We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, service but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 65 on Main

65 on Main
Ranked #434 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh and exciting new addition to the picturesque suburb of Green Point, Cape Town. 65 on Main offers a casual dining experience where the focus is simple and much loved dishes. A restaurant with friendly and informative staff, offering an amazing wine and cocktail list, they are happy to do anything to ensure it's the one place you feel that food meets pleasure.At 65 on Main they have a delicious variety of foods that any food lover would appreciate, with a simple but well created menu, where they have decided to concentrate on pure flavoures with simplistic ideas of bringing food together with good an astounding choice of wines to complement each meal.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
1,057 reviews
551 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I entered around 8:00pm, restaurant was empty except for staff. (I tried a few nights previously at same time but it was closed.) Two women pleasantly greeted and seated me seemed to work there but spent most of the time talking loudly and eating at a side table near the front. It seemed they were there to socialize loudly with friends and smoking near the doorway instead of working.
Male staff: My food was excellent and service was professional.
I would return. 65 on Main could be great if they focus on business as opposed to socializing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Breakfast Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at the Cape Royale hotel and discovered 65 on Main on our last day. This restaurant was right next to our hotel and proved to be a great choice for breakfast. The food was delicious and well-priced. Too bad we didn’t discover it sooner!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CherryTravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word......AMAZING ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say about "65 on main" everything was perfect from the service to the food. And the manger/owner was so nice, she even gave us a bottle of wine on the house!!! All in all it was a 10 out of 10 experience. Will definitely be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Nickdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

What a great little find! The staff are so courteous and friendly, the chef knocked herself out to accommodate a picky eater and they even found room for us to eat dinner with a private party in full swing. Very clean and contemporary, great menu choices, lovely range of wines. Good location on Main - we just wish we could go back for another fabulous meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nousvoici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant family dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I came across 65 on Main on a Sunday afternoon with my family (googled for family restaurant in Cape Town - beyond the usual establishments). Tried them out and was not disappointed. The kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves, the service stood out and excellent menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phindile T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 65 on Main also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to 65 on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing