We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Icon Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great value and great location”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Great location and excellent value for money. Easy walking distance (and safe) to the VA Waterfront (15mins) and the busy end of Long Street (10mins)
Large, well equipped appartments with full kitchens and excellent bathrooms with large baths and showers. A bit tatty and worn in places but spotlessly clean throughout. Beds were very hard but massive. Safes in the room a reassuring bonus. Wifi only in business centre, but it was quite fast. TV channels poor (blamed on the weather) but had UK Sky News. Free car parking in the basement and organised me a hire car for the day

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Travelingjohn123

Thank you for your excellent review of the location, housekeeping, Wi-Fi access and guest amenities at Icon apartments.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    277
    89
    36
    38
See reviews for
200
182
45
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neil Hemming
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very nice apartments and very well equipped. Comfortable bed and very clean. Full Kitchen area and good TV and DSTV. Great views from higher floor levels. Based in the CBD so very quiet at the weekend. My only complaint would be parking bays number should be given on booking as you have to park in city, check in then get parking bay number. Only other draw back is the area has little or no restaurants open at the weekend and the Hotel has nor bar etc so very little services available. Short ride to Waterfront and easy walking distance to all attractions in the city. Great value for money at 750 per night.

Room Tip: Opt for high level with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Neil

Thank you for your review of Icon. We are glad that the standard of our apartments was to your liking. We ensure that our apartments are well equipped for self-catering for our guests to be able to make their own meals. Our guests can always request assistance from the concierge to book restaurants, transport etc. and we are there to assist and to ensure that our guest’s stay is as convenient as possible.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Good hotel at a good location , a part of it was still under construction though. Staff was friendly and the apartment was very spacious and neat and clean . Close to the bus stops and easy access to v&a waterfront. The location is peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alnetcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Alnetcom

Thanks for taking the time to send through your review of our Icon apartments.From time to time the property undergoes regular maintenance such as the pool deck that was completed in the last few months. However there is no construction onsite at Icon at the moment.

We hope to see you again soon in the near future and invite you to stay in touch with us via social media.

Best regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geleen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wauw what a great apartment!
The location is really nice and the price for it is normal.
The only downside for me was the service.
I had to ask where I could park my car, where the gym was located and where I should leave my key after my vacation.
I really loved the apartment and if i'm going to visit Cape Town again, i'll definitely want an apartment in this building again!
The service can be improved, but the apartment is really awesome!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Annika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Annika

Thanks for taking the time to write your review of Icon. Also thanks for listing the areas where the service could have been better. We will ensure that our guest services department look into this and that it is resolved.

We hope to see you again in the near future and hope you will follow us on social media.

Best regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Apartment was well maintained and well kept. The flooring was getting old though and few wooden chips were coming off. Location was ideal right in the heart of the city and there is full time security.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Varun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Varun G

Thanks for the review. Our maintenance team will look into your review about the floors and we will ensure that this is resolved.

We hope you will stay in touch with us and book your next Cape Town stay at Icon.

Regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed in the flat during Easter season 2014 whilst on holiday.

Staff was very flexible when my plans changed constantly and resulting in me needing to get the keys much later than expected. Room is great and has all the amenities one could ask for.

Location is absolutely fantastic and everything is either a short drive or walk away.

The only thing that prevents this from being a 5 star review is the fact that the room I stayed in got extremely bright from sunrise, making it difficult to lie in if on holiday or just causing you to rise with the sun if you are easily affected by light whilst sleeping. Whilst this may seem pedantic to mention,this does have an affect.

Other than that - fantastic and great value!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SamOosthuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sam Oosthuizen

Thanks for the review you wrote for the Icon apartments. Keep in touch with us via social media and we hope to see you again soon at Icon.

Regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Location good..Will use again in future,highly recomended
Please check your appliances as the hair dryer and toaster did not work
Apartment very spacious. Amenities like gym ,coffee shops and eateries all close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo-anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Icon Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Jo-anne A

Thanks for writing your review of our Icon apartments. We have notified our operations team about the items you mentioned were not working (hair dryer and toaster) in the apartment and they will ensure that this is fixed.

Overall, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Keep in touch with us.

Regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icon Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icon Luxury Apartments

Property: Icon Luxury Apartments
Address: 24 Hans Strijdom Avenue | Foreshore, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Icon Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icon is a luxury 19 storey building ideally situated in the city's financial district, 2 minutes away from the Cape Town International Convention Centre and a short drive to Cape Town's major attractions, shopping centres and recreational facilities. The self-catering accommodation on offer range from studios, one, two and three bedroom apartments, including penthouse suites. These apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, open-plan dining and lounge areas and guests have access to free Wi-Fi, gym and pool facilities and secure underground parking.The ground floor retail space includes a food market, spa and coffee shops. Icon also offers business conferencing facilities and a business lounge. Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Icon Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Luxury Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing