We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Kensington Place was a beautiful and gorgeous little gem located at the foot of Table Mountain. We really enjoyed our stay there, as the rooms were large and comfortable, and the service was quite exceptional. When you are there, do not miss their breakfasts as they are absolutely amazing (oh I do miss the homemade granola!).

I have to add that their service was exceptional, as the staff always catered to whatever requests we had. For example, they helped us book our shark cage diving tour and it was a fantastic experience as everything was handled really well (transport to and fro Simon's Town, late breakfast in the room upon return etc).

We have to say that Kensington Place is definitely an excellent hotel to stay if you are vacationing in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iamcapetonian, Duty Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Poksy,

Thank you so much for your review - We really do appreciate the great compliments and your awesome review of Kensington Place. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Shark Cage Diving Experience, it's definitely one of those must-do activities when visiting Cape Town.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Cape Town & Kensington Place in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Cobus & The Kensington Place Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our first stop on our SA vacation and we were so pleasantly surprised. Small and quaint. You get to know all the employees who are so sweet and helpful. We stayed four nights here and was centrally located to all the things we had planned to do and see in Cape Town. Close to the Water Front, to Camps Bay and to Table Mountain. They were also very helpful in arranging our transportation. Prior to arriving the manager made reservations to some of their favorite restaurants as a possible suggestion. This was so helpful after traveling for over 30 hours. They turned out to be wonderful suggestions. Breakfasts were wonderful and we especially loved the large bowls of fresh fruit. The view of Table Mountain from our room was wonderful. Definitely recommend this relaxing and stylish hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iamcapetonian, Duty Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Cindy B,

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kensington Place. We aim to offer each and every one of our guests a tailor-made Cape Town experience, thus ensuring that you feel right at home.

We look forward to having you return to Cape Town and Kensington Place.

Sincerely,
Cobus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our final stop off for four nights at the end of our wedding and honeymoon tour in SA. We chose this gorgeous boutique hotel as we had been before in 2010 and fell in love with it. It was so nice to see some of the the same welcoming faces still working here. Michael and Blessings especially.
We adored the breakfasts here last time and were hoping they were the same, thankfully they were. Amazing. In such a perfect setting too.
The room we had this time was even nicer than the last one (if that can be possible) we had an amazing view of Table mountain from one balcony and Lions Head from the other.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and will most certainly be returning.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine there is a 'bad' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iamcapetonian, Duty Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Vanessa C,

Thank you very much for your positive review of Kensington Place. We were absolutely delighted to have you return to Kensington Place and I'm so glad to hear that we were able to host you during your honeymoon in Cape Town and South Africa.

We definitely look forward to having you return to Cape Town and Kensington Place in the not-too-distant future.

Sincerely,
Cobus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Beautifully decorated, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, superb breakfast, great location - so overall a pretty perfect stay! We loved the stylish reception and breakfast area, and my usually difficult to please husband was effusively complimentary about his choice from the excellent range of breakfast options.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi Susan S

Very happy you enjoyed your stay - and of course the breakfast! Personally, I have to make a concerted effort not to overindulge on Lisa's homemade granola!

Thank you for taking the time to review Kensington Place!

Best wishes from Cape Town
Austen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, and all of them have been very nice.
The hotel is gorgeous, the staff very nice as everywhere in South Africa.
The breakfast is excellent!
Located just 10 minutes from the water front area, is a perfect point to start discovering Cape Town.
The hotel manager has always helped us in making reservation in very good restaurant for the evening.
We really had a plesant stay.
Plus it's a small B&B and so it's very quiet...perfect for honeymoon and relaxing

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Salve edwells!

Thank you for reviewing Kensington Place. I am so happy that you had a wonderful time in South Africa - please come and visit us again for your anniversary!

Sincerely
Austen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We arrived a day late and very early in the morning, but our room was ready. Everyone at KP is so nice and helpful. The had pre-booked different restaurants for our dinner but we were exhausted, jet-lagged, had our days and nights mixed up, etc. so we did not leave the hotel. One of the managers, Michael, had the kitchen put together something for us so we didn't starve. That was above the call-of-duty and so very appreciated. The only meal they provide is breakfast, which was very good but the service was not good on the one morning we ate there. Our server was a young girl who I think was still asleep. I ordered an egg with the yolk cooked hard. My "sandwich" came with a runny egg so I pulled it off the sandwich and ate everything else. We didn't have time to have it re-made as our tour was leaving shortly. Nevertheless she didn't even ask me about it, never refilled our coffee, my hubby's toast arrived after he had finished the rest of his breakfast. Other than that our stay was lovely. Nice comfortable rooms, good shower, comfy bed, very quiet. The only reason we probably would not stay at KP again is the lack of on-site dinner. And that certainly is a personal preference. I cannot fault the hotel at all.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms and I'm sure they're all great... ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoeycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Zoeycat

Thank you for the positive review! I've investigated the incident at breakfast - I believe Precious served you. At the time she had recently joined Kensington Place and still learning the ropes. Since then she has become an invaluable member of the team and guests have been delighted by her.

My biggest concern is the fact that it wasn't clearly communicated to you that we provide breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. I find this immensely frustrating considering the amount of time and effort we invest in providing this service. I have addressed this with my management team.

I hope that I can welcome you back to Cape Town and Kensington Place in the not-too-distant future.

Best wishes
Austen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Unfortunately we were only here for I night but will be back. It's a cool place to stay, well chosen contemporary art, stylish furniture and a pleasant and comfortable place to relax. And possibly the best hotel breakfast we've had, no low fat yoghurt here thank goodness. Our room was very comfortable, great view and the bed was excellent. The staff were helpful and charming and the recommended local restaurants were very good. Wish there were more hotels like this.

Room Tip: We had the view over CT which was super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Richard A

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you had a such a lovely (albeit short!) stay with us. Please come and visit us again!

With kind regards

Austen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £166 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing