We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Towns' gem”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We ended off our trip to South Africa with two nights in Kensington Place. Beautiful location at the foot of Table Mountain, very trendy, but at the same time very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

Was nervous about this place being a bit out of town but in hindsight I think it is better especially if you have a hire car - you can also easily and fairly cheaply get taxis in the evening as well. Hotel is small but beautifully decorated with all mod cons. The smell of orange blossom and jasmine hits you as soon as you walk through the gate. All day free breakfast (amazing omlettes - the best I've had!) and all services on request. We were pretty out of season so the hotel was quiet so if you want bustle and lots of people this is not the place. Great choice for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuzzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Kensington Place (KP) is a great place to stay when in Cape Town. It is not in the center of town (but not far) but that, to us, was a good thing. You can walk down the road to some stores and restaurants and you can take a taxi to the other parts of town. The hotel is situated right under the Table Mountains with a great view.

O on Kloof, another modern boutique hotel, is right down the street. We got the impression O on Kloof was a bit more trendy, modern and, for us, a bit over-the-top, so we opted for KP and we're glad we did.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a glass of nice chilled white wine, which definitely hit the spot in the heat as we arrived straight from the airport.

The staff were very helpful. We told them we were in to going to some good restaurants, and not only did they give us good recommendations, but they were able to make reservations for us on very short notice.

The breakfast every morning was really great; you can choose to take it in the lobby/restaurant area or in your room (or on the patio outside your room like we did). We understand that the hotel serves dinner on certain nights but we were not there for it.

The room was very nice- the bathroom is quite large with a wet room and a nice-sized bath. Free internet and laptop computers are available. The hotel is also very clean with modern decor.

Overall, we recommend this hote.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDWSPIKEDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

this is a tranquil oasis in Cape Town. views of table montain and the city, private balcolnies, attentive staff, wonderful breakfast. In Particular the general manager, Michael, was always willing to help. wouldnt hesitate to recomend.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

There isn't much I can say which hasn't already been said in reviews for Kensington Place - a truly exceptional hotel in spectacular surroundings.

The rooms were immaculately presented, with contemporary design and lots of nice additions, like a flat screen TV, iPod dock, laptop and free wireless in the room, etc.

Many small touches made the stay even more special - the laundry came back in a ribbon wrapped box, rose petals in the bath and reception, champagne and massage oils in the room on our arrival (we were on our honeymoon).

The staff couldn't have been more helpful - food and drink service was always courteous, top restaurants and taxis were booked for us, and helpful advice on what to see and how to get there was always forthcoming.

In short, an absolutely exceptional place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n-and-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

You are making a huge mistake if you choose not to stay here! My wife and I briefly visited some of the other highly recomended hotels in Cape Town for a fun comparison and really, there is NO comparison to the elite Kensington Place. The service is truly sensational with an exceptionally friendly "service first" attitude while doing everything and anything possible to make their guest experience as enjoyable and special as possible. Their staff is extremely helpful in planning and reccomending daily activities and fine cuisine or popular night spots. On our first day, they graciously made reservations for us at popular restarants which are typically hard to get in last minute - and they did this for every night we were here. We cannot express enough about the ambiance and romantic setting created at Kensington. From the lush gardens to the perfectly decorated bar lounge to the intimate and cozy dining area. Each room is filled with flavor, character and style. The guest rooms have amazingly comfortable beds and all the luxury ammeneties one could ever need. At night, we loved sleeping with the large french doors open since each room enjoys a private balcony or patio. The views from each room are spectacular while overlooking the city landscape and stunning greenery alongside Table Mountain. We found the location very convenient and centrally located. Honestly, you cannot do any better than Kensington so don't waste your time trying!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Kensington place is a gem in the foothills of Table mountain. The rooms were lovely and the service fantastic. Personal recommendations from staff of things to do were helpful, for example Sasha told us about the open air concerts at Kirstenbosch on a Sunday evening - we went along with a picnic and had a great evening out with the locals! Also really liked the fact that they took the trouble to pre book evening meals in the top Cape Town restaurants prior to our arrival- one less decision for us to make!! We would definitely go back to stay again and hope we get the chance.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs-Scanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,096 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,659 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
459 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £160 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing