We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small slice of home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
Ranked #89 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Walking into Sweet Berries as a weary traveller is almost like coming home. I booked Sweet Berries for family visiting from Holland and we were all very happy.

It is so spacious and I loved that my room (with massive king size bed and beautiful white linen) opened up onto a terrace with sun loungers. The bathrooms were also quite luxurious and modern with big glass showers, fluffy towels. Terry the manager was helpful and friendly and gave us excellent advice on restaurants. Loved the fresh rolls and pates at breakfast and the coffee was of a good standard. I would book here again next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, General Manager at Sweet Berries Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

We thank Sarah Lauren C for the effort to place a review and add your personal comments about the house and the breakfast. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Sweet Berries Holiday House.

Your review is valuable for us and we are looking forward welcoming you again at the Sweetest Guesthouses next year.

Kind Regards
Therry and the whole team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

What an awesome place. Nice and spacious. Nice kitchen. Great entertainment room. The bedrooms were big, clean and tidy. It was one of the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Then bathroom which I had was amazing and big. The shower are big as well. I also noticed they do there bid for the environment. They save water which is always good in my book. The service was fantastic. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are crazy. Lovely fresh food and great omlettes. Coffee is also great. Overall I had a great stay and I will be definetly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rorycapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Berries Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Rorycapon

Thank you for the time and effort you took to write a review for our Sweet Berries Holiday House on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, here at sweet Berries we value the environment very much and we take measures to ensure that the environment is protected like (Recycling, saving water etc. )

We thank you again for the comments they are really valuable to us. We hope to accommodate you again the next time you visit Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Evelyn and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We booked 3nights for 7 people. Got a beautiful house with sea view. Decore is fabulous. Very good taste.Each room has its own charm.Staff is very helpful.
NO Air Con(we guys dint req it but just wan to mention) & i dont know why they dont have Microwave in such modern kitchen. The area is little bit congested b'coz of which we faced problem in Car Parking.
Overall good experience. Will surely recommend this place. Its perfect location for families or groups of friends who want to stay a little bit longer. Apparently these lovely and wonderful house are 4 Star graded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.Cheers!! )))

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeshagala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Internship Student from SHL at Sweet Berries Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Hello Eeshagala, we would like to thank you for taking time to review one of our Sweetest Berries. Your straight comments are valuable for us and we took immediately action by placing a Microwave into kitchen. It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at one of our establishments and we wish you all the best.
With Greetings,
Noel (Internship Student)
For Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Sweet Berries is part of a mini-empire of Sweetly-named guesthouses in Sea Point, a buzzing Bohemian neighbourhood of Cape Town.
We booked into Sweet Orange (you can also choose Sweet Lemon, Sweet Olive, or Sweet Ocean View) and were shunted into the nearby Sweet Berries with no logical explanation for the change.
Apparently, this happens a lot, according to other TripAdvisor reviews, so to book into one of the Sweet places seems to be a bit of a lottery. Not that I'm complaining.
Sweet Berries is actually a strip of four separate semi-detached guesthouses, and the one we stayed in was brightly-decorated, spotlessly clean, and very well appointed, with a kitchenette, TVs, and a little patio.
It felt more like a guest-home than a guest-house, and although you will ideally need a car to get around (it's about 10 to 15 minutes from the Cape Town CBD) it's within walking distance of the Sea Point Promenade, which is one of the great oceanside walks in the world.
It's also close to all the shops and facilities you may need. We stayed at Sweet Berries in June, which is the middle of the Cape Town winter, and is therefore low season, so prices are good. In fact, Cape Town in winter is a much better bet than Cape Town in mid-Summer.
The Atlantic is icy-cold all year round, and the weather tends to be more stable in Winter, even if you do get the occasional drizzle.
At least you don't get too much of the notorious Cape Town southeaster wind, which can ruin your holiday if you're not careful. Cape Town is beautiful, but the weather can be a lottery too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, General Manager at Sweet Berries Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

We Thank Gussilber for his review and we are thankful for the comment, that our staff member did not clearly explained why we upgraded you to the Sweet Berries. This is definitely not our standard and we deeply regret that this happened and with deep regrets we apologies for it.
You booked the Junior Suite at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast and shortly after your booking we received couple of days later a group booking for the remaining rooms and therefore upgraded you for your convenience, as groups are usually start they day early and therefore there is a lot of commotion in the house.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at one of the Sweet Berries Holiday Houses and we appreciate you value time for posting the review.

Therry for Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: In een huisje heb je meer privacy dan in de kamer naast of boven de receptie. Gratis internet is vol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peterbroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank senior765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joachim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#64 of 110 in Cape Town Central
212 reviews
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#66 of 156 in Cape Town Central
110 reviews
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Break...
#73 of 156 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Orange Guest House
#54 of 156 in Cape Town Central
206 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Berries Holiday Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Berries Holiday Houses

Address: 9 Barkly Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £182 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sweet Berries Holiday Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sweet Berries Holiday Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing