We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winchester Mansions - Sunday "Jazz" Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winchester Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Winchester Mansions - Sunday "Jazz" Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

An experience to remember. We share our guest's remarks - "One of the nicest Sundays we have enjoyed in years!"
The reception, the food, the service and the Jazz band - all out of the top drawer,
The courtyard venue is so special too.
Thank you to the management and friendly staff at the Winchester for this special time and memories
Regards
Bruce Pollock

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you Mr Pollock for your enthusiastic feedback about our Jazz Brunch. We are more than happy that even after 18 years our weekly event is still a hit and so well received by our guests. We hope you can make it back for another one soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    274
    71
    31
    21
See reviews for
167
494
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good day Murray

I would like to compliment you and your team on a successful and well enjoyed evening on the 16 April at Winchester Mansions.

Rabia for wonderful organization of the event.
JP, Ludwig and Jonathan were always attentive and dealt with all our guests in a very professional and welcoming manner. Well done team!

I would definitely recommend your venue to anyone in the future.

Thank you again to all concerned


Garth and Ilse Du Preez

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you Garth and Ilse Du Preez for your very positive feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your evening and felt well looked after. We have forwarded your thanks to the team and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I recently stayed here with some work colleagues. Very nice hotel rooms. I had a suite with great sea views. I can recommend for anyone lucky enough to be visiting Cape Town and the surrounding areas. The staff are very accomodating. Breakfast choice is good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Nick,

thank you for your kind words. We hope you will be back soon!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our first hotel of a two week trip from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth, and we could not have had a better welcome to kick-start our holiday. Lovely sea views from the bar. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesCarter1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Good evening and thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad we were able to help you to have a great start to your holiday and hope that the remaining time will be equally as amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Service is excellent, bar food is very good and it has a nice pool which doesn't get too busy. Lovely breakfast as well. They also offer a shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront which is an invaluable service. Will definitely try and stay here again if we come to Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylanejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Good evening and thank you for your positive feedback. We would love to have you back and hope you will be able to visit Cape Town again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is perfectly located on the Cape Town beachfront. Beautiful courtyard where you eat breakfast and food really good. This hotel completely lets itself down with service though. I would give them another chance but not in a hurry. I hope in time the hotel recognises that their service is currently their greatest downfall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laraspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Good day,

We would like to sincerely apologise that the service which you experienced did not meet our usual standard of excellence. Thank you for discussing your experience with us telephonically. Our service is as important to us as it is to you. We trust that when you take us up on our offer to remedy our shortfalls, you and your group of friends will be delighted by all aspects of the hotel, especially the service.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Visiting South Africa has long been at the top of our " must do " list & we finally arrived, early morning on 9th March after a long, but comfortable, flight with British Airways, from London Heathrow, World Traveller Plus class. The extra leg room was a bonus well worth the cost, (although we do prefer Virgin)
Table Mountain is the first thing you see when coming in to land - spectacular!
We pre booked our taxi transfer to Winchester Mansions, normally about 20mins, however the Cape Argus cycle race was in full flow, passing directly in front of the hotel ( almost 37,000 participants) which caused a problem for our driver dropping us off. At 8am, & the hotel being full the previous night, naturally our room was not to be ready until 2pm. We sat on the terrace with complimentary coffees etc, watching the riders until we were able to grab a couple of hours much needed sleep.
We had booked a standard room, not intending to spend much time in it. No view but surprisingly spacious, if a little strange, in shape, being at the corner of the 3rd floor, sloping ceilings etc. spotlessly clean & a huge separate bathroom with walk in shower & bath. Bathrobes & toiletries provided, hair dryer, soft towels but no magnifying makeup mirror.
Tea & coffee making facilities with a jug of iced water plus lime juice & biscuits, replenished daily. The cleaning & turn down service was efficient, plenty of hot water although the unusual taps on the vanity unit took a little time to work out.
Our 6 night stay included breakfast, which can be taken outdoors in the courtyard (a little chilly) or in Harvey's. An excellent choice of hot & cold food plus egg/omelette station. Despite the cooked food being kept in Le Creuset type containers on halogen hobs, it was invariably cold? We did not complain at the time as there were plenty of options.
We had planned 2 full day trips for our first week, booked via Online Ticket Store, first on the Cape Peninsular Tour & 2nd to the Winelands, which I intend to review separately. The tour operator was Springbok Atlas - extremely efficient, new comfortable transport, knowledgeable & friendly guides. Both trips cost a total of £286, booked in the UK & worth every penny.
The hotel provides a sometimes free shuttle service ( booked in advance) to several destinations (airport, V & A waterfront etc) & across the road you can catch the open top city sightseeing bus, which operates a hop on /hop off circular route through either the city or a mini Cape Peninsula tour.
There is also the regular & frequent bus service passing the hotel, however you have to purchase tickets at the waterfront ( next to the Aquarium)
On the alternate days between trips we walked along the promenade to the V&A, about 5km, took about 1hr 20mins just strolling & enjoying the fantastic view out to sea etc. In the opposite direction, you can walk along the promenade towards Bantry Bay, with Robben Island, Table Mountain, 12 Apostles & Lions Head always in sight
After busy days we wanted nothing more than to relax with drinks on the hotel terrace watching the many activities on the green by the seafront. School children playing, dog walking, joggers, paragliders landing etc.
We did not eat in Harvey's in the evening, choosing instead from a wide (& delicious ) variety of bar snacks, having already eaten during the day.
Before travelling, & looking at the photos on TA, I was curious as to the surrounding area of the hotel, well it's either apartment blocks or other hotels, no real alternative if you wish to drink/ eat elsewhere. About 3 blocks to the right of the WM is a cafe/ bistro type bar La Vie serving all types of food, with indoor or outside tables. Very good and, like everywhere, very friendly.
On the day of departure to our next place of stay, Camps Bay, we booked the hotel shuttle for transfer - obviously longer trips incur a charge. The driver was delayed at the airport so the Manager kindly took us there himself, helping with our luggage & seeing us safely installed. That is service!!
Weather & safety: It was the end of summer & although hot & sunny, there is a constant breeze which can change from light to gale force in minutes, so strappy tops yes but you definitely need something warm occasionally.
We had concerns re safety but never felt threatened in any way, security is much in evidence at the waterfront but WM, at Sea Point is an upmarket area so no problems. We didn't actually go out at night but like anywhere, it's a matter of common sense.

Apologies for the length of this review, written mainly to help other Brits who like to travel the world & many thanks to the friendly helpful staff at WM who's efforts made it a memorable stay.
Pt 2 of our holiday will be reviewed shortly at The Bloomberg, Camps Bay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank WalesHolscrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Good day,

thank you very much for your kind and detailed review. Please be assured that we have spoken to our breakfast team to ensure that the hot breakfast buffet is checked on a more regular basis to acertain that all items remain adequately warm and are replaced regularly if they are not.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing