We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality food and service”
Review of 65 on Main - CLOSED

65 on Main
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fresh and exciting new addition to the picturesque suburb of Green Point, Cape Town. 65 on Main offers a casual dining experience where the focus is simple and much loved dishes. A restaurant with friendly and informative staff, offering an amazing wine and cocktail list, they are happy to do anything to ensure it's the one place you feel that food meets pleasure.At 65 on Main they have a delicious variety of foods that any food lover would appreciate, with a simple but well created menu, where they have decided to concentrate on pure flavoures with simplistic ideas of bringing food together with good an astounding choice of wines to complement each meal.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor quality food and service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Went for a quick bite on Sunday, with the family. We were the only table inside.
My mother order a drink – which never arrived with the rest of the drinks.
The salmon salad she ordered looked as dry as raw oats.
The rest of us ordered wraps; which were extremely heavily salted – to the point they were unenjoyable.
At no point did our waiter come back to enquire if we were enjoying our meals, or to take more drinks requests (empty restaurant remember – so he can’t be busy).
NB – the restaurant 3 doors down was full, so no excuse for it being a quiet day.

Poor quality food, utterly disinterested service. With hindsight, no surprises they were empty.
Save yourself some money, time and frustration – and wait for a table at the restaurant 3 doors down rather...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Monk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney W, Owner at 65 on Main, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Monk

Thank you for taking your time to post your review and I do appreciate your constructive criticism. We would like to take the opportunity to address the issue immediately and ask that you mail me on info@65onmain.com so that we can discuss the matter in great detail. I would like to assure you that what you experienced is not the norm and I would like to invite you back to experience 65 On main once again.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personal Service”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My family and I visited this little restaurant in the first week of Jan. We were joined by one other family of 3 from AB Canada. We were taken aback by the friendly personal service. The bill was also a surprise for a group of 8. We tipped more than would have , ordinarily. We stayed at a hotel close by and they offered to deliver supper the next day Keep it up!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumisani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney W, Owner at 65 on Main, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Dumisani

It was a pleasure hosting you and the family especially the kids. Trust you are all doing well and hope to see you again.

Regards to the family.
Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Repeat ? For sure”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband, daughter and I went for supper at 65 on Main after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. I'm not sure the restaurant would have caught my eye if we were just walking past but we had a wonderful meal and really glad we went. The 2 course set meal - starter and main or main and desert for R110 is fantastic value for money. We sat outside, the waitron tried her best and was very accommodating. Our meal was an explosion of our tastebuds - really fantastic. We will be returning to sample the breakfast menu :-) Friendly Management keeping an eye on things - this little gem can only continue to do well. Yes, I would recommend this unpretentious find to you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelisourhobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney W, Owner at 65 on Main, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi

Thank you for your review and I apologize for the delay to respond. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and you were vey brave to sit outside, and the weather wasn't as great. We hope to see you soon for breakfast.

Regards
Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Continue to Impress”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Went for breakfast today, the food and service was excellent as ever. A High Court Advocate ;sitting across my table, who has 2 restaurants of his own called the whole team of chefs and waitresses and congratulated them after he had breakfast with his wife .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney W, Owner at 65 on Main, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Colin

We value your feedback and thank you for all your support. We certainly hope we will continue to impress.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards
Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant for Family Meal”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a family evening meal at 65 on Main towards the end of our 2 week holiday in South Africa. The set menu was excellent value and the food very good. The steak and lamb cutlet mains were great. The restaurant was a bit quiet which didn't bother us but should get busier. The staff were attentive and friendly. Overall a nice place to eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blakes7-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney W, Owner at 65 on Main, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Blake's

Thank you taking the time to post a review, and for the positive feedback. Thank you once again for choosing 65 on Main to have dinner. We hope you travel back to Cape Town and come pop in again.

Regards
Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 65 on Main also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing