We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We staid 3 nights in this hotel on a roundtrip in SA and it made for a wonderful first impression of the country. We were upgraded (always nice) to the Robben Island suite meaning we had a wonderful view out to the sea and two bathrooms, a large bedroom and a lounge. Everything was perfectly clean, all was in good order, amaneties were plenty, the room it self was quite and the interior well designed. Water and some fruits were complimentary and the minibar had low prices.
The hotel features a large patio with a fountain in which you can have breakfast with a good view of table mountain. The location is very good to have a stroll along the sea but not that perfect to see the Waterfront or the city itself since it is a bit to the south (5-10 minutes driving).
The breakfast is just amazing a lot of hot and cold stuff as well as fruit juices, and bubbly (beware of the sparrows that fly in from the patio from time to time) and was always kept in good order and refilled. We once ate at the restaurant and they also had pretty decent food (which means a lot in SA where good and cheap food is not hard to find).
The staff was just superb, always friendly and smiling and genuine helpful and interested in you. We did receive a lot of good help and tips for our stay in that area.
We did not use the pool even though it looked very promising but only due to a lack of time.
All in all a very nice place to stay in Capetown.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2009

We stayed in a suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a lounge- it was lovely. The staff were always helpful and would advise us on directions. We used the shuttle car to the Vand A, it was nice not to always drive. The breakfast was plentiful and we also ate in the restaurant twice, the food was delicious. It is placed on a main road but that does not seem to spoil it as you look out on to the sea crashing and the South Africans taking their daily stroll. They do make delicious cocktails ( sun downers) which were lovely to sip while the sun was setting.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreborLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We have just spent a week here and from a nervous booking on the internet not knowing the hotel we really did find a gem. Our suite was with 2 bedrooms a lounge and big bathroom. this was ample for the 3 of of us bed one had a huge queen bed. Breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from and we did eat in the restaurant once a little pricey not over the top but food very nice. Staff extremely helpful and attentive and the whole hotel was spotless. Its not up there with the big boy hotels but its lovely and homely. Free water and cordial is offered by the pool daily along with a nice tray of cut fruit which was a nice touch, towels also supplied, If I have to gripe the pool was a little cold not sure if on this day the heater was not on and the hotel can be a little noisy in the mornings when you are on the first floor. I would definitely come back on my next visit to SA as they have alot of nice little touches which bigger hotels don't capture.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flin246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

This is an excellent privately-run hotel with great architecture and historic atmosphere, almost-without-exception truly friendly, caring and helpful staff, lovely rooms in a great location and excellent amenities. The terrace bar's staff are happy to make up a cocktail to your recipe and find a light for your cigar; the small swimming pool is heated; the cooking is under the supervision of a French chef and very high quality (book one of their monthly wine-and-food dinners if you are there at the time); the suites overlooking the sea very well appointed (two bedrooms, sitting-room, hall and large bath); the front desk has some extremely helpful people who will do all they can for you...in short, this is a fine hotel where you feel personally cared for in a well-managed establishment. Would book again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Just returned from a week staying at the Mansions in CT. This was our second visit (having stayed for a few nights back in 2005) and the hotel was just as good as I remember. We stayed in a Winchester Suite and although very large and clean, if you want something more trendy I would recommend going for one of the newer rooms on the top floor. Service is very good and thought the meals in the resturant (we ate their twice) were top quality. Getting the 'Shuttle' was a bit hit and miss but taxis were easy to get hold of (even though there was a strike on). We also had our own car and I think this is a must in SA in general.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Beautiful colonial style hotel with plenty of character - the central courtyard is adorned with Bouganvilla and other ornate plants around a central fountain. The food was very good - although one person did complain to us about an evening meal - it must have been a one off. The rooms are very well maintained and plenty of staff to help and assist. They have a pool area and the walk along the front promenade is beautiful - they have a courtesy car to take and pick up from the waterfront which is very useful as some of the general taxis look like they are held together with "sticky backed plastic" The Winchesters car is a well cared for new MPV with leather seats etc. Would certainly recomment this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We stayed at Winchester Mansions for a couple of nights in late January.
We decided to arrange for the hotel to pick us up from the airport at a cost 290 rand which worked out fantastic as this was the same price as a normal cab but obviously you have the peace of mind of it being pre booked.
The same car also offers a free shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront, which is a 30 min walk from the hotel, which was a nice added extra.
The hotel was lovely, great location with fab breakfasts and friendly, helpful staff - we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,757 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £110 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing