We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Consider Please ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Icon Luxury Apartments
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't Consider Please ”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I am currently at the Icon and the stay has been average at best.

I stayed on the 17th Floor with my wife and kids in a "Luxury" apartment. I honestly believe that the owner or management have no clue as what the meaning of "luxury" really is?

My "lux" apartment had one tiny aircon unit for a massive area with a large kitchen entertainment area, 2 bedrooms and 2 toilets. Needless to say, if you want to sweat bullets, then Icon is the way to go.

Oh, Add... no proper utensils (IT'S SELF CATERING!!!!!!!), toaster broken. I'm lucky, I actually upgraded to superior on Hotels.com after cancelling my Booking. Com standard suit (dread to think what that would be like)

Plus side........ It's central to V&a.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishPMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Ashishpmb

Thank you for your review. What a pity that you found the Icon apartments not fitting your idea of a self-catering luxury establishment. The Icon is a four star graded serviced self-catering property, we provide guests with all the standard kitchen equipment across all apartments.

However if a guest should require certain utensils which were not been included in the apartment, our guests are welcome to request these from reception who will assist our guests. You are welcome to contact our Guest Services Manager to inform us about what improvements would have made your stay better. We look forward to hearing from you and hope we will have another opportunity to make your stay away from home more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    278
    91
    36
    39
See reviews for
201
183
45
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I traveled a lot and stayed at hotels for about 100 days a year. This has to be the worst experience ever.

I booked this hotel via HOTELS.COM and stayed there in between Christmas and New Years Eve. When I arrived, they couldn't find the payment that I paid HOTELS.COM and they demanded my payment upfront. I also booked a one-bedroom originally but they gave me a studio instead. Upon endless negotiation with the hotels (not something that anyone would like to do during a vacation), they agree on refunding the double charge as well as extra compensation for the room type mess-up. Unfortunately, they have never honored the compensation and the hotel never bother to response. Not servicing the room (as they were supposed to in non-Sunday, non-holiday) was not an isolated incident. They have done it to my room as well.

My advise is to stay away from this hotel unless you want your trip to be ruined!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manville C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Manville

Thanks for your review and we understand your frustration. However please note that although you booked a one bedroom apartment your booking came through as one for a studio apartment. The double charge was resolved and you were in fact compensated for your stay by receiving a refund more than the value of your booking on 16 January 2014. We have honoured the terms and conditions of our cancellation policy but for international card holders, your own bank might take up to 21 days before they process the transaction and credit your account. We hope you will consider staying with us again, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Icon Luxury Apartments are very centrally located, right opposite to Lower Longstreet. V&A Waterfront, Longstreet and the architecturally and historically very unique district "de Waterkant" are very close by. There is secure underground parking at no extra cost available and access is granted via a personal chip, also to the building. The building contains a huge number of apartments and many are occupied by locals. The building is very secure (chip access and security guards at the enrance doors and the underground parking) - as secure as you can by in South Africa. Our Apartment was on the 17th floor, very luxury and modern with design accent. The views are stunning right towards the harbour and Robben Isalnd and on the other side down the Longstreet towards table mountain. The apartment had a blacony and was very clean with loads of space. The personell is very friendly and helpful, nevertheless the processing is the "African Way", but hey you are in Africa! For a downtown citytrip with a very central location in a luxury environment to enjoy absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: Aks for topfloor with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Pilot25

Thanks for a great review, we appreciate it and please keep in touch with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great urban location for exploring Cape Town and for business. Good security and secure parking. A general lack of attention to detail for example no welcoming card. No bathmat outside the shower. Towels were not hung back in the bathroom after cleaning service was there. Reception was understaffed and a double payment went off from my credit card which was set right a month later with out me complaining but also with out an apology.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleneStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for the review, we will look into your comments and hope to see you again soon to prove to you how we continue to improve on our service. Happy travels, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The staff is very, very friendly! I meant, the reception staff, because not all of them are friendly.
I spent 7 days there and the did not replace a towel even when I left it on the floor showing that it need to be changed!
I went down the reception three times to ask for it as well as to ask for a bath soup.Not all apartment are facing street so that it a kind of dark in the bedroom.The air conditioning wasn t working so we face a little warm on the bedroom.
The area is also not nice after 7PM.
The room is comfortable, however It is not worth of a US1000/wk. It was too much.

Room Tip: When I mean service I´talking about a reception, no one else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi FFToledo

Thanks for the review. Our self-catering hotel provides linen and towel changes as part of the housekeeping services. Guests also receive complimentary toiletries upon arrival. In isolated cases where a guest experiences issues regarding housekeeping we always ensure that this is addressed as soon as we are aware of it. Thanks for bringing this to our attention, happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

the location and the view is excellent, we can walk around just anywhere from that area. the kitchen is fully equipped and we've appreciate it, so with the calmness of building. all the facilities are very nice except it needs an air condition especially during summer time. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ASourial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks for a great review we appreciate it and hope to see you again soon, happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in January. Cape Town is extremely hot during this time and there was only an air conditioner in the lounge. So the bedrooms were extremely hot which made it impossible to sleep. Even though the unit was serviced everyday, it looked like it hadn't been. The carpets were not vacuumed and the bathroom floors were still dirty. The linen was not changed regularly nor were clean towels provided everyday. The state of the linen was shocking. We had a king size bed but they did not have any king sized fitted sheets so they used flat sheets to cover the mattress. The pillow cases were a brown colour and had holes in them. The duvet cover was old and didn't close at the bottom so the duvet kept slipping out. So overall this was a very unpleasant stay and we would never stay here again. Definitely falsely advertised as a "luxury" apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BBJ154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi

Thanks for the review. I am pleased that the apartment was serviced daily, but disappointed that the housekeeping service was less than dazzling. I am also surprised about the bedding as we conduct regular quality checks, we will investigate and sort it out immediately. We hope to see you again soon and hope you will give us a chance to provide you with excellent service! Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
957 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
798 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
962 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
331 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icon Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icon Luxury Apartments

Property: Icon Luxury Apartments
Address: 24 Hans Strijdom Avenue | Foreshore, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Icon Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icon is a luxury 19 storey building ideally situated in the city's financial district, 2 minutes away from the Cape Town International Convention Centre and a short drive to Cape Town's major attractions, shopping centres and recreational facilities. The self-catering accommodation on offer range from studios, one, two and three bedroom apartments, including penthouse suites. These apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, open-plan dining and lounge areas and guests have access to free Wi-Fi, gym and pool facilities and secure underground parking.The ground floor retail space includes a food market, spa and coffee shops. Icon also offers business conferencing facilities and a business lounge. Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Icon Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Luxury Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing