We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful colonial style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winchester Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful colonial style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

Beautiful colonial style hotel with plenty of character - the central courtyard is adorned with Bouganvilla and other ornate plants around a central fountain. The food was very good - although one person did complain to us about an evening meal - it must have been a one off. The rooms are very well maintained and plenty of staff to help and assist. They have a pool area and the walk along the front promenade is beautiful - they have a courtesy car to take and pick up from the waterfront which is very useful as some of the general taxis look like they are held together with "sticky backed plastic" The Winchesters car is a well cared for new MPV with leather seats etc. Would certainly recomment this hotel

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    273
    69
    31
    19
See reviews for
164
482
59
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

We stayed at Winchester Mansions for a couple of nights in late January.
We decided to arrange for the hotel to pick us up from the airport at a cost 290 rand which worked out fantastic as this was the same price as a normal cab but obviously you have the peace of mind of it being pre booked.
The same car also offers a free shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront, which is a 30 min walk from the hotel, which was a nice added extra.
The hotel was lovely, great location with fab breakfasts and friendly, helpful staff - we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Cool bar attached to the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

After a truly wonderful honeymoon travelling through the Cape Winelands, Garden Route and game reserve this was our final night in S Africa before leaving for home.
Our travel operator had managed to book us in for December 2009! After an epic journey driving for 8 hours I was contemplating where to find alternative accommodation on a Sat night, when the Deputy Duty Manager, Heinrich stepped in and saved the day. He quickly calmed our concerns and found us a wonderful room for the price we had paid through the operator, but with a sea view. His patience and attention to the needs of the guests turned the stay into a memorable one. It was clear that the culture and attitude of all the staff was just as professional and I could thoroughly recommend a stay.
The middle of the hotel holds the beautiful courtyard and restaurant which provided quite good food and excellent service.

  • Liked — View and the large dimensions of the room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blairbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

The staff make this hotel, they are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well appointed and suited us as a family (2 bed colonial suite). The food is good both at dinner and breakfast. The pool is quite small but the kids loved it. The hotel is on a main road but we weren't bothered by traffic noise at all.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank saldav9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deezdee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

We stayed in the Winchester Mansions for four nights and I have to say from the moment we arrived and through out our stay the service we received was top class. They have a beautiful colonial courtyard where breakfast and lunch are served. A perfect spot to chill out with a coffee or a glass of wine and a good book and enjoy the afternoon sunshine. A second highlight is their Grapes & Gourmet evening, held monthly. A local vineyard showcases some of their wines while the chef prepares a menu to compliment the wines...this is a definite for food lovers.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would hope to return someday!!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Deezdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

My wife and I stayed with our children, aged 12 and 14, in a huge, beautiful, 2-bedroom family suite. Service was friendly, and we'd happily recommend to others. I've rated 4 stars rather than 5 because the pool was a bit small and parking was both tight and limited. As others have indicated, this would be a great hotel for World Cup 2010 games at Green Point.

  • Liked — The elegance of the building set the tone for a delightful stay.
  • Disliked — I'd have liked to be closer to more shops and restaurants.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantem2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan girl in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

We booked the Mansions as a special treat at the end of our frantic trip back to South Africa. We emigrated to the UK a year ago and this has been our first visit back, and as you can imagine it was go-go-go with all the friends and family to see! So three nights at the Winchester was JUST what the doctor ordered.
To start with, we checked in on the most perfect day imaginable... anyone who says that Cape Town winters are rubbish is misguided, the sun was shining like a hot English summer! The front desk staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, and ten minutes after arriving we were in our room unpacking.
HOT TIP - if you're travelling on a bit of a budget and can't afford a suite, ask for room 306. It's one of their refurbished "Modern Classic" rooms on the top floor but is situated at the side of the hotel - which gives you a double-volume ceiling, twin windows (most rooms have only one) and incredible views of Table Mountain and the ocean! We even saw a whale from our room... magical...
Our entire stay was sublime - from the smoked-salmon and dill omelettes the chef specially prepared for us, eaten in bed with a glass of local bubbly; to the Ginko spa's signature Elixir massage that left me with jelly-legs for hours. The attention to detail is fantastic, the staff are wonderful and we had an excellent stay.
One small niggle was that the hotel parking lot is not very big - so when we came back from dinner the one night we had to double-park behind someone and move our car in the morning - but it was such a small inconvenience compared to our total experience that it's almost not worth mentioning!
All in all, a brilliant stay and would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — The views from our room... sun, sea, whales and Table Mountain!
  • Disliked — the parking at the hotel is insufficient when there is a conference on
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divercat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing