We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish Boutique Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stylish Boutique Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this lovely inn for 4 nights before going on safari. It was a pretty property in a great location. The room was charming, much bigger than we expected with a beautiful balcony. The staff is great and the food was delicious. The service is first rate, they make a genuine effort to see to your needs and desires. They kindly made dinner reservations at nearby restaurants for us each evening, without us ever having asked. Of course, there was no obligation to keep the reservation, but they had us covered. We actually took full advantage of this and enjoyed every single place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryC0bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
229
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at Kensington Place for four nights over our South African honeymoon. The beds were very comfy, and the staff was extremely accommodating. We loved the delicious breakfasts and the morning views of sunrises from our room. The only thing we wished was that there were coffee making machines in-room, rather than being charged for coffee delivery. The hotel is in a great location and is in walking distance to Kloof Street with tons of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fg1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The feel of Kensington Place is as if you were right in your own home. Kensington Place welcomed us after a long journey and made us feel at ease. Upon arrival to our room, we immediately gravitated to our balcony overlooking Cape Town for a refreshing cocktail. The views overlook Table Bay and if you leave the doors and windows open you will hear birds chirping all day. The room itself was spotless and attractive without being over the top. Pillows were plump, sheets were crisp, and the feather duvet was a delight. We had plenty of space to unwind. The bathroom was spacious enough for two with a wonderful rain head shower that had good pressure and plenty of hot water. As if the room wasn't nice enough, it was the service that really made the difference. Staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive. They were able to get us into some 'impossible to get' places for dinner and saw to some special requests like a welcome gift for my partner. And finally, I really need to call out the breakfast on the veranda which was a wonderful way to start the day - the eggs Benedict rock! The only thing to note is that the residential location can be a bit tricky to find for some cab drivers - but maybe that's a good thing...

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms here are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I wish my house looked like Kensington Place! We stayed here for our honeymoon and was glad we booked KP. The hotel is small and you hardly run into any guests, which was perfect for us to relax in after sightseeing around Cape Town. The front desk helps you book and suggest restaurants to eat. KP is also located in an upscale area so we felt very safe. Breakfast is also very delicious and gourmet! Although do give yourself some time when ordering breakfast if you have a tour planned, since it is not a buffet it may take some time to have breakfast brought to your table, but highly worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

It has been a really good start to our stay in South Africa. The location is perfect. The hotel is quiet and clean. The staff is exceptionally great and friendly. The hosts are willing to share informations, assist you on any point. Food and wine are amazing. It's easy to stay a complete week there and be relax afterward. A big massive thanks to them for making our stay as pleasant as it was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickqo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I would like to give this inn a 4.5 rating- I can't really justify a '5' compared to other places we stayed in South Africa, but I also can't give it a 4- too low. This is an absolutely lovely place and our room was incredible, with a large bed, tv, good size bathroom (with a heated floor!), sitting area with an electric(?) fireplace, very nice decor, and plenty of storage space. The lounge area of the hotel is also beautifully decorated, as is the small breakfast/bar area. Breakfasts were some of the best we had on our vacation- choices were incredible! Staff pleasant and helpful, just not as 'warm' as other places we'd stayed (then again, this was the 'big city'...). They did thoughtfully make reservations as two of the 'trendier' places for us. We decided to have them cancel the first night's reservation as we really wanted to wander around the waterfront and just pop into some place for dinner, but we took their recommendation for the second night- it was OK...Our only complaints would be: 1) how far away from the waterfront (and the V&A shopping center) the place was- quite a taxi ride to get there; and 2) we had issues with the tub draining, mentioned it twice, and it was never taken care of (this is where the 4.5 rating would come in). The big draw to the Kensington however (aside from the incredible rooms and quiet neighborhood) is the amazing view of Table Mountain. The only time we saw and got pictures of Table without clouds were from our room very early in the morning!

Room Tip: Don't know if all rooms have a view of Table Mountain- if not, you definitely need to ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a night in a pleasant standard room, we were upgraded to a superior room with a lovely view of Table Mountain - especially compelling just before dawn - for the remaining three nights. That room was good-sized, very well furnished and decorated, had an extremely comfortable queen bed with a pinpoint reading lamp, and was nicely stocked with complimentary wine.
Breakfast, included in the price, was exceptional in the variety of made-to-order dishes (which can make for a bit of a wait), the good coffee and the cordiality of staff.
Michael and Austin, who were manned the front desk, could not have been more pleasant and helpful in suggesting places to dine and shop and getting cabs to go there.
Very much looking forward to returning here one day.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on upper floor have gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing