We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Winchester Mansions
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Premier Hotel Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Tide Inn(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centurion All Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ritz Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atico Of Penthouses(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Reviews (1,175)
    Filter reviews
    1,175 results
    Traveller rating
    697
    336
    82
    34
    26
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    697
    336
    82
    34
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsjazz brunchharvey's barsea pointcentral courtyardfree shuttlelovely courtyardsea viewcolonial stylejunior suitebeach roadcamps bayreception staffhop on hop off buscharming hotelhotel shuttleshuttle servicethe hotel offers
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    597 - 602 of 1,175 reviews
    Reviewed 23 February 2014

    Winchester Mansions was our first port of call on our first trip to South Africa and what a perfect start to what proved to be a wonderful three week holiday!
    The staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient and although, because of an early arrival at the airport, our room wasn't immediately ready for us we didn't have to wait long and every effort was made to make us comfortable in the bar!
    We stayed for four nights in a large, well-equipped sea-facing room with all the facilities we needed and were very comfortable.
    We dined, in-house, on four evenings, two of them in the delightful, open-air courtyard dining area. The service and food were excellent, the fresh fish, particularly the sole, to die for! Breakfast, apart from one morning when the wisteria was being pruned, was always taken here.
    A major delight of our stay was the service and personal attention we received from one of the waiters, Geoffrey. Nothing was too much trouble for him; his knowledge of the menus and wines was most helpful and his attentive efficiency, always with a touch of humour was a pleasure to experience.
    The position of Winchester Mansions on Sea Point is another plus - it is slightly removed from the hustle of the city but right outside the front door is a stop for the excellent Red Bus service which has stopping-off points at all the major attractions of Cape Town.
    Winchester Mansions is an hotel to be recommended and we would certainly return.

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Richard P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 February 2014

    We again had the pleasure of staying at the Winchester Mansions while on business for mining Indaba. We were pleasantly upgraded to the deluxe suite complete with a second bedroom, living room, and luxurious bathroom. However there was a lot of confusion regarding our reservation. The confirmation we had received had us coming in the day before our arrival, and their computers had us arriving a day later. But the staff were very efficient in rectifying the problem and hence the upgrade. We sensed a change in the hotel. ( New management perhaps) The faces were not quite as friendly, with the exception of Shaheed and the poolside bartender. Just had a sense that staff were either more cautious than usual or perhaps a little more overworked.
    My biggest disappointment I would have to say was the spa service. I had fully intended on taking advantage of a number of the services offered. But after my massage, for which I had paid for a full hour and received less than 45minutes. Which most of the time was spent by the spa worker telling me how dry and wrinkled I looked, and was sooooo slow putting massage oil on her hands that probably in reality I may have only received a half hour massage. And then was subjected to a 20 minute plus live infomercial about the overpriced products that "I must absolutely have, because the products Im using in Canada are making me look old.....and I have cellulite !!!!" REALLY? I just wanted a massage. So I would recommend bypassing this service, unless you wish to subject yourself to annoying sales pitch.
    Location is fabulous. The hotel offers a shuttle service, but would recommend pre booking if you need to attend important functions or airport. Morning walks along the promenade are wonderful and safe. Sunset drinks on the balcony are a must. However the locals also stop by for this as well so you will need to secure a seat outside early.
    Wifi is only free in the lobby and megabytes are available for purchase. Disappointing in this day and age as most rated hotels now include it in rates.
    Food menu could use a bit of a revamp, quality of the steak was less than last time, and pub menu could use a few more choices. In my opinion.
    Would still recommend this hotel for its quaintness, and location.

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Vaya2013
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

    Dear Vaya2013

    Please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding surrounding your arrival and departure dates. We are very pleased we were able to upgrade your room and remedy our blunder. We will take up your feedback directly with the owner of the Spa, who we are certain will convey your experience and the consequences of such aggressive upselling with the therapists of the spa. Thank you for your comments pertaining to our menu’s on offer, we hope you will be pleasantly surprised on your next visit as we are introducing refreshing new menus in the bar and the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 February 2014

    Perfect location, great landmark building, amazing courtyard - a great foundation for a top hotel. However, the management does not get it quite right. Understaffed and not very service-oriented reception staff, rather lazy service at breakfast ( how difficult can it be to serve coffee) and the constant hectic and chaos created by bus loads full of tourists and people visiting jazz lunches or company events made this hotel rather irritating for me as a hotel guest for 8 nights. Huge potential. Do something with it.

    Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    1  Thank LondonFoxhole
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

    Dear London Foxhole

    Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. Critique is not always easy to hear, but without our guests taking the time to let us know when something goes wrong, we cannot hope to maintain the high level of service we pride ourselves in delivering.

    We have introduced exciting initiatives which has energised our breakfast team, such that the coffee service is prompt and efficient.

    Our weekly Jazz Brunch on a Sunday is an incredibly popular and well supported event that has been running for the past 17 years. It is one of the reasons our guests return year after year.

    We realise that unfortunately, we cannot go back and change your experience, but we can guarantee that we take time and care to learn from our mistakes and improve wherever we can.
    Thank you once more for giving us the opportunity to do so.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 February 2014

    How the staff at Winchester Mansions manage to maintain the level of quality & professionalism week after week for the Sunday Jazz Brunch amazes me. We have never had a bad experience there & cannot praise it enough.

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jill S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 February 2014

    Spent three nights here as part of a Saga Tours holiday to S.A. The hotel was further from the V & A waterfront than l would have liked but was clean and tidy with the usual facilities - pool,spa etc.
    Where it falls down disastrously is in it's restaurant service.We were totally ignored for long periods and when finally managing to order a bottle of wine it turned up during the main course or later (without an ice bucket). The manager claimed they were under-staffed but surely it is his job to make sure that staffing is adequate. He ignored our complaints, giving us 'lip service' and disappeared from the scene..It was the same on all three nights. Tour groups would do well to drop this hotel from their itinery.
    The food was mediocre, very often cold and over-cooked, with an over emphasis on a buffet service.It was also the only hotel of the six we stayed in to charge for WiFi.
    I will not return and would also recommend other potential guests to think again.

    Room Tip: Try another hotel
    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Fred A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

    Hello Fred

    Thank you very much for your feedback. Our GM has addressed the shortfalls you have highlighted with the food and beverage team. We realise that unfortunately, we cannot go back and change your experience, but we can assure you, we the take time and care to learn from your criticism and improve wherever we can.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews