We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Cup 2010”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Düsseldorf
1 review
“World Cup 2010”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

very nice hotel with very friendly personel. Restaurant and Bar well equipped, Bar closes at 12 but without problems to order the last round(s) :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ounal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    295
    76
    34
    21
See reviews for
182
519
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deep South
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. The Hotel is well situated on Sea Point promonade near Signal Hill. The room was clean and spacious enough for two, bathroom was also clean with a bath and a separate shower. Everyday a jug of chilled water and lime cordial was left in the room. The staff were courteous and helpful and the breakfasts were excellent. We'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel was such a lovely suprise. The rooms were very stylish with a nice front room to sit after your day of touring. The staff were excellent and friendly, and the restaurant, Harvey's was wonderful. We had nice beach views and felt very safe. We all truly enjoyed our 2 night stay here and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigadskihoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

This was our last stop on a wonderful visit to South Africa. Our 13 year old son shared our spacious room which was comfortable and we were very well looked after. After hectic days out (for example climbing Table Mountain!!) we relaxed in Harvey's Restaurant. The food was excellent and were happy to serve variations on the menu(for my sometimes fussy son!).

If you want more restaurants/nightlife then I would recommend closer to the V&A, but to relax after a hard day sightseeing Winchester Mansions fitted the bill.

Unfortunately, we were there just before the World Cup and preparations were clearly ongoing in that the bar was closed, this was unfortunate as we were looking forward to "sundowners" watching the sunset across the bay. Breakfast was served in the courtyard and had a varied buffet.

The hotel is a good location to tour the surrounding area - you can walk to the V&A easily but would not suggest walking at night. A car is strongly recommended as its an easy drive to Cape Point, the winelands and obviously to Cape Town.

Would recommend going to Blues Restaurant in Camps Bay - get a taxi as the cocktails are good and the food wonderful, especially for fish & seafood lovers, but the sunset beats it all!!

In summary, an excellent hotel to base yourself if you want a quiet relaxing time after a days sightseeing. Food good and staff very helpful.

Just to note the hotel does have its own car park but you do have to pay to use it - only a minimal charge though.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I discovered the Winchester Mansions whilst on business travel in 2005 and keep coming back. I will never again stay inthe city center or near the Waterfront. The hotel is ideally located across the boardwalk on Sea Point. It is not in the city center, but this is what makes it so great. Security is not an issue here, you are able to enjoy the boardwalk and the surroundings from sun up to sun down. There is nothing better than waking up and looking out the window to see palm trees and the ocean:-)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Room had a good sea view. The weather was very mixed but didn't let that spoil things. Recommend excursions to Winelands and Cape Peninsula. Harveys Restaurant in the hotel was good but sometimes staff hovered and asked too often if everything was all right. Menu high quality but limited to eat in every night. Free shuttle to V & A Waterfront if driver available was an added bonus - also given free tickets for City Sightseeing bus.
Thought the wi-fi access charges were expensive so did not use. However, overall this is a very good hotel with a lovely atmosphere - colonial style but with all mod cons.
We spent 5 nights in Cape Town which we thought was just about right to do the main tourist attractions. Somewhere you must visit at least once - but be on your guard in the city centre - we were hassled quite frequently by beggars and unemployed youngsters.
But that should not put you off - Cape Town is unique in many respects and has to be on the list for one of the world's great destinations.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRW333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Subject: Winchester Mansions
Location: Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa, Africa
Title: Great location, lovely hotel
ID#: 62319589

Winchester mansions takes you back to the 1920`s with elegance and class. Our room was spacious with a view of the ocean and pool. Lovely touch is the courtyard with fountain and putting greens in the corridors complete with putters and balls.
Good breakfast with excellent porridge (when served) and fruit. Restaurant is a little pricey by South African standards but we got a discount voucher and a 1 day free red bus pass, nice touches.

The sea front is busy in the day but felt a little unsettling after dark with no guests out for a stroll once the sun had set.

Great for the perfect sundowner as it faces due west and you can see Robin Island from the hotel verand

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
494 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing