We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Tulbagh Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$352
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$882
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
49
73
67
41
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
73
67
41
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily holidayhotel is centrally locatedthe general managerlong streetstar hotelbreakfast was excellenttable mountaingriffithwaterfrontcbdrand
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Good Price but a Little noisy. I usually use this hotel during the year but the last night was not so good and also the internet connection was not so good . I think that in the rooms in the top level (4th) the coverage of the WIFI is not so good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DANIEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi,

Thank you for comment, meaningful criticism is always well appreciated. Just to inform you that we have the WiFi problem resolved as you notified us. Thank you so much. I am using the same system you used in all mu offices and it works great.

You need to see the new rooms and 32 " TV sets.

Noise is also gone now, come over and test, contact me directly.

Ewald Fendler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The New Tulbagh is down near the conference centre, but is within a 10 - 15 minute walk of Company Gardens, Waterfront, and Long Street. As the hotel is in the business district the area looks a bit deserted, but perfectly safe, and easy to get to anywhere in Cape Town. The rooms seem a little tired but they have everything you need, but this is made up for by very helpful staff and an excellent breakfast.
So if you need a no frills hotel, in the centre of town, this is a good bet

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi,

All I can say is thank you. We are renovating all rooms and you need to come and see. Please contact me directly.

Ewald Fendler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a week at this hotel for our family Xmas holiday. We booked 3 bedrooms in advance and we requested 2 cots and a supplementary bed for 2 of the bedroom we booked given that we had kids with us. We recived a confirmation email but once we got there we didn't have what we requested. Not a problem because as soon as we asked if we could get the beds the staff was ready to help us. When my sister went to their bedroom they could see their matress wasn't comfortable so we politely asked to change it. They told us that was high season and they were out of matresses. Fine. After 4 days though a spring came out from the matress so we demand a new one because you couldn't really sleep on that... After 5 minutes they had a new one (weren't they out of matresses when we asked for a new one for 4 days?)
That was just the start of a number of problems we had that week.
Room service "forgot" almost every day to give us clean towels even though we put them on the floor to be changed. They just picked them up and never put new ones. In my in-laws' room they actually picked up the dirty towels on the floor and just put them back on the tray! Our shower wasn't good at all as it could take you half an hour to wash your body given the small amount of water coming out.
For 2 days in a row our room key didn't work and we had to go downstairs to ask the staff to let us in and they took their time to do that not realizing that we were outside our bedroom waiting to go in!
The hotel was very noisy and the noise you could hear from our bedroom was annoying. We heard the next bedroom's bathroom everytime they used it and as we were close to the lift you could hear non-stopping noises coming from the elevator's movements.
The worse thing that happened that week was in my sister's bedroom. We all went downstairs for breakfast and when we went back upstairs they found two opened condoms on their floor... Where the kids were playing. We told the manager about that and the best thing they could do was just go to the bedroom and pick them up from the bin. Is it normal that something like that happen in a hotel??
I must say the staff was very very friendly and always available. The continental breakfast was amazing and the hotel was clean. It could have a lot of potential but we couldn't enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel new tulbagh cape town

No value for money, very expensive for not have everything and it was too diffucult to found it. The room was spacious but very simple and not very clean, the bathroom was provided without nothing, only 2 product for the shower. This hotel would have been nice for 70 or 90 eur but we spent much more per night and I didn't like anything, including the breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank JuZ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Very short beds, if you are above 185cm prepare to sleep with your legs in the air. Our A/C did not work for three days and was not fixed and no other room was offered instead. Our room was not cleaned on one of the days. Beside that the location is very good and safe and overall the room is clean and quiet.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank orenindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews