We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location in Cape Town”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful tour of South Africa finishing in Cape Town where we spent 5 nights at the Winchester Mansion hotel.
The hotel is about 5Km from the popular waterfront area and directly on the coastal road, front view of the sea and rear view of Table mountain.
Everything about the hotel was excellent and location was a pleasant walk (really flat) or the Red and Blue route city bus stop is immediately outside the hotel, if preferred.
Quality and choice of food was good with a wide selection on offer for breakfast.
If you wish to participate in a bit of exercise then join the hundreds of runners each morning and evening on the wide boulevard which follows the coastal route or use one of the 4 outdoor pools located 2mins walk from the hotel.
For a more relaxed session, head down to the waterfront for shopping and more shopping !!
A great place to spend a few days and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Tom N,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We look forward to your next visit to Cape Town and Winchester Mansions.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    299
    76
    34
    21
See reviews for
186
526
64
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Winchester Mansions is a hotel set apart from the rest of the options in Cape Town. It is a hotel with character and has its own personality exemplified in the central courtyard where we were able to have breakfast with the early sun creating a shaft of light down one side of the white-painted walk-ways which give access to the bedrooms on each of the four floors. The buffet breakfast was good and unlike many hotels, the coffee tasted like real filtered coffee!

The hotel is set in an excellent position within Sea Point fronting onto a wide grassed area which adjoins the promenade and the Atlantic. The promenade was busy at the time of our stay with strollers, runners and cyclists all taking advantage of the Atlantic breeze and clear sunshine. It took us just over the hour to walk along the prom to the Victoria and Albert Dock complex or a matter of minutes in the small new, clean municipal buses which have been introduced recently - you can buy a pass for these at the Information Office at the V&A.

We found that the quality offerings on the dinner menu were better than several of the surrounding restaurants and no more expensive. The staff throughout the hotel were professional but particularly those on the front desk.

The only downside for us was the smell from the kelp on the shore line (we think) which at first we thought was burning rubber; it came and went. The other small shortcoming was in our en suite bathroom where a drains smell occurred from time to time. This appeared to come from a drain set in the floor. But for us these did not detract from a great week in the hotel and Cape Town.

Room Tip: Arcadia rooms are quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Not only is the location scenic but on a good day you have the tandem paragliders landing on the grass outside the hotel, so free entertainment too! We arrived early having left a cruise and had emailed ahead to see if we could have an early check in but this wasn't possible so we stored our bags and took the free shuttle down to the V&A waterfront. On our return we were soon checked in and taken to our sea view suite which was very spacious, it had a second bedroom and there was a welcome bottle of complementary red wine and some nibbles. As we had been out all day we decided to eat at the hotel, our server Pepsi was very pleasant, although the service was a bit slow (not her fault.) The menu was quite extensive and the food well presented. The air conditioning in the room was excellent - best we had on our travels this time.Breakfast was OK but the service very poor, we were left sitting with no information about what the arrangements were for serving breakfast, there was a cold buffet and hot cooked to order. In general we found the staff quite helpful and friendly just feel that the service in the restaurant could be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

On arrival at the hotel we were advised that we had no reservation even though we had booked two Junior suites 12 months before the time previously and paid deposits, As we were staying in Ronderbosch for a week, we went along to the winchester and paid the bill upfront 2 weeks prior to booking in. It was a shock, after making a fuss theatening and about 1 hour, we were eventually given luxuary rooms.(which were really nice with a sea view). Location is excellent and enjoyed the morning walks along the sea front. Restaurant was OK, but the service from the staff in restaurant and courtyard breakfast left lots to be desired. The pub was very excellent.
Don't think I will go again.

Room Tip: Wouldn't let me see the rooms I'd booked so I cannot comment, they gave us the family room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Good day,

We greatly appreciate each guest’s feedback. In this instance, we must regrettably dispute some of the information in this post.

We always endeavour to make each guest’s stay with us as enjoyable as possible. As such, even though the booking for two junior suites did in fact reflect on our system, the manager on duty noticed that we could provide a greater level of comfort for your group of five people and thus we offered an upgrade to our family and presidential suites. Because you arrived prior to check-in time, we further assisted you by offering a tour of these suites. Following this we proceeded to prepare these rooms for you to be officially booked in on time, a process which ran smoothly that afternoon. We trust that you enjoyed your stay with us nonetheless and enjoyed the extravagance of our most expensive suite.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Location is ideal for the city hop on hop off bus. Not close to sandy beaches that you can swim in (Atlantic Ocean) but walks along the prom are very pleasant.
The hotel provides shuttle service to the V & A waterfront and the drivers are extremely accommodating and friendly.
Restaurant ok but there are better places to eat in V & A where service and food is better and prices are cheaper.
Bar terrace is excellent and frequented by many locals, which tells you something.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 323HELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesarea, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

My husband stayed here while on location shooting. I met up with him after 5 days to discover he had been given a terrible room that he could nit even stand up straight in. I asked day after day to be moved inly when I stated to the duty manager that we would not use the hotel
Again for productions , we were moved to a seaviewvtwo bedroomed suite.
The ambience , jazz on Sundays is great plus the smell of kelp radiating from the ocean .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanSverdlov2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Firstly, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed our Sunday Jazz Brunch and the hotel’s ambiance – we take great pride in our famous jazz brunches as well as ensuring that an atmosphere that is sophisticated but welcoming is maintained. It is regrettable that the booking for the loft-style room that your husband was initially booked into was handled by the productions company and as such that you were not able to select the room yourself. Nonetheless, our modern classic rooms offer guests ample space for a comfortable stay. We are pleased however that we could accommodate you in a bedroom suite and we trust that the rest of your visit was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We went to the Winchester Mansions for a production business wise, as our favorite hotel was booked out. In the beginning I was really a little frustrated about my room Could hardly move around my suitcase when unpacking as the rooms are not really spacious, neither I had a view. Only a small window which didn´t have any great view - only a look on an other building. When looking at the website I had the feeling that we might see some part of the ocean but you can only have that when getting on the other side of the hotel. I am sure they have ocean view rooms, but mine didn´t. On the 2nd view though I appreciated the quite spacious bathroom, the comfortable bed, my working station on the desk, a wonderful breakfast on a nice patio in the morning (hell yes - if you are on a diet and only go for the fruits you will find happiness here! Yummy, exotic, fresh, tasty, exquisite with some Joghurt on top and a cappucino - loved it....but you could have so many more choices that you wouldn´t need anything else for the whole day. The maids are wonderful, the staff at the reception very helpful and super friendly. Most of the time we had to work outside of the hotel, but the time being at the hotel I can only connect with positive feelings. Maybe not love on first sight, but definitely on 2nd sight!

Room Tip: Please pick Ocean view to not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Energyseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We love hearing positive feedback from our guests – thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts and that overall your experience was a good one. It is a great pity that your initial response wasn’t as positive as we would have liked but we trust that you enjoyed the proximity of the sea nonetheless, as well as the lovely views from the restaurant. We hope that on your next visit to our hotel that you will have the pleasure of staying in a room with an excellent view.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
505 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Cascades on the Promenade
#44 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing