We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible boutique hotel with world class service and sensationally romantic ambiance!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible boutique hotel with world class service and sensationally romantic ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

You are making a huge mistake if you choose not to stay here! My wife and I briefly visited some of the other highly recomended hotels in Cape Town for a fun comparison and really, there is NO comparison to the elite Kensington Place. The service is truly sensational with an exceptionally friendly "service first" attitude while doing everything and anything possible to make their guest experience as enjoyable and special as possible. Their staff is extremely helpful in planning and reccomending daily activities and fine cuisine or popular night spots. On our first day, they graciously made reservations for us at popular restarants which are typically hard to get in last minute - and they did this for every night we were here. We cannot express enough about the ambiance and romantic setting created at Kensington. From the lush gardens to the perfectly decorated bar lounge to the intimate and cozy dining area. Each room is filled with flavor, character and style. The guest rooms have amazingly comfortable beds and all the luxury ammeneties one could ever need. At night, we loved sleeping with the large french doors open since each room enjoys a private balcony or patio. The views from each room are spectacular while overlooking the city landscape and stunning greenery alongside Table Mountain. We found the location very convenient and centrally located. Honestly, you cannot do any better than Kensington so don't waste your time trying!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
225
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

Kensington place is a gem in the foothills of Table mountain. The rooms were lovely and the service fantastic. Personal recommendations from staff of things to do were helpful, for example Sasha told us about the open air concerts at Kirstenbosch on a Sunday evening - we went along with a picnic and had a great evening out with the locals! Also really liked the fact that they took the trouble to pre book evening meals in the top Cape Town restaurants prior to our arrival- one less decision for us to make!! We would definitely go back to stay again and hope we get the chance.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-Scanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

Loved, loved, loved Kensington Place. Staff were warm and easy going. Room was very clean and generous in size. Breakfasts were wonderful; Lovely presentation, very generous amount. Lunch was simple, from a limited menu, but very well done.The hotel is set in a lovely quiet residential area of Cape Town, in Tamboerskloof, up against Table Mountain. Restaurants not too far away, but would be a long walk uphill to get back (didn't try it). They have an arrangement with a local gym that allows use of the facilities.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Kensington Place is located on the slopes of Table Mountain. Here you will uncover a truly masterful blend of sophistication and tranquillity. Set amidst fruit trees, a herb garden and intimate pool deck.

The interior throughout has an unmistakable contemporary feel with eclectic African touches throughout. Each of the 8 rooms is furnished individually with some beautiful artwork and magnificent touches, both of which makes Kensington Place the ideal place to stay if you want to spoil someone special. In the room everything is thought about, from a laptop, iPod docking station, DVD players and a LCD TV with DStv, and Molton Brown bath and body products.

The options for breakfast were outstanding. Before you get a chance to look at the menu, there is small matter of deciding if you would like breakfast served in your room, downstairs on the terrace, or on your private balcony at any time of the day. The breakfast menu offered something for everyone, a continental breakfast, fruit salad, a choice of 4 juices, full breakfast, and fresh coffee.

The staff are always on hand to ensure that your stay at Kensington Place is a memorable one, whether it is to offer advice in places to eat, or lending a hand to organise your itinerary. It is certainly the little things that go a long way to ensuring that Kensington Place sets itself apart from other boutique hotels. From complimentary tea or coffee, brought to your room or left on your balcony (your choice), is an incredible way to start the day, through to the petals that were scattered in the hallway between the bar and dining room.

For me it is it is the hotel's ability to maintain secluded privacy within such close proximity to Table Mountain and Cape Town, which makes this hotel a fantastic place for romance, rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

An all round superb hotel. The friendliest and most personal service, fantastic food, great decor and relaxed atmosphere. We planned our trip at the last minute and could only get a room for 3 out of our 10 nights, which was so disappointing as we didn't want to leave the place.

If you're going to Cape Town, definitely put this at the top of your list of places to stay - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

We recently travelled to Cape Town and spent a month in the mother city. We were delighted to have the privilege to stay at Kensington Place. Despite the hotel offering slick modern design it is a warm experience. The stylish decor is complemented by amazing staff offering excellent service. All advice about the fabulous Cape Town offerings was on hand whenever we needed, the staff could not be more helpful. The rooms are spacious stylish and extremely comfortable, the attention to detail is amazing. everything has been thought about from laptops in the rooms, ipod docking stations, dvd players and LCD TV's, Molton Brown amenities and excellent linen. The all day breakfast is a first you do not feel you have to rush at all whilst staying at this hotel. The Kensington Place team listen to your needs. The parking is a bit tight and sometimes poses difficulty getting in and out of a parking bay.An urban oasis close to all the main attractions. I cant wait to go back to this calm oasis.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayabarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

I was there with my wife last month for our honeymoon and we had the best 5 nights we could ever dream of! Excellent service, excellent and helpful staff, great rooms! Highly recommended! We´ll certainly go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrennoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing