We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This hotel was the first stop on our honeymoon and to say it was perfect is an understatement. Every whim/demand/request you could imagine was catered for and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were wonderful, food was fantastic and location lovely - fantastic views of Table Mountain. Chic boutique DEFINTELY fits. If we return to Caoe Town, we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    23
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
237
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

This boutique hotel, located at the top of Kloof Street, at the base of Table Mountain, was extremely comfortable. The location, in a residential area, was within walking distance of midtown, yet was quiet and away from the bustle of the Waterfront.
Our room was very spacious, with a sitting area. There were two balconies with beautiful views. The room even came with its own laptop for Internet access.
The breakfasts were delicious. The staff was very helpful and concerned about our comfort and safety. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgourd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

This is only our second time here, but feels like you're going home. Nicely placed at the top of Kloof St, we normally go out into Cape Town for a meal and then walk all the way back up Kloof (takes about 25 mins stroll, but its a hill!) - we must have done it 3-4 times, and never feel intimidated in any way. Makes us feel like we get to see things that you wouldn't in the car.

Michael makes the best Mojitos in Cape Town! As our headaches will tell you.....

From the moment you walk in, you feel at home - we met a couple that had been there when we were last year. They go every year we've found out. It seems to be that people go there year after year, and I think thats what gives it that homely feel, but in ultra hip surroundings!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The service was fantastic and personalised and the little touches made the real difference. They reserve tables at some of the best restaurants "just in case" before you even arrive, they have in room wi-fi but actually provide a laptop in the room too, they have sun cream and insect repellant along with towels by the pool. These all help and add to the look which is really as good as the pics. Location also great, slightly out ofthe centre but ashort cab ride and very peaceful, plus close to table mountain and the beaches.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBenTheDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Consistently the very best boutique hotel in the world. Location, staff, decor and sensitivity all rate 11/10.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilagentDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Absolutley fell in love with place, the staff were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them to help you with.
The hotel was immaculate and the breakfasts were divine and served all day, which was great if you needed an early or late start.
Can't wait to return!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed at Kensington Place for 3 nights, and it was perfect. Sasha was great, very welcoming, very helpful, couldn't ask for more. She had organised every restuarant, taxis there/back, nightlife, and day trips. Great recommendations and certainly made the stay exceptionally stress free! The recommendations she made were perfect. All the other staff were great as well, I enquired over what was happening on new years eve, and I found in my bedroom later, a print off of all events plus written comments next to it. Room was gorgeous, with deck and stairway leading down to the pool. This hotel really has great service, and great little touches, like the basket full of suntan lotion and kaftans, given ice cold water whilst you are sunbathing, rose petals in the bath, nibbles every evening. Breakfasts were great, the omlette was melt in mouth and the waitress Blessing had the most beautiful smile.Fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amythebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing