We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customized Tour of Cape Town”

Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #106 of 330 Tours in Cape Town Central
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Personalised and customised tours offering unique insights into the people, places and stories of Cape Town and South Africa.-First hand insights and experiences by a passionate born and bred Capetonian.High level of personal service and close attention to clients needs.-For the informed traveller who wants more than just sightseeing, but does not want to pay the earth.-Tours you will never forget.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Customized Tour of Cape Town”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I visit Cape Town frequently and wanted to discover some of the less well known attractions. Jacqui coordinated a wonderful day that exceeded my expectations. The days activities ranged from a visit to spice market in the Bo Kaap neighborhood, a wine tasting at Signal Hill Winery in town, lunch at The Test Kitchen and finally a tour of The Jewish Museum. Her local knowledge made each activity more interesting and enjoyable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ajax1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquibcapetown, Owner at Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for your positive review Beth. It was a short and very sweet time with you in Cape Town. The Food and Wine tour is one of my favourites and I was glad to be able to take you on this tour
We really had good luck that we managed to get a place at The Test Kitchen on the spur of the moment as usually you have to book 6 months in advance to get a table!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
beccab00
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First class!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We recently did a wide selection of tours with Jacqui. We travel a lot, yet our trip to Cape Town stood out as the best holiday ever, and this had a great deal to do with Jacqui. She showed us many places and many faces of the Western Cape with impeccable organisation and timing. She was marvelous with our kids, able to teach them a great deal about the people, politics and wildlife of the area. It is a real skill to be able to spend time with a family and be supportive, educational and so pleasant without being overwhelming. We feel very lucky that we found Jacqui and would wholeheartedly recommend her services to anyone wanting to explore the extraordinary Western Cape. She's quite simply the best! Thanks Jacqui! (I am happy to talk further with anyone who is thinking of visiting Cape Town.)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beccab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquibcapetown, Owner at Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks Becca for your really positive review. It was a real pleasure for me to take you, T and your lovely boys around Cape Town and other areas. It was wonderful to see how involved you became and it was clear you all absorbed the experiences really fully. Your appreciative attitude was very refreshing, especially from people who have travelled so widely and seen so much of the world. A big THANK YOU from me too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing tailored tour”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We wanted a wine tour around the wine region in Cape Town and the big "group" tours did not offer us what we wanted, only visiting max 3 wineries which were all the big ones. We found Jacqui and her tour was both more cost effective per person and we got to decide where we wanted to go and how the tour went.
Jacqui was a very knowledgeable, friendly and delightful she knew all the ins and outs and was able to find us some real gems of wineries!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zozod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquibcapetown, Owner at Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks for your great review Zoe. It was fun to take you, Karl and Graham around the Winelands as you were so focused on visiting as many wineries as possible and tasting as many wines as you could. I'm glad we achieved this and that you enjoyed the day as much as I did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winelands and Cape of Good Hope Tours”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a great experience with Jaquie, who was able to balance our tours in a way to "please" both my husband and I as well as our kids who are 12 and 9. The tours were really "by design" and we were able to go around at our own pace. Jaquie was always on time, polite, and very helpful, besides never being tired of explaining things and giving extra information about all the places we visited. I truly recommend!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabiola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquibcapetown, Owner at Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks very much for your good review Fabiola. I really enjoyed taking you, your husband and delightful children around Cape Town and the Winelands. I always enjoy taking families on tour and especially when they are as nice as yours was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Jacqui was well-informed and selected quality, local experiences”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Jacqui was well-informed and provided a solid, well-rounded tour of Cape Town and also coordinated logistics for the shark excursion through another company. Jacqui's tour of Cape Town gave me a good primer on the sites in the city, townships and the neighbouring Winelands. The shark excursion was also well-coordinated. Communication before the trip was excellent - just the right amount to give me assurances that the experience in Cape Town would be a good one.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nhfox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquibcapetown, Owner at Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Steven, thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure to organise all the tours for you around Cape Town and the WInelands as well as the Shark Cage Diving as you knew exactly what you wanted and were very clear in your requests. Hope to see you in Cape Town again, this time for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Rondebosch, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape by Design Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing