We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic attention to detail”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Excellent customer service, attention to detail, location, decor. After a 12 day cycling trip around the cape this was the place to unwind for us.

Within walking distance to the cable car (20 to 30 mins if you like walking).

We were well looked after with an early check in and a late late checkout with no quibbles which we really appreciated as 'hanging around' waiting for a flight without the prospect of a shower is a drag.

Top marks to Kensington Place we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Munkeyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2008

What a fabulous gem - a real jewel in Cape Town's crown. We stayed here for 5 days at the start of our African adventure and were absolutely delighted with our entire experience. It's hard to express the Kensington Place 'factor' but upon arriving in the middle of the night due to a cancelled flight, frazzled, exhausted and disappointed at having missed the 1st day of our holiday walking into KP was like a little oasis of calm. We could feel the stress and strain melting away as we were met by Mark's smiling face and shown to our gorgeous room. It was only later that we discovered he had stayed long past the end of his shift to greet us personally. If you can, ask for room 1, it's fabulous with stunning views of Table Top mountain. The in-room amenities are great - molton brown toiletries, gorgeous bath salts, candles lit round the bath every evening, ipod docking station, TV and internet access (not that we bothered with the latter -we're on holiday!). Rooms are tastefully decorated in neutral colours and well furnished. If there was one thing that would improve them still further it would be in-room tea/coffee facilities. But the attention to detail is amazing. For example, the bed linen is ironed every single day so you slip into crisp white sheets each night. I defy anyone not to sleep well here! The staff are attentive without intruding; knowledgeable about Cape Town and genuinely take the time to get to know you however short your stay. Nothing is too much trouble whether lending us money to get the to the V&A waterfront when we had no currency; suggesting where to visit on a wet windy day,; making dinner reservations with taxi waiting; or arranging a wonderful complimentary massage. Then the icing on the cake, a floor covered in flower petals, a petal filled candle lit bath & complimentary champagne - sheer bliss! Breakfast is a treat - make sure you leave plenty of time to enjoy it to the full. Every member of staff was excellent - housekeepers, gardeners, security staff and front of house. For our stay special thanks go to Marlene, Mark , Michael, Sacha & Lisa. Many thanks for a fabulous stay. Will we be back - absolutely - KP is our new base in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BobMarleyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed at Kensington Place for the first two nights of our honeymoon. Stunning decor. Kensington Place has some really cosy hide-e-holes to relax and have a drink by the pool. Really tasty meals. Smoked Salmon and scrambled egg on your private terrace for breakfast is a must!
The staff were really helpful with pre-arranged table bookings, on the day that we arrived, at local restaurants so that we didn’t’ miss out.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleanorandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We started our honeymoon with a three-night stay at Kensington Place in September 2008 and if you read nothing else of this review, note this: This is the best hotel (together with one other, recommended by the same travel agent!) we have ever stayed in.

From start to finish, service could not be faulted. It is the small things that you don't expect that you remember. Bookings had been made on our behalf at three of the top Cape Town restaurants before we had even arrived - it is very difficult to secure bookings unless they are made well in advance, so this was very well received. (All bookings cancellable of course!) Champagne was waiting for us in our room, with a lovely little Congratulations card from the KP team. Rose petals were scattered around the bathroom one evening while we were out. A complementary champagne and oysters evening was laid on for the guests before supper one night. Hot water bottles are placed in (already cozy) beds before bedtime. The list goes on.

The location of the hotel is fabulous - views look over the city and we were lucky enough to get Room 1, with a dual aspect not only over the cityscape but also onto Table Mountain. It is a short (downhill) walk into town though if you are intending to see the wider sights, hiring a car is definitely advisable.

Our room was stunning - very contemporary, very roomy and extremely comfortable. Expensive room fragrances are placed all round the hotel and toiletries are Molton Brown.

Breakfasts deserve a special mention! All tastes catered for, and the quality of the food is outstanding. The hotel manageress (Sasha) also deserves a special mention - nothing at all was too much trouble, including making an impromptu doctor's appointment at very short notice for us.

We would recommend this hotel unreservedly and we would hope to return when we are next in SA.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We enjoyed 4 fantastic nights at Kensington Place in July. It really is the best kind of boutique hotel - this place makes you feel like you're the house guest of some close friends with the most amazing taste!

The architecture and decor is stunning. It's contemporary with quirky touches, and unlike many other trendy interiors, is really practical and relaxing to stay in. This was lucky for us, as the weather was terrible for a couple of days and we were happy to just hang around our room and the other gorgeous spaces in the hotel.

We were really delighted with the location - away from the touristy waterfront and scruffy backpacker streets, and easy walking distance to some smart interior stores (LIM is just down the road and well worth a browse) and great restaurants (Manna Epicure was especially good, with diet busting cakes and a really nice vibe).

My husband raved about the breakfast and declared their eggs Benedict the best ever: praise indeed! The muesli was excellent too and should fuel anybody up for climbing Table Mountain, which is very close.

Staff were knowledgeable and friendly. They had pre-booked some of the most popular Cape Town restaurants for us, which was really convenient (particularly as several of our own choices were closed for winter, and others filled up very fast) and they were happy to cancel or move reservations as we wanted. They also saved us a wasted journey to the Table Mountain cable car, which had closed suddenly due to high winds.

As you can probably tell, I loved the place. The only tiny downside was that it was a bit quiet in the evenings (being off season), and we'd have enjoyed seeing and meeting other people with a drink or two in the bar. I'd love to return in summer, to make full use of the lovely pool and outside areas.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank july_in_south_africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

Kensington Place lived up to every glowing review we read before we booked it as part of our honeymoon trip to Africa. After our adventures on the banks of the Zambezi we were looking for something cool, hip and chic in Cape Town and Kensington Place did not let us down.

The staff were discrete and professional, the hotel itself was beautiful with superb attention to detail. The champagne, treats and lovely card from the whole staff that was waiting for us in our room were also a really nice touch too.

Breakfast is served pretty much as and when you want it, as and where you want it, and was delicious. The kitchen were also accommodating with our every oddball breakfast request. We dined out every night, so cannot really comment on the dining room.

We loved the bathroom. Really well laid out, pristine and thoughtfully lit, so "wake up" and "wind down" worked equally well. We also loved the beach bag (complete with towels) in the wardrobe, and the yoga mat and keep fit accessories (even if we never used them!).

All in all, a very memorable stay at this gorgeous hideaway in a lovely location. It felt exclusive and intimate whilst whilst still being very warm and friendly.

Perhaps the only downside was that our room opened out onto the breakfast terrace so, because we had been sleeping with the french doors open, we got to share a particularly noisy couple's breakfast conversation one morning as we dozed off the excesses of Ginga/Shoga the night before. Still, it was quite juicy gossip as it happened so we can't really complain.

The other down side is that eventually you have to check out...

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TeamHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at the Kensington Place hotel in Cape Town. We arrived completely jet-lagged in the morning, and were greeted with friendly and helpful service, along with champagne. We were promptly taken to our room and had breakfast brought to us on our private terrace - the perfect way to start our trip in South Africa.

The hotel was extremely clean, and actually pretty quiet. Our room was off to one side of the hotel on the far end of the pool, and removed from the others. I highly recommend requesting this room if possible!

The location was fantastic, and gave us an experience for how trendy Cape Town natives live, instead of being in a tourist only area. We loved being able to walk to the restaurants and bars on Kloof Street that were quite the happening spots. And getting around to other parts of the city were easy with short and inexpensive cab rides.

I highly recommend this hotel, and hope to be a guest again when I am lucky enough to get back to Cape Town!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texicaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,096 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,659 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
459 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £160 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing