We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Tulbagh Hotel
Ranked #100 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Yes the price is cheap for Cape Town, and the room was comfortable enough. Not impressed by breakfast however, most of the cooked food was only lukewarm. The area is dark and not inviting to be out in at night, but it is the centre of the city. Staff were generally helpful, and the wifi was free.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hi,

Glad you had an good stay with us, we are in the very near future upgrading our Dinning room.

Kind Regards,

Ewald Fendler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Definitely value for money especially in Cape Town. For the price we paid, they over exeed all our expectations. Reception (Kevin) very friendly, profesional, assisted us with everything. Kevin phoned to find out if everyhing is working in the room and if we need any assitance. Breakfast fabulous. Will definitely stay their again. Rooms large, comforatable and clean. Welcome drink was a nice gesture. Thumbs up for this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElsaJohannesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Good day,

Thank you very much, Kevin always do his best. He is so very proud about you comment. Thank you.

Ewald Fendler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The rooms were large and comfortable and the bathroom clean and very big - plenty of towels, comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and efficient and the cost included breakfast which was an added bonus. The location is great and even though the lift is fairly small, it worked well. Will definitely use the hotel again as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneMoore765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Good day,

Thank you for your kind comment, Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Ewald Fendler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The facility has a good comparative advantage. Well located, especially near the CTICC which I believe has a lot of activity through out the year. Rooms comfortable though it would add value to improve on the size of TV, availability of Wifi, place small but things that matter such as the toilet brush. The lift needs a bit of a revamp. It's a bit scary. Otherwise breakfast is tops! However you need to work on the Hollow on the Square block. It is not pleasant to enter and realize street kids and. Adults actually are all over. And scaring enough, the reception is far away and no security. All the time I went in and out no one ever paid attention. The would has changed guys you can't just take security for granted.
Otherwise thank you for offering a roof over my head. I believe next time I come I will get what I read on the website.

Room Tip: Well know only one room with window facing the front precinct but was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Good day Eunice,

Thank you for responding, just to let you know that we have changed over to FREE internet as we speak.
Tv's also being upgraded to larger. We do have armed response and CCTV cameras and also security in the square. I think reception might have been not active enough, thank for this and we will look into this.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ewald Fendler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Location is good. The bathrooms and the lifts need a revamp. Otherwise comfortable. The hotel has no parking facility so you have to pay for parking. There is no free wi-fi in the rooms but the hotel allows you to use the business centre at no charge

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Good day Rabia,

We are so sorry about the problem we had with the internet in the rooms, Just to let you know that the problem has been resolved and internet within the rooms has been restored and working well.

Ewald Fendler
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Hotels is in a convenient location within city. Parking is paid (not managed by hotel). Breakfast was ok. Service was not too great.

Room was decent. No real issues but nothing special to speak about either.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrakashKadirvelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Good day and thank you very much for you feed back. Hope we see you shortly.

Kind Regards

Ewald Fendler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

No preparation with staff to ensure rooms ready on time. it took 3 hours to get our room. Were told family room, but just 2 extra beds in a standard room. Guess travel agent made their New Year's eve quite profitable. Family of four but got No extra linens. Not even hand towels. Had to literally beg for it every morning. Breakfast buffet was half empty without any replinshments. Non-smoking rooms literally felt as smoking rooms. Becoz as admitted by staff... the exhaust fans are put off during the evening until sunrise. Every night we had to open up all windows and door to ventilate and spray room freshners (Thankfully available). TV was not operational. Stayed 4 nights; but no one turned up for repairs... why we stayed for 4 nights yet, it was new years' eve and prices were all thru the roof... here too paid plenty; got nothing!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prince71272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#106 of 110 in Cape Town Central
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#79 of 110 in Cape Town Central
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#88 of 110 in Cape Town Central
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence Cape Town
0.4 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#89 of 110 in Cape Town Central
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Tulbagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Tulbagh Hotel

Address: 9 Ryk Tulbagh Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £53 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Tulbagh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Cape Town, The New Tulbagh Hotel is within walking distance from the famous V&A Waterfront, City Centre and Cape Town International Convention Centre. The New Tulbagh Hotel offers stylish and modern accommodation; the finest amenities will ensure a comfortable stay. Free wireless connectivity throughout the hotel enables you to chat to loved ones via the internet. The New Tulbagh Hotel Restaurant offers fine dining with street cafe flair, as well as in-house dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The New Tulbagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Tulbagh Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing