We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous family option” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winchester Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous family option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

The Winchester Mansions is one of the best family friendly option in Cape Town, thier Colonial Suites are ideal for families with kids of any age. Two bedrooms at fantastic value! Breakfast really is a feast.... Great location within in easy access of the Waterfront, City Center and Camps bay. Friendly and helpful staff always at the ready to assist. We had a wonderful and much needed break, thanks to the wonderful folk at the Winchester Mansions.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamonaGo2Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    274
    71
    31
    21
See reviews for
167
494
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

I spent 4 nights from October 29 to November 2010 together with a friend at this charming hotel. I can highly recommend this hotel because of its service, friendly staff and foremost for the perfect site. The ocean across the street. Close to the Water Front with free shutle service and the spectacular Table Mountain.
When you have rented a car - as I did - it's easy to find your way to Cape Point - a must - and the airport
Thomas Matz, DK-2000 Copenhagen

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas189541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

This hotel is just great - very personal service, the staff is well trained and always smiling. Rooms are a bit old fashioned but clean and spacious. The best: the pretty green inner court where you can sit in a relaxed and private atmosphere. The bar is a meeting place for the locals in the evening and you can sit there, overlooking the seafront.
What we think was the best: they treat kids with just that little bit more of attention than others. Small Bathrobes, welcome gift for kids wiht their name on it and an evening treat (milk an cookies) which was that little extra that really made us feel very welcome. Small gesture with biiiig impact. Much better for a Capetown stay than in the usual intl. chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

The Winchester Mansions in Cape Town is a gem. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff friendly & helpfull & it is well situated.
I also have to compliment them on the overall service the hotel offers - excellent!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

I stayed at the Winchester Mansions as part of a business trip with 15 colleagues. The hotel was well established, with friendly, helpful staff. The location, close to the V&A waterfront but far enough away that you weren't stuck with hundreds of other tourists. Rooms were clean and room service second to none. We dined in the hotel restaurant a number of times throughout our stay, the food was beautiful and the staff friendly and efficient. I would definitely stay here again and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tagh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

We booked this hotel on the internet, so were unsure as to what it would be like - but what a result! The rooms were great, with modern bathrooms and comfy beds. The restaurant and bar did great food and the hotel staff couldn't have done more for us. My only critisism is that the pool was a little on the chilly side - not that it stopped me from using it. Al in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodallFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We had four nights in Winchester Mansions and had as fabulous time. The staff could not do enough for us. During our stay we had our 25th wedding anniversary, which one of the breakfast waitresses heard about. The hotel had booked our evening meal at the Gold restaurant - recommended by the hotel courtesy bus driver the night before. During our meal at Gold I was picked out to dance during the entertainment and we both had to get up and have a drink and dance to celebrate our anniversary. Not only that, but when we got back to our room at the hotel, there were petals and tea light candles everywhere and a bottle of sparkly together with fruit and chocolates. None of this special treatment was asked for, but it made our 25th very special.

A massive THANK YOU to all at Winchester Mansions !!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing