We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient home base apartment in CT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Icon Luxury Apartments
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Convenient home base apartment in CT”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed several nights at Icon. We booked it because it was cheaper than the sister property, Harbouredge, where we had stayed a month before. Also, we wanted the location as it's very close to everything (short drive to anywhere) and also right at the on-ramp to the highway for quick escapes out to the Wine Region.
We had two rooms in different buildings, which was a little inconvenient, but nothing to complain about. We enjoyed the furnishings of the unit. The beds and furniture were all very comfortable. We had cable tv with lots of channels. Our view was overlooking a vacant lot, but from our floor you could also see a few buildings. We weren't high enough to see over them to see the ocean.
The checkin process was a bit tenuous but nothing to really complain about. This is Africa. Get used to it. Also, since it was August we didn't need air conditioning, so we can't comment on that.
Overall, would recommend to anyone who wants a spacious, modern, apartment and doesn't need to be coddled as you would in a fancy hotel. If you're capable of finding your own breakfast and being a generally competent traveller, you should love this apartment hotel. However, if you want a butler to wait on you at every request, go stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Scottino84

Thanks for a great and comprehensive review of Icon self-catering apartments and we are glad that you and your group were happy with the standard of the accommodation.

We hope to see you and the rest of the team again soon.

All the best

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    278
    91
    36
    39
See reviews for
201
183
45
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I recently stayed at the icon appartments in Capetown while attending a conference at the Convention Centre. The location is a 5 mins wallk to the Centre and also right in the city. Rooms arespacious, self contained, and daily maid service. Not the cheapest option, but very good value when compared to a 5 star hotel.
I woould defintely stay again
Doug Kirwin

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear dkirwin

Thanks very much for a good review of the Icon.We trust that you had a productive conference and we are pleased that your stay with us was pleasant. Please keep in touch with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Icon for 6 nights. We paid a lot of money a requested a high floor with a view. When we got to our room it was on the 7th floor overlooking a carpark. The aircon made a terrible noise that kept us awake all night. We requested a new room as we didn't believe it was worth what we paid. They only moved as 2 days later. The room was better, up nice and high with a great view. However in this room the aircon would not switch on at all!! We called downstairs and two men came up and banged on the aircon for a bit then told us they would talk to management. We heard nothing for the next 2 days. We went downstairs to talk to reception again ( FYI this was our last night in Cape Town) and asked them what was going on. They said it will be fixed soon. At 8.30pm that night a mere 10 hours before we checked out they finally fixed the aircon. I had asked for a taxi the day before to take us where our bus was picking us up, the girl behind the counter said it was no problem. We go down the next morning, no cab. I asked the man behind the desk where our taxi was and he had no idea we even wanted a taxi!! We had to wait 10 minutes while he called for one, thank god we weren't in a rush!! It seemed no matter how frustrated I got the staff couldn't care less. They were distant unpleasant and lazy. Because our room was so hot from no aircon we had to drag our mattress out into the lounge to sleep by the open door. We should not have had to do that. Icon is rubbish and I wouldn't go back if you paid me. I would never recommend it, we had a very unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear TravelGirl

Our guest services team has looked through our records to check if your grievances were reported to us. Did you report any of this? Please send an email to our guest services team with your feedback.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I am currently at the Icon and the stay has been average at best.

I stayed on the 17th Floor with my wife and kids in a "Luxury" apartment. I honestly believe that the owner or management have no clue as what the meaning of "luxury" really is?

My "lux" apartment had one tiny aircon unit for a massive area with a large kitchen entertainment area, 2 bedrooms and 2 toilets. Needless to say, if you want to sweat bullets, then Icon is the way to go.

Oh, Add... no proper utensils (IT'S SELF CATERING!!!!!!!), toaster broken. I'm lucky, I actually upgraded to superior on Hotels.com after cancelling my Booking. Com standard suit (dread to think what that would be like)

Plus side........ It's central to V&a.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishPMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Ashishpmb

Thank you for your review. What a pity that you found the Icon apartments not fitting your idea of a self-catering luxury establishment. The Icon is a four star graded serviced self-catering property, we provide guests with all the standard kitchen equipment across all apartments.

However if a guest should require certain utensils which were not been included in the apartment, our guests are welcome to request these from reception who will assist our guests. You are welcome to contact our Guest Services Manager to inform us about what improvements would have made your stay better. We look forward to hearing from you and hope we will have another opportunity to make your stay away from home more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I traveled a lot and stayed at hotels for about 100 days a year. This has to be the worst experience ever.

I booked this hotel via HOTELS.COM and stayed there in between Christmas and New Years Eve. When I arrived, they couldn't find the payment that I paid HOTELS.COM and they demanded my payment upfront. I also booked a one-bedroom originally but they gave me a studio instead. Upon endless negotiation with the hotels (not something that anyone would like to do during a vacation), they agree on refunding the double charge as well as extra compensation for the room type mess-up. Unfortunately, they have never honored the compensation and the hotel never bother to response. Not servicing the room (as they were supposed to in non-Sunday, non-holiday) was not an isolated incident. They have done it to my room as well.

My advise is to stay away from this hotel unless you want your trip to be ruined!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manville C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Manville

Thanks for your review and we understand your frustration. However please note that although you booked a one bedroom apartment your booking came through as one for a studio apartment. The double charge was resolved and you were in fact compensated for your stay by receiving a refund more than the value of your booking on 16 January 2014. We have honoured the terms and conditions of our cancellation policy but for international card holders, your own bank might take up to 21 days before they process the transaction and credit your account. We hope you will consider staying with us again, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Icon Luxury Apartments are very centrally located, right opposite to Lower Longstreet. V&A Waterfront, Longstreet and the architecturally and historically very unique district "de Waterkant" are very close by. There is secure underground parking at no extra cost available and access is granted via a personal chip, also to the building. The building contains a huge number of apartments and many are occupied by locals. The building is very secure (chip access and security guards at the enrance doors and the underground parking) - as secure as you can by in South Africa. Our Apartment was on the 17th floor, very luxury and modern with design accent. The views are stunning right towards the harbour and Robben Isalnd and on the other side down the Longstreet towards table mountain. The apartment had a blacony and was very clean with loads of space. The personell is very friendly and helpful, nevertheless the processing is the "African Way", but hey you are in Africa! For a downtown citytrip with a very central location in a luxury environment to enjoy absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: Aks for topfloor with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Pilot25

Thanks for a great review, we appreciate it and please keep in touch with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great urban location for exploring Cape Town and for business. Good security and secure parking. A general lack of attention to detail for example no welcoming card. No bathmat outside the shower. Towels were not hung back in the bathroom after cleaning service was there. Reception was understaffed and a double payment went off from my credit card which was set right a month later with out me complaining but also with out an apology.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleneStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for the review, we will look into your comments and hope to see you again soon to prove to you how we continue to improve on our service. Happy travels, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
957 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
798 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
962 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
331 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icon Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icon Luxury Apartments

Property: Icon Luxury Apartments
Address: 24 Hans Strijdom Avenue | Foreshore, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Icon Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icon is a luxury 19 storey building ideally situated in the city's financial district, 2 minutes away from the Cape Town International Convention Centre and a short drive to Cape Town's major attractions, shopping centres and recreational facilities. The self-catering accommodation on offer range from studios, one, two and three bedroom apartments, including penthouse suites. These apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, open-plan dining and lounge areas and guests have access to free Wi-Fi, gym and pool facilities and secure underground parking.The ground floor retail space includes a food market, spa and coffee shops. Icon also offers business conferencing facilities and a business lounge. Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Icon Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Luxury Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing