We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to Cape Town”

Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #93 of 331 Tours in Cape Town Central
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Personalised and customised tours offering unique insights into the people, places and stories of Cape Town and South Africa.-First hand insights and experiences by a passionate born and bred Capetonian.High level of personal service and close attention to clients needs.-For the informed traveller who wants more than just sightseeing, but does not want to pay the earth.-Tours you will never forget.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Visit to Cape Town”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My son and I were fortunate enough to have Jacqui show us around Capetown on various tours.
She is very knowledgeable and shows a genuine interest in all she does.Always on time with a smile and good humour,she made our stay easy and enjoyable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquibcapetown, Owner at Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks for your positive response Mark. It was different and enjoyable taking around some fellow South Africans. It was a great experience to be able to show you our part of the world! Hope you come and live in Cape Town some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Township and Penguin Tour”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This was by far one of the best tours I've done on my travels. Jacqui will plan a tour specifically for what you're looking to see. On my tour we went to Langa Township, where I was able to meet a variety of people, take their portraits and talk with them, exactly what I requested. Jacqui arranged for a local guide who lived in the township to show us around, who was also a phenomenal guide and a pleasure to talk to. After the township we stopped for lunch at a place believed to be the best seafood on the coast, and I agree. It was then off to see the penguins on the beach. Jacqui is a very friendly, easy going person and I enjoyed spending the day on this tour. Just let her know what you'd like to see and she will try her best to make it work! Thanks again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kristinacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Guide Awesome Trip!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

What a precious privilege it was to tour the 2 townships of Langa and Gugulethu under the thoughtful guidance of our wonderful tour guide, Jacqui and "Sugar", the person she chose to accompany us, one of the residents, a budding young woman starting out in her own guiding career. Being able to "visit" with people living in the Langa Township brought alive many of the historical events Cape Town experienced in the Apartheid Period. This was particularly so as Jacqui herself lived through that time as a resident opposing the regime and has the scars to prove it.Our tour to many sites like the slave museum and trip to Mandela's town of release from prison will never be forgotten. I came away from SA longing for more. Jacqui was amazing!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vida6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Langa Township Tour”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Jacqui and her wonderful tour company just took my family on a half-day tour of Langa Township in Cape Town. My husband, myself and our three daughters ages 5, 9, and 11 spent an absolutely fabulous morning with Jacqui and her local guide, Odwa, in Langa. We were made to feel so welcome and comfortable in the township, and learned a great deal from Jacqui and Odwa about the history of apartheid and the development of townships and informal settlements throughout the surrounding area. We toured the different types of housing in Langa, from shacks to hostels and government-sponsored apartment blocks, met local people, visited a craft center and learned from local artisans about their crafts, and we even visited a little Kindergarten which was a highlight for our girls of course! Odwa, himself a resident of Langa, could not have been more professional or welcoming to us all and helped us understand the rich cultural preservation in the Townships and the sense of pride among the residents. Honestly, if you are looking for a cultural experience in Cape Town, and to gain a deeper understanding of the complexity and oppression of apartheid (thru present day), we cannot recommend highly enough Jacqui and her team! Just to hear our family conversation at dinner after our day in Langa would be enough to encourage all visiting families to experience something like this. It was truly educational on so many levels. Thank you Jacqui and Odwa for hosting us in Langa - we will never forget it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank blair d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mto wa Mbu, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wine Tour and Cape Peninsula Tour”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Jacqui was very friendly and informative on all elements of the tours. She picked out great wineries for us to explore and led us on a great trip to the Cape Peninsula, including a phenomenal tour through Kirstenbosch Gardens. The bonus here is that she is a member of the Botanical Society and provided a ton of info on all the plants. We had a great time and highly recommend her to others.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank heidiwiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Rondebosch, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing