We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overstaffed with below average service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overstaffed with below average service”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Winchester Mansions for three nights. Our overall experience was way below our expectations. The room was clean and spacious, but the window was too small to enjoy the 'sea view' - no value for the premium charged for the sea view rooms. In fact the road outside was quite noisy during the night. Secondly, the internet was very slow and extra charge for in-room internet makes no sense given the accommodation is already quite expensive. Lastly, the staff at the reception was very young and seemed rather under trained - no concept of follow up in case they are unable to deliver on a promised service. For example, we had to stand an extra hour in the queue for Table Mountain tickets just because the staff forgot to make online booking and didn't bother to inform us till we asked.To summarize, poor value for money for the price we paid for the sea view junior suite!! I would certainly explore other options for our next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rakhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    291
    74
    33
    21
See reviews for
176
512
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My experience was very pleasant, would recommend to others!! Very nice, colonial style and spacious rooms, though not waterfront view!! Neat bathrooms!! Restaurant and bar are good!!
ONLY negative - Internet was slow!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toyin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Myself and my fiancé had a magical stay at Winchester Mansions for my birthday recently; we both enjoyed it thoroughly! The room we stayed in was spotless & tastefully decorated with the finest of furnishings and even a birthday welcome card and fruit platter – i love the personal touches!

The service was exceptional and we were always greeted pleasantly, the breakfast room has a stunning view of the promenade and the bar is the perfect hot spot for a cocktail or 2. Our stay really was the special night we had hoped for and more!

We will definitely be recommending Winchester Mansions!

- Liz Shaw (Product Manager, Jenman Safaris)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenmanSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were slightly disappointed on arrival to find that the hotel was located further from the V & A Waterfront than their website had indicated. There is very limited public transport, but the Red and Blue route buses do stop outside, but only pass in one direction and finish at 7.00 pm. Plentiful taxis are relatively cheap. The hotel does have a shuttle service, but on both occasions we wanted to use it, it was unavailable.
Apart from this, we found the hotel itself very good, and the staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. Dinners in the restaurant were of a very high standard, and there was an excellent choice at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0tmade0fm0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to SA so did not know what to expect but from the minute we walked in the door to the minute we walked out everything was perfect. Staff lovely, room with a sea view excellent and food in both Harvey's bar and restaurant very good. We walked the 40 minutes to V&A waterfront and rang the hotel to ask if the shuttle bus would pick us up, which they did. The red city hopper bus stops outside which is perfect. Location is ideal for travelling about in the car especially the drive to Cape Point via Chapmans Peak Drive. Would have no hesitation it recommending this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elainem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was our 5th visit and loved the room that they gave us this time. Just beautiful. Overall this is still a good place to stay in Cape Town. However there were a couple of things that made us wonderful if service is just slipping ever so slightly.

Room Tip: Its lucky dip with room allocation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel is located has close see views but you cannot use that for swimming! Just for watching the waves and using the jogging trail! the Hotel is colonial style reminiscent of the Cape Dutch history. the breakfast is great and staff very friendly and free WiFi available on the ground floor. the NEGATIVE: we decide to use the Hotel Shuttle service and booked online, to our surprise upon arrival at the airport, we waited for 20 minutes looking for the Pick-Up, ended up phoning the hotel where the lady responded - driver on way is stuck on traffic! this was a LIE as we discovered that the Hotel Shuttle was not booked and front desk is blaming Concierge etc. we ended catching a taxi and demanded to speak to the person in charge and requested our refund. This was horrible as we were already running late for the wedding dinner. the line manager did apologize BUT I WILL NEVER VISIT this hotel no matter what.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms are noisy due to the strong winds and sea noise BUT beautiful sunrises in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing