We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolotely out of this world”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2007

We visited Kensington Place for 3 nights and we have never received such fantastic service by ALL the staff throughout our visit. We were welcomed by Sasha and she acted as a Tour Guide for our stay advising us all the best places to visit and the restaurants to eat and arranged everything for us.

This is a small boutique Hotel of 5 star+ luxury and we had a fantastic room ( Room 1 as featured in the Brochure) with views from our balcony of all of Cape Town and Table Mountain right in front of us. The back balcony had a view of Lion’s head. What more could we ask for!

The room itself and the bathroom was spacious and very tastefully appointed and even had a free Laptop and Internet service

We would highly recommend that anyone who stays in Cape Town stays at this Hotel

Incidentally because we went in the South African 'winter' all the Hotels we stayed at were virtually empty and at so the service we received throughout the Eastern Cape was out of this world

The weather was sunny (only 2 hours rain all holiday) and the excellent roads totally clear. We will be recommending South Africa to all our friends!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BowlerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2007

Four nights at this boutique hotel was a pleasure. Modern contemporary feel in the city bowl garden suburbs.

Large clean room with large bathroom, molton and brown soaps and we had a gift of bath lotions and potions. Nice views over the city. Our room had a parking space adjacent with private access.

Excellent breakfasts at reasonable hours 8-11, fresh fruit, juices, yougurt cereals breads and rolls with full English if required.

Taxis are required to visit restaurants in the evening, if you are not driving, but all arrived punctually and were cheap.

No in house restaurant but all recommendations were excellent.

Swimming pool is unheated, as appears common in SA, so was a bit chilly in Autumn, set in a small pleasant courtyard garden.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tom_and_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank SarahDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mjf37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2007

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BellafromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PIXSQUARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

3  Thank Peace&Harmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,621 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,677 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £168 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing