We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must - boutique at its best”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2009

An all round superb hotel. The friendliest and most personal service, fantastic food, great decor and relaxed atmosphere. We planned our trip at the last minute and could only get a room for 3 out of our 10 nights, which was so disappointing as we didn't want to leave the place.

If you're going to Cape Town, definitely put this at the top of your list of places to stay - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2009

We recently travelled to Cape Town and spent a month in the mother city. We were delighted to have the privilege to stay at Kensington Place. Despite the hotel offering slick modern design it is a warm experience. The stylish decor is complemented by amazing staff offering excellent service. All advice about the fabulous Cape Town offerings was on hand whenever we needed, the staff could not be more helpful. The rooms are spacious stylish and extremely comfortable, the attention to detail is amazing. everything has been thought about from laptops in the rooms, ipod docking stations, dvd players and LCD TV's, Molton Brown amenities and excellent linen. The all day breakfast is a first you do not feel you have to rush at all whilst staying at this hotel. The Kensington Place team listen to your needs. The parking is a bit tight and sometimes poses difficulty getting in and out of a parking bay.An urban oasis close to all the main attractions. I cant wait to go back to this calm oasis.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayabarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

I was there with my wife last month for our honeymoon and we had the best 5 nights we could ever dream of! Excellent service, excellent and helpful staff, great rooms! Highly recommended! We´ll certainly go back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrennoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Myself & husband recently returned from our 1st trip to S Africa. We started our holiday at Kensington Place, what a fantastic choice we made. Even though we arrived hours before check-in time we were greeted by Sasha and offered a glass of Champagne, what a perfect start to the holiday.

Our suite was Room 4 which was perfect in every way, from the Molton Brown toiletries to the fresh flowers, the chilled water, the fresh apples and the complimentary bottle of S African wine. The decor was beautiful, the suite spacious and we had our own wonderful private curtained terrace, complete with 3 potted grasses and splendid views. The attention to detail at this boutique hotel was second to none, the interior design is contemporary yet very comfortable, the public areas display the most beautiful orchids, artwork, lighting and most tasteful soft furnishings. There is even a Linari room fragrance diffuser in the cloakroom, fresh flowers and beautfiul tea lights.

Breakfast could be taken in your room, on your balcony or downstairs on the open terrace and the menu choice was the best, from fresh juice to smoothies, fresh fruit salads, fresh coffee, eggs cooked in every way, full cooked breakfast and delicious breads/croissants/muffins/toast.

Small touches can make all the difference, such as complimentary tea/coffee each morning before breakfast which was brought to our room upon request and presented in the most beautiful way, with a fresh rose or protea and a biscotti. Before going out for evening dinner Michael and Mark would welcome you in the bar with a delicious dish of Hors d'Oeuvres. At turndown a handmade chocolate or fudge greeted you on return from your evening out, along with an iced jug of water. One evening before going out to dinner we returned to a rose petal filled bath and when we came down to the bar to venture out for evening dinner the entrance hallway was also scattered with rose petals. All these small touches didn't go unnoticed by ourselves and really do set this hotel apart from the rest. Sasha runs a very tight ship with an excellent team of staff, the service is casual, friendly and efficient. Sasha is a mind of information, nothing is too much trouble for anyone at KP, from arranging taxis to recommending restaurants and making the best reservations in town and giving advice on the best shops!

We could go on and on extolling the virtues of this little gem, which is located at the top of Kloof Street in a quiet area and at the foot of 'Table Mtn' where you could even see each day whether the cable car was operating. It could be tempting to keep this fabulous hotel secret, however, we cannot recommend it highly enough and its only fair KP gets the recognition it so deserves.

We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BURTONWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Kensington Place feels like a calm oasis in the middle of the busy city of Cape Town. The decor is very modern and tasteful and there are lots of little private areas where you can hang out and relax at the end of the day.

Our room was large and really well equipped with a laptop, ipod docking station, 2 balconies and a huge bed!

Breakfast was legendary (best we found in SA!) and they pre booked us into restaurants to make sure we didn't miss out. Everything was an easy drive or cab ride away.

The only downside we felt was that the staff (although very efficient) weren't overly helpful unless asked - would have liked a bit more inside information about the city and what to do.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

Kensington Place is awesome, enough said. If you are someone looking for local feel, then Kensington Place will not disappoint. The staff is phenomenal - everyone from Sasha to Michael, to Crispin, and everyone else - definately separate this hotel from all the rest. If you're looking for the typical "hotel" then this boutique is certainly not for you; however if you want to "feel" Cape Town" then simply stay here and you will not be disappointed. Everything is within walking distance or a short, in-expensive cab ride away. I would never hesitate to recommend this place and will definately stay here upon returning! Job well done to Kensington Place!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EPScarlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Excellent customer service, attention to detail, location, decor. After a 12 day cycling trip around the cape this was the place to unwind for us.

Within walking distance to the cable car (20 to 30 mins if you like walking).

We were well looked after with an early check in and a late late checkout with no quibbles which we really appreciated as 'hanging around' waiting for a flight without the prospect of a shower is a drag.

Top marks to Kensington Place we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Munkeyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £166 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing