We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments
CT
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked the two bedroom apartment for a weekend away. We wanted to do tourist outings in our own city. Check in was efficient. Staff friendly and helpful. The apartment was exactly what we required. Lovely sea view. Comfortable beds. Breakfast included in the price is served at Koi, the restaurant at Ambassador Hotel across the road. Continental and hot breakfast is served. You pay for extras such as capuccinos. We walked to the promenade where we hired bikes from Upcycles and cycled along seafront to Green Point Park. We went to a show in Camps Bay and took the boat to Robben Island so the position of apartments are perfect for walking and taking the bus. The bus stop for hop on hop off bus is around the corner. It is convenient that there is a kitchen in the apartment for light meals to be made when you don't feel like going out. Our friends stayed in the one bedroom apartment which had a separate lounge with couches and dining table. The staff brought a single bed into the lounge for an extra child and there was still enough space for all of us to visit that apartment! The apartment numbers we booked were 1403 (one bedroom) and 1406. Only complaint is that the key cards are very sensitive and we had to call for replacement cards twice in order to gain access to room 1406. Will most definitely stay here again when next we feel like a city escape.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colleenct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassiliki E, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that everything from the location, to the hotel and the service was up to standard. We strive on our professional and friendly service, therefore I am glad you got to experience that first-hand.

It seems that you did and saw every aspect of Cape Town that you wanted to, and it is lovely to hear that this was all very convenient to do by staying at the hotel.

Thank you for letting us know about the key cards. We have recently had all our locks on the hotel side and the apartments serviced, and we are now noticing that guests are complaining less and less.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Vassiliki Evripiotis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    11
    6
    22
See reviews for
21
22
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in apts which were terrible with workmen hanging outside your bedroom window. Entrance covered in dust sheets and smell of paint.Moved to hotel which is shabby and desperate need of makeover. Have left comments before but somehow removed

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was very nice. Clean and efficient. The breakfast was awesome. However as we were there to run theTwo Oceans we needed a in room breakfast on that morning. We tried arranging it with reception, who eventually called the manager. He agreed to provide the breakfast as a takeaway the night before which was ok by us. We wanted a boiled egg and a peanut butter sandwich. What we got was an egg and peanut butter sandwich! So no points for listening and the bread was stale and very little peanut butter on. The hotel has a lovely pool area, parking can be challenging as there is limited space on the roof or you have to fight for a street parking. It took us 40 minutes to get to the start and park, 20 minutes to drive back (sans traffic)
There were quite a few runners staying there so I think the hotel could have made a plan for an early runner breakfast as many other hotels do and perhaps could have offered a taxi to the start.

Room Tip: The sea is very choppy and makes a lot of noise, so if you dont like that constant wave crashing sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladybrand, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments from the 9th - 18th of April. Upon check-in at the main hotel across the Road, I was so impressed with the Hotel it self, as well as the friendly and helpful staff, who made me feel very welcome!

I was directed across the road to the Self-Catering Apartments, where a very friendly porter escorted us to our room. The apartment itself is beautifully decorated in modern simplistic furniture, with all the mod-cons you may need, and made a very pleasant impression on me. Upon making the Reservation, I looked at the photos with a DIRECT SEA VIEW, and specifically requested that our apartment had that same view, where after I was informed that ALL THE APARTMENTS HAD A SEA VIEW. Unfortunately I was quite disappointed to see that our apartment (1205 on the 2nd floor) had a direct view of the hotel across the road, with a small, interrupted sea view, making me feel that we were placed under a false impression. We also had to share a deck so to speak with other occupants, and therefore had no privacy on our veranda, hence us not using it at all during our stay. All the other floors had more privacy and obviously better ocean views.

The service was AMAZING, and I especially enjoyed the turn down service every night, with fresh mineral water and lint Chocolates being placed next to your bed. The cleaning / turn down staff was also very friendly and professional.

We had dinner once at the Khoi Restaurant. The Restaurant is very classy, with a beautiful direct ocean view. The food is very expensive, and even though I myself is a Thai / Chinese / Japanese food fan, one has to note that this is not for everyone's taste buds. We had Breakfast there twice, with BRILLIANT service the 1st time, and HORRIBLE service the last time, where after sitting down at a dirty table, waited for 10 minutes, before getting up and getting my own tray with coffee. (The restaurant was not even busy) After asking a waiter to please assist us with cutlery for my husband, I ended up going to another table, asking the guest if I could take some of his setting, as the waiter ignored me. I eventually asked for another waitress to assist us, where after she gave us good service. Needless to say we did not return.

The Apartments are brilliantly allocated in Bantry Bay, in between Clifton and Camps Bay to your one side, and Sea Point to the other side. The Waterfront is a short 10 minute drive from the apartments, with all the main attractions like Table Mountain, Picks Peak, Houtbay etc. a short and scenic drive from there.

All and all, this was a good experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an Apartment 3rd floor and up, to avoid being disappointed by your sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle_vZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My adult family has recently spent 4 nights at the Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments and from the first contact with reservations to the last, the service was exceptional - we have stayed at top rated hotels in Europe this year and the friendly professionalism that we experienced at the Ambassador rated among the best.
The deluxe 2 bedroom apartment was modern bright and spacious with a lovely sea view over the hotel. The pool is situated on the rocks - beautiful sunsets! ( space at the pool is understandably limited). Valet service a huge plus.
The Koi restaurant in the hotel is very good and has a wonderful view. The 'vibey' Voila cafe below the self-catering apartments adds to the stay. i would highly recommend these apartments to an adult family and based on our very positive experience at the Ambassador we have booked again for this year. Our thanks to ALL staff with whom we had contact.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom deluxe apartments excellent modern accommodation and lovely sea view 1 bedroom deluxe ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bass28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at the Ambassador Self Catering Apartments.

We are so pleased to note that you had a wonderful stay and thank you for the positive comments on the service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the ambassador 2 years ago and really enjoyed our time then ! We decided to stay there again but this time around the experience was totally different! the apartment was smelly , dirty chairs / carpet , the restaurant has new management and breakfast buffet is no longer the same ! Front desk manager was very rude.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are of course disappointed to note that your stay at the self catering apartments was not pleasant. I would like to reassure you that we have started with major renovations to both the exterior of the building as well as a major soft renovation that includes new flooring to all the apartments. We unfortunately were forced to halt the renovation last year in December as the hotel was just too busy and we received a number of complaints from in-house guests regarding the maintenance that was taking place.. We plan to resume work again in May this year and hope to complete work by August 2014, in time for the summer season. Our restaurant has been outsourced to KOI, a very popular and successful group of restaurants in Johannesburg and Cape Town. The decor of the restaurant has since changed, however still keeping the amazing floor to ceiling views of the Atlantic ocean. The layout of the buffet has also since changed to accommodate the new decor and setting. On behalf of the Front Office Manager, please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which you were treated, I can assure you it is not a reflection of our usual high standards of professionalism and friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

These apartments are under extensive external renovation, a fact that not one staff member mentioned to us when booking and checking in. No wonder the staff members on duty at the apartments are so miserable. The apartments inside are SO shabby - we had supposedly booked a deluxe suite. The baths are patched in numerous places, the basin was cracked, even the prints on the wall were damaged, the locks didn't work in either bathroom, the internal phone didn't work when we tried to book a table at KOI - good luck with that - thanks to the concierge Anthony, he managed to get us a table in a restaurant that was half full the entire time we ate there under limited time constraints. They came to turn down our room at 21.40!!!! I would never recommend staying there unless you enjoy men on harnesses dangling outside your windows!

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Ambassador Self Catering Apartments.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We put up a notice on our website as well as notices on both sides of the building advising guests and visitors of the maintenance taking place. However, you should have been informed by our Reservations department at the time of your booking and this should have been re-iterated on check.

As you correctly noted, we did start major renovations last year, but had to halt the project which will resume in May 2014 and we hope to have completed all work by August 2014.

Please send us your contact details so that we can invite you back once the renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments

Property: Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments
Address: 28 Victoria Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For guests who prefer a little “home away from home” we offer 28 fully equipped and serviced apartments. Most rooms have magical views of the Atlantic Ocean, whilst other rooms have views of the unique Lion’s Head Mountain. The fully serviced apartments are ideal for families, long stays and self catering holidays.The apartments are located across from the Ambassador Hotel and guests have the full hotel service available to them including room service, pool access and complimentary wireless connection for the duration of your stay.The 1 and 2 bedroom self catering apartments are comfortably decorated and are equipped with air conditioners, king, queen or twin beds, fully fitted kitchens and are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing