We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a way to start our 3 week adventure in Africa! Kensington was part of a package put together for us by Ultimate Africa Safaris and it was over the top. Right at the foot of Table Mountain and within easy walking distance of great restaurants on Kloof St. and Long St. Breakfast is included and was excellent. Try the eggs benedict with smoked salmon. Yum. The staff is very efficient, personable, and helpful. The main room has a huge wood burning fireplace where we visited with other guests in the evening over wine and snacks. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbernCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
229
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

In a nice residential area, almost walking distance to the tram station and definitely walking distance to nearby restaurants, plus downtown. Elegant small hotel. Impeccable service. Quite high end!
We spent 5 nights. They had made dinner reservations in advance which were just the type of places we'd choose, quite impressive. A couple of nights we'd had long days, so had simple dinners there at the hotel which was perfect. Great hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Great botique hotel, unique styling and a little bit of luxury.

Our room had a sunken bath looking out to a pond, which was cool. Liked the underfloor heating and the relaxing feel of the room. The veranda with patio chairs was nice too, although we didnt use it.

Breakfast were fabulous, loved the granola!!

Jo Malone in the reception washroom, very disappointed that these weren't in the rooms.

Great stay and highly recommended.

The only criticism would be the door of the room was repeatedly left wide open after being serviced. So we would return to the room and see the door open to the pool area. Whilst the building was secure and had a guard, I'd much rather return to a locked door. This was the same for our friends who had the room above, their balcony doors were open when they returned.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowrover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This boutique hotel is out of this world. Beautiful views. Large rooms. Wonderful and very helpful staff. Good restaurant suggestions/reservations. The hotel is located at the base of Table Mountain, in the Gardens area. It's about a 10 min cab ride to the V&A waterfront ($6-$10 cab ride). Breakfast was included and was very very good - we had dinner at the hotel our first night and it was simple but very tasty (we were tired and didn't want to get out...just eat and go to bed). We were greated each evening and asked if we would like a glass of champagne or wine. We rented a car for 2 days and there was no charge for parking. The staff was really exceptional - Michael was amazing! I will be back to CT and will be staying here again! You'd be crazy to not book it...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iamcapetonian, Duty Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mindy,

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Kensington Place. It is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback and it's always such a pleasure for us to share your positive feedback with the entire team.

We cant wait for your return to Cape Town & Kensington Place!

Sincerely,
Cobus & The Kensington Place Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Kensington Place was a beautiful and gorgeous little gem located at the foot of Table Mountain. We really enjoyed our stay there, as the rooms were large and comfortable, and the service was quite exceptional. When you are there, do not miss their breakfasts as they are absolutely amazing (oh I do miss the homemade granola!).

I have to add that their service was exceptional, as the staff always catered to whatever requests we had. For example, they helped us book our shark cage diving tour and it was a fantastic experience as everything was handled really well (transport to and fro Simon's Town, late breakfast in the room upon return etc).

We have to say that Kensington Place is definitely an excellent hotel to stay if you are vacationing in Cape Town!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iamcapetonian, Duty Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Poksy,

Thank you so much for your review - We really do appreciate the great compliments and your awesome review of Kensington Place. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Shark Cage Diving Experience, it's definitely one of those must-do activities when visiting Cape Town.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Cape Town & Kensington Place in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Cobus & The Kensington Place Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our first stop on our SA vacation and we were so pleasantly surprised. Small and quaint. You get to know all the employees who are so sweet and helpful. We stayed four nights here and was centrally located to all the things we had planned to do and see in Cape Town. Close to the Water Front, to Camps Bay and to Table Mountain. They were also very helpful in arranging our transportation. Prior to arriving the manager made reservations to some of their favorite restaurants as a possible suggestion. This was so helpful after traveling for over 30 hours. They turned out to be wonderful suggestions. Breakfasts were wonderful and we especially loved the large bowls of fresh fruit. The view of Table Mountain from our room was wonderful. Definitely recommend this relaxing and stylish hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iamcapetonian, Duty Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Cindy B,

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kensington Place. We aim to offer each and every one of our guests a tailor-made Cape Town experience, thus ensuring that you feel right at home.

We look forward to having you return to Cape Town and Kensington Place.

Sincerely,
Cobus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our final stop off for four nights at the end of our wedding and honeymoon tour in SA. We chose this gorgeous boutique hotel as we had been before in 2010 and fell in love with it. It was so nice to see some of the the same welcoming faces still working here. Michael and Blessings especially.
We adored the breakfasts here last time and were hoping they were the same, thankfully they were. Amazing. In such a perfect setting too.
The room we had this time was even nicer than the last one (if that can be possible) we had an amazing view of Table mountain from one balcony and Lions Head from the other.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and will most certainly be returning.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine there is a 'bad' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iamcapetonian, Duty Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Vanessa C,

Thank you very much for your positive review of Kensington Place. We were absolutely delighted to have you return to Kensington Place and I'm so glad to hear that we were able to host you during your honeymoon in Cape Town and South Africa.

We definitely look forward to having you return to Cape Town and Kensington Place in the not-too-distant future.

Sincerely,
Cobus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing