moment my husband and I walked in we were greeted
by the friendliest most hospital staff! We went on our honeymoon and it seemed like all of the staff new and continually made us feel special! Each morning they organized or suggested activities and when we returned they were genuinely interested to see how the day went. The hotel is situated right on the beach so I would highly recommend it for summer ( we were there in winter and with a jacket walks were still nice) they have a free shuttle and the great thing is you call and it's ready, no waiting around! The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zil1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I spent the last leg of our 25th wedding anniversary trip at this hotel and found the whole experience absolutely brilliant. The location is excellent, at the very heart of the platinum mile and right on the tourist bus route, and only a short ride from the V&A Waterfront. The staff and service were fantastic especially if you appreciate the traditional values. It is located right under Table Mountain and has quirky green carpets on each corridor of the quad which double as a putting carpet, complete with cup. There is even a putter and ball hanging on the wall!. I will definitely visit again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Family of 2+2 stayed for 3 nights in early July. Building has lots of charm and some nice quirks. Our small suite was very well furnished. A good bathroom and a cosy sitting room (also with dining space), albeit the sitting room was without windows; a good sized bedroom and an adjacent small room with a sofa bed, both overlooking the ocean (and Beach Rd, which is busy and perhaps not to prefer for light sleepers?). Very comfortable beds. The breakfast was plentiful and varied, with eggs cooked to order. We did not have a proper meal in the restaurant, but snacks were great, also in the bar, which is busy and a great place in itself to watch the fabulous sunset. The staff was friendly and really helpful all around. We had absolutely nothing to complain about and would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I just stayed their in July 2013 and found them very unfair, disappointing and not fair. Cheated me out of a 4 night stay and would not credit me and were very deceitful in their practices. Beware. Customer satisfaction and good customer service is a big part of the hotel industry as well as all industries and obviously that is not their focus.

Room Tip: I would not stay in this hotel because of their poor customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Michele P

Only through your comment on Tripadvsior did I become personally aware of the fact that you are unhappy with regards to a booking for June 2013, for which you did not arrive. When you arrived one month later, we of course had invoiced for the "no showed" stay. It is common practise that guaranteed bookings are invoiced in the event of the guest not showing. I would like to see whether we can come to some sort of an arrangement and would like to hear from you in order to explore some options.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Nils Heckscher – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
483 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing