We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winchester Mansions - golden old Cape seafront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Winchester Mansions - golden old Cape seafront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

its a wonderfully historic venue, with charm and grace and a wonderful inner courtyard where I and friends and colleagues have enjoyed many a meal. The talll lush garden with bouganvillias and palm trees plus fens make the courtyard a special sanctuary.

Staff are good ... we have had lunches and teas, and drinks in the evening overlooking the lawns towards the Atlantic Ocean and next stop Argentina. The informality is also forms part of the charm and the view is unsurpassed with ships, yachts and cats sailing by, also the occasional school of dolphins and whales breaching in the spring.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views, top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your rating and feedback. We hope to have you back for many more lunches and teas in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    284
    74
    33
    21
See reviews for
172
505
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was a quick one day trip to Cape Town for a half day conference at the hotel.
Customers really liked the venue and conferencing was different to your usual conference rooms as the Constance room had doors leading out on to the pool deck area.
Rabia dealt with my booking efficiently and Lennox was always around to assist.
From the front desk managers, to the porters and bar bar staff haven't been to a hotel with consistently great service like this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and rating. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to Rabia and Lennox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

hotel had been remodled a few years back but still needs work. Great location across from ocean with great breaking waves and walking track. Hotel has good shuttle service to airport and V&A Warf. Hotel neat and clean with good dining and bar for beverage and snacks. I would recommend you bring ladies curling iron adjustable 110/220 as well as reductions for US plug in's. Tips ok in USD $1.00 = 10.00 Rand + $5.00 = 50.00 Rand (close). Check with desk and request water view - tips don't hurt.

Room Tip: Hop-on-off across street. Hylton Ross had good tours of 1. Cape Point Tours (penguins, seal island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind rating and review! We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I were fortunate enough to to spend a weekend at Winchester Mansions from the 30th of May to the 2nd of June... our stay was so good we extended for another night.
A huge well done to Murray and his team, warm and friendly staff.. going out of their way to just make our stay that much more special... Cape Town winter was true to form, cold and rainy but Winchester was the warmest place to be ... breakfast superb, the bar area well serviced.. barmen even remembered our drinks from the night before.. nice touch. Rooms superb and the whole feel ... lovely old world charm... thanks again to the entire team.. stunning !

Room Tip: Sea facing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pucky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for your great review and kind words. We will be sure to tell our staff that you enjoyed their service and friendliness. We look forward to having you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

On this trip to Africa I enjoyed my second and third stays at Winchester Mansions.
It will always have a special place in my heart -as a child we lived in Norfolk House right next door -so in many ways it is a homecoming for me.
The rooms are lovely and (bliss) they have a bath not just a shower!
They always put a jug of fresh drinking water in the room and a little flask of lime juice cordial-a nice touch.
This time (twice) as a returning guest they also provided a lovely bottle of good quality South African red and some tasty nibbles as a welcome back gift.
The staff are lovely helpful and caring-the food especially the fulsome breakfasts (you really don't need lunch after them!) and the particulalry special Jazz Sunday Brunches are a fantastic way to while away a few lazy hours surrounded by the families of the "Rainbow Nation"

To cap it all on the four nights of third stay I was upgraded to a mini-suite right on the upper corner abbutting Norfolk House with a fabulous sea view-again as a complimentary favour....
What more could one possibly ask or even hope for?
Whenevr I am lucky enough to stay in Cape Town again -I most certainly will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can do get a room that overlooks the sea if at all possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We look forward to many more happy returns! Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Winchester Mansions was one of the best hotels we ever stayed in! We had a bit of an emergency and the hotel took care of absolutely everything. They extended our stay without any issues, provided all transportations, made all arrangements with our tour and insurance company and had management check in on us on a daily basis. I was absolutely wowed by the people working at the hotel. They were incredibly sweet, friendly and caring. The hotels rooms were also extremely clean. The next time I go to Cape Town, I will for sure be staying at Winchester Mansions!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnbrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We can't wait to have you back and hope your next trip to South Africa and Cape Town will not be overshadowed by any emergencies whatsoever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

A very well run & immaculate Hotel housed in what appears to be an old Victorian Apartment block. Complimentary Breakfast is served at the beautiful Harveys Fine Dining restaurant downstairs. (Not cheap by SA standards.) The bar opposite the Restaurant is stunning with a wonderful ambience, as is the Hotel entrance & the public toilets. Sadly the Decorator who decorated the massive apartments (they are not rooms, but huge apartments, no kitchen) appears not to have been the same decorator. The furniture is of a good quality and thankfully the bathrooms are huge and nice, but the bedroom (huge) & lounge feels dark and depressing instead of Upmarket Authentic Victorian or Historical as they seem to try to be. Very sad since if they got the same décor as the rest of the hotel this could be a very special place to stay instead of the usual modern hotel. The owners need to go back to the drawing board & get the "light & warmth" ambience quality right in the rooms for this hotel be the star it should be.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear subs2014,

thank you very much for your positive rating, kind words and valuable feedback. We are sorry that you felt the bedroom and lounge were dark and depressing. We will definitely take your feedback into consideration when we next upgrade our rooms.

We hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing