We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charm and modern luxury gem on the seafront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #21 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I cannot say enough about this gorgeous hotel. Beautiful old style charm with all the luxuries any modern business or holiday traveler could ever need. Dining facilities ooze opulence whilst being comfortable and inviting. Harvey's caters for luxury dining by night, is a trendy and stylish bistro by day, and also has a separate cocktail bar and casual lounge open til late. The outdoor courtyard situated in the heart of the hotel (also part of Harvey's) is a sanctuary - the water fountain, the palm trees, ferns and the birds make this area magical - a beautiful place to eat and drink. The food is impeccable, and the service is exceptional. The Sunday Jazz Brunch is a must. The atmosphere is festive and fun, and the food buffet is to die for. Make sure you book a table well in advance, because it is a super popular event.

Rooms are pristine - clean and comfortable. Decor is modern and classic (depending on the room) and the flat screen TV's are definitely a plus! I cannot forget to mention the drool-worthy sea views. Oh-so-beautiful! Wifi is also widely available.

The hotel is situated close to restaurants, main shopping districts and all main tourist attractions are well within reach. If you are a bit of a thrill seeker, the para-gliders land on the lawns right in front of the hotel. However, the most important element is the shuttle service which provides quick and safe travel to and from the airport as well as to all nearby tourism meccas, shopping districts, attractions and restaurants. The hotel is so willing to accommodate requests, all you have to do is ask. If you have a rental car, the hotel offers secure parking.

It is the small touches that make this hotel perfect. Whether it is the chocolates on your pillow from the turn-down service, the fruit and water by the pool or the attention to detail with dining requirements. The hotel is spot on. Never have I been so impressed. I had a wonderful stay and would definitely go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you very much for writing such a lovely and long review. We hope that your travels will bring you back to Cape Town and Winchester Mansions again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

its a wonderfully historic venue, with charm and grace and a wonderful inner courtyard where I and friends and colleagues have enjoyed many a meal. The talll lush garden with bouganvillias and palm trees plus fens make the courtyard a special sanctuary.

Staff are good ... we have had lunches and teas, and drinks in the evening overlooking the lawns towards the Atlantic Ocean and next stop Argentina. The informality is also forms part of the charm and the view is unsurpassed with ships, yachts and cats sailing by, also the occasional school of dolphins and whales breaching in the spring.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views, top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your rating and feedback. We hope to have you back for many more lunches and teas in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was a quick one day trip to Cape Town for a half day conference at the hotel.
Customers really liked the venue and conferencing was different to your usual conference rooms as the Constance room had doors leading out on to the pool deck area.
Rabia dealt with my booking efficiently and Lennox was always around to assist.
From the front desk managers, to the porters and bar bar staff haven't been to a hotel with consistently great service like this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teri2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words and rating. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to Rabia and Lennox.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

hotel had been remodled a few years back but still needs work. Great location across from ocean with great breaking waves and walking track. Hotel has good shuttle service to airport and V&A Warf. Hotel neat and clean with good dining and bar for beverage and snacks. I would recommend you bring ladies curling iron adjustable 110/220 as well as reductions for US plug in's. Tips ok in USD $1.00 = 10.00 Rand + $5.00 = 50.00 Rand (close). Check with desk and request water view - tips don't hurt.

Room Tip: Hop-on-off across street. Hylton Ross had good tours of 1. Cape Point Tours (penguins, seal island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andymarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your kind rating and review! We hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I were fortunate enough to to spend a weekend at Winchester Mansions from the 30th of May to the 2nd of June... our stay was so good we extended for another night.
A huge well done to Murray and his team, warm and friendly staff.. going out of their way to just make our stay that much more special... Cape Town winter was true to form, cold and rainy but Winchester was the warmest place to be ... breakfast superb, the bar area well serviced.. barmen even remembered our drinks from the night before.. nice touch. Rooms superb and the whole feel ... lovely old world charm... thanks again to the entire team.. stunning !

Room Tip: Sea facing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pucky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for your great review and kind words. We will be sure to tell our staff that you enjoyed their service and friendliness. We look forward to having you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

On this trip to Africa I enjoyed my second and third stays at Winchester Mansions.
It will always have a special place in my heart -as a child we lived in Norfolk House right next door -so in many ways it is a homecoming for me.
The rooms are lovely and (bliss) they have a bath not just a shower!
They always put a jug of fresh drinking water in the room and a little flask of lime juice cordial-a nice touch.
This time (twice) as a returning guest they also provided a lovely bottle of good quality South African red and some tasty nibbles as a welcome back gift.
The staff are lovely helpful and caring-the food especially the fulsome breakfasts (you really don't need lunch after them!) and the particulalry special Jazz Sunday Brunches are a fantastic way to while away a few lazy hours surrounded by the families of the "Rainbow Nation"

To cap it all on the four nights of third stay I was upgraded to a mini-suite right on the upper corner abbutting Norfolk House with a fabulous sea view-again as a complimentary favour....
What more could one possibly ask or even hope for?
Whenevr I am lucky enough to stay in Cape Town again -I most certainly will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can do get a room that overlooks the sea if at all possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We look forward to many more happy returns! Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Winchester Mansions was one of the best hotels we ever stayed in! We had a bit of an emergency and the hotel took care of absolutely everything. They extended our stay without any issues, provided all transportations, made all arrangements with our tour and insurance company and had management check in on us on a daily basis. I was absolutely wowed by the people working at the hotel. They were incredibly sweet, friendly and caring. The hotels rooms were also extremely clean. The next time I go to Cape Town, I will for sure be staying at Winchester Mansions!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lnbrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We can't wait to have you back and hope your next trip to South Africa and Cape Town will not be overshadowed by any emergencies whatsoever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,805 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
570 reviews
1.9 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
496 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £117 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing