We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

All good! Room was comfortable and large. Meals outstanding. Staff is amazing and friendly. Very helpful. They go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. Location is a short walk from the beach and a bus stop for the Hop On, Hop Off tour bus.

Room Tip: You will not go wrong with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwanttobeontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    291
    74
    33
    21
See reviews for
176
511
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in August with our two children and our two friends. From start to finish, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, including transporting us in the hotel minibus and arranging a shower for our travel sick son even after we had officially checked out. Family suite was lovely and food and especially the wine was memorable. A special mention for our waitress, Happiness, who really lived up to her name and epitomised "service with a smile". To be recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view family suite on second floor was perfect. Double room on courtyard was smaller and less li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cusians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The position of this hotel is perfect right on the Atlantic Ocean. Very different rooms, so beware which one you book. Standard rooms are small and Junior suites are not always junior suites to international standard. But very well equipped and of very good standard. service very friendly and accommodating. Food choices are plentiful and of good quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate our group of 20. The rooms were very comfortable and had all necessary conveniences. The hotel had the flavor of an old style grand hotel (but don't confuse that with run down) which I like.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard410QOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for a weekend at the end of the Garden Route. From the moment of arrival we experienced great hospitality. They had a very good deal of a 'winter special' which gave us a junior suite at a great price. I could not fault the hospitality of any of the staff in anyway.

The breakfast was very good and plentiful though finishes a little early on the Sunday.

A really positive bonus is their shuttle bus service which you can book to drop you to the waterfront. They will also pick you up anytime up to 11 PM. This balances the fact that the hotel is not that central. Though if you want to take a city tour bus they stop right outside the front door!

A small negative would be the wifi system. While wifi is free in public spaces you are charged in your room subject to your usage i.e you pay per MB. This means that at times the bar area is full of people logging on!

Overall its a fine hotel with top class hospitality and one that we would be more than happy to return to the next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gael-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonia, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I recently took a group of 20 to South Africa. Our first stop on arrival was a 3 night stay at Winchester Mansions. Never have I experienced such excellent customer service anywhere in the world. After a LONG flight from the US, the hotel greeted our group with a champagne toast. They also provided each member of our group a listing of the room number of the members of our group to make it easy to contact one another. On the last day, our flight out of Cape Town was at 7AM, so we had to leave before breakfast, so they gave us a special set up of coffee, tea and pastries. They provided restaurant suggestions, and transportation to and from the waterfront. When we decided we just wanted to stay at the hotel one evening, they set the downstairs lounge area up for us. There wasn't anything these people wouldn't do to make our stay better. A special thanks go out to Bradley, the manager, Thalia, the front desk manager, and the 2 best bar waiters in the world, Milton and Pardon. Thank you so much for setting the tone for a wonderful trip to your country. I would never stay anywhere else in Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbeam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outer Banks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here and had a wonderful room looking out at the ocean. The staff were excellent, courteous, and professional. They went out of their way to accommodate our every request. This is one great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeththecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing