We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, MS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

AHHHHH!!!! This place is just incredible. We stayed for the first 4 nights of our two weeks in Africa. What a way to start. The staff take care of you like family--they are so kind and gracious. Upon arrival at around 10pm, we were greeted with two glasses of pinotage, light dinner, and a roaring fireplace. They were happy to let us relax by the fire until a little after midnight-even though we were the last ones to our rooms-they just waited patiently and had the porter go ahead and take down all of our bags and prepare our room. The rooms were perfect, large, private. Everyone else is commenting on the details-they do such a great job with the details! Molten Brown in the bathrooms, two types of bath salts, candles lit for your bath every night when you come home from dinner (which was booked at the best place in town by Sasha).

I was so jet lagged, I was up almost all night the second night we stayed...and drank too much wine at dinner! I called reception at 4am for tea and toast thinking that maybe...just maybe...and low and behold they deliver a full tray of goodies--coffee, tea, toast, cookies, amazing.

And yes, Sasha makes your dinner reservations. She secured tables that we tried 2mo out to book and couldn't. Breakfast is perfect-you know how so many places say they are offering breakfast, but nothing is hot-no eggs, etc? Well Kensington gives you a cold and hot course--with the most amazing omelet with avocado.

Guys, you seriously have to stay here! I was tempted by all of the PR from the One and Only...only to go to their bar for an afternoon drink and find it is very impersonal and not nearly to the standards of the other One and Only's. Maybe it was because it was winter? I don't know, but I couldn't get back to Kensington fast enough.

Ya'll did excellent! Thanks!

Room Tip: LOVED our room out by the pool--super secluded...and I love pools so it was nice to be so close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
229
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Left this hotel just this morning after 3 nights. The service was so excellent it felt like we were the only guests. The design of the hotel is simply wonderful and those tiny little extra details they have..... I just wish every hotel in the world had this level of care and attention. Please trust their restaurant choices as they are truly delightful! Oh and their breakfast is just Wow!

Room Tip: No onsight gym but the Virgin Fitness centre they give you access to is the best gym I have ever bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Kensington Place is an amazing place to stay. A small, boutique hotel where there service is so amazing and relaxed, it is like staying in someone's home. Sasha and the entire staff were so helpful and accommodating and the facilities and meals were great.

When we arrived and were told the hotel had made dinner reservations for us for every night of our stay, we were thrilled. This hotel is all about the little touches and and the staff treat you like one of the family - thank you, we'll definitely come back one day!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatSydney52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at Kensington for five nights during our 10 year anniversary Africa trip. Loved this place! We had a great room with awesome views! Loved the boutique hotel feel where you get extra attention. They gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary. Staff (Michael and Mark) were great and so helpful! We met Chris, the proprietor who gave us fantastic restaurant/winery recommendations. Overall, a marvelous stop while in Cape Town. We'll certainly go back to Kensington!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJBleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,667 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 676 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at Kensington. It was one of our best stays ever.

The property is set in a quiet residential neighborhood but within walking distance of most of the city. Amazing views of Table Mountain and Lions Head. Reserve room #1 for two patios with excellent views and a nice fireplace.

The entire place is very modern, super clean, and very welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing, and the staff are among the best in the business.

We hated to leave. Don't bother staying anywhere else. This is the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kensington plave, hotel, Cape Town, it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kensington Place soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at Kensington Place as part of our Honeymoon back in 2009 and it remains, to this day, the measuring rod by which all other hotels should be measured.

Indeed, it hasn't yet been bettered. The rooms, public spaces, staff, food, location etc etc were sheer perfection- we can't speak highly enough of this place- and no amount of superlatives can do it justice.

It was also a lovely treat, and pleasant surprise on check-in, to have been pre-booked into all the best Cape Town restaurants (FYI: the food in Cape Town is astonishingly good).

I'm presuming Kensington Place is still as good as it was back in 2009- if it is, you really must do yourself a favour and stay here immediately!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicken_Dinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over Europe
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Simply a superb place to stay! Fashionable and clean/unuttered decor, a pool and lounge chairs, all set in a green garden nestled under table mountain. Breakfasts are generous and Blessings is a lovely hostess who will even offer up the recipe to the home-made muesli! Michael is another warm and friendly host who arranges anything and everything you need. The pre-booked reservations for the top restaurants in town for each night of our stay was also appreciated. All in all, you can't ask for more!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripTestDummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing