We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic. Comfortable. Friendly.”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The feel of Kensington Place is as if you were right in your own home. Kensington Place welcomed us after a long journey and made us feel at ease. Upon arrival to our room, we immediately gravitated to our balcony overlooking Cape Town for a refreshing cocktail. The views overlook Table Bay and if you leave the doors and windows open you will hear birds chirping all day. The room itself was spotless and attractive without being over the top. Pillows were plump, sheets were crisp, and the feather duvet was a delight. We had plenty of space to unwind. The bathroom was spacious enough for two with a wonderful rain head shower that had good pressure and plenty of hot water. As if the room wasn't nice enough, it was the service that really made the difference. Staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive. They were able to get us into some 'impossible to get' places for dinner and saw to some special requests like a welcome gift for my partner. And finally, I really need to call out the breakfast on the veranda which was a wonderful way to start the day - the eggs Benedict rock! The only thing to note is that the residential location can be a bit tricky to find for some cab drivers - but maybe that's a good thing...

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms here are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I wish my house looked like Kensington Place! We stayed here for our honeymoon and was glad we booked KP. The hotel is small and you hardly run into any guests, which was perfect for us to relax in after sightseeing around Cape Town. The front desk helps you book and suggest restaurants to eat. KP is also located in an upscale area so we felt very safe. Breakfast is also very delicious and gourmet! Although do give yourself some time when ordering breakfast if you have a tour planned, since it is not a buffet it may take some time to have breakfast brought to your table, but highly worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travlr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It has been a really good start to our stay in South Africa. The location is perfect. The hotel is quiet and clean. The staff is exceptionally great and friendly. The hosts are willing to share informations, assist you on any point. Food and wine are amazing. It's easy to stay a complete week there and be relax afterward. A big massive thanks to them for making our stay as pleasant as it was.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nickqo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I would like to give this inn a 4.5 rating- I can't really justify a '5' compared to other places we stayed in South Africa, but I also can't give it a 4- too low. This is an absolutely lovely place and our room was incredible, with a large bed, tv, good size bathroom (with a heated floor!), sitting area with an electric(?) fireplace, very nice decor, and plenty of storage space. The lounge area of the hotel is also beautifully decorated, as is the small breakfast/bar area. Breakfasts were some of the best we had on our vacation- choices were incredible! Staff pleasant and helpful, just not as 'warm' as other places we'd stayed (then again, this was the 'big city'...). They did thoughtfully make reservations as two of the 'trendier' places for us. We decided to have them cancel the first night's reservation as we really wanted to wander around the waterfront and just pop into some place for dinner, but we took their recommendation for the second night- it was OK...Our only complaints would be: 1) how far away from the waterfront (and the V&A shopping center) the place was- quite a taxi ride to get there; and 2) we had issues with the tub draining, mentioned it twice, and it was never taken care of (this is where the 4.5 rating would come in). The big draw to the Kensington however (aside from the incredible rooms and quiet neighborhood) is the amazing view of Table Mountain. The only time we saw and got pictures of Table without clouds were from our room very early in the morning!

Room Tip: Don't know if all rooms have a view of Table Mountain- if not, you definitely need to ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank divetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a night in a pleasant standard room, we were upgraded to a superior room with a lovely view of Table Mountain - especially compelling just before dawn - for the remaining three nights. That room was good-sized, very well furnished and decorated, had an extremely comfortable queen bed with a pinpoint reading lamp, and was nicely stocked with complimentary wine.
Breakfast, included in the price, was exceptional in the variety of made-to-order dishes (which can make for a bit of a wait), the good coffee and the cordiality of staff.
Michael and Austin, who were manned the front desk, could not have been more pleasant and helpful in suggesting places to dine and shop and getting cabs to go there.
Very much looking forward to returning here one day.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on upper floor have gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This wasn't in fact our first choice when booking as the 2 places we tried to book first were closed. All I can say is thank goodness for that as this was as close to perfection in a small boutique hotel we have probably stayed in. I am led to believe these types of hotels are quite common in CapeTown but KP would be hard to beat.
We found the location to be perfect as we happily walked into town on the first day & there were plenty of great eating options within walking distance. We hired a car for a couple of days to explore the wineries, the cape etc as we prefer to be independent. If you are not great walkers like us, taxis into town are very cheap & easy.
The staff were without exception friendly & super helpful. Nothing was too much trouble & they pre booked dinner reservations which were all exactly the sort of place we liked to eat at.
The rooms were spacious, well appointed & with a balcony with city views. The public areas were beautifully appointed too & we enjoyed a drink by the fire before heading out for dinner. The pool area would be a very pleasant spot in the summer months & even in June we enjoyed a coffee on the outdoor deck one sunny morning.
The breakfasts were really excellent with pretty much everything you could want including good coffee.
All in all a perfect start to our first African experience & for us unbelievably good value for money. We would not contemplate staying anywhere else if we returned to CapeTown

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sydneygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Kensington Place was the first stop on our honeymoon, and we could not have kicked off our amazing trip at a more welcoming and friendly hotel. The level of service was outstanding! The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful, from arranging transportation for our excursions to suggesting modifications to our itinerary to maximize the pockets of nice weather at Table Mountain. We enjoyed great breakfasts each morning, a beautiful and spacious room with a private outdoor seating area, and even the friendliness of the other KP guests as we relaxed in the lobby or on the patio overlooking Table Mountain. The only knock was that some of the cab drivers are unfamiliar with KP's location in the beautiful but hard-to-navigate Higgovale neighborhood; so just make sure to use their recommended taxi service or confirm the location before starting the ride. There are many great places to stay in Cape Town, and this is right at the top of the list!

Room Tip: Room 7 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,918 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £183 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing