We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise on Long St.”

The Diplomatic Bar & Restaurant Pty
Ranked #275 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: The Diplomatic Bar & Restaurant is a concept that transports the Southern African home cooking to South Africa. Southern African cuisine is a combination of traditional foods and colonial foods influences. We specialize in authentic traditional cuisine. Our food is handcrafted from scratch with fresh and natural ingredients; we do not use artificial ingredients, butter and sugar. All our dishes are flavourful and spiced according to our customers preferences from mild to super spicy. The Diplomatic Bar & Restaurant embraces Southern African lifestyle.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A surprise on Long St.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The surprise comes when you look at the menu listing African cuisine, then Chris explains the food...Amazing. Everything tastes like it came from your moms kitchen, made with care and heart. This is a restaurant I would not hesitate to recommend to all my friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An african meal”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at this restaurant this evening and it was a great meal and exceptional service! The owner chris explained everything of the menu and how it is prepared. We ordered 5 different meals and 4 starters and all were very good! It was definitely a nice quiet meal out!

Helpful?
Thank Nict212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dtown Capetown/Long street: authentic local food, great taste/value fun!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I spent almost 3 years in Seapoint, Capetown as a wee girl...as a mid life adult now, I am by no way a local but I do recognize exceptional service, amazing cuisine (especially LOCAL cuisine) and dedication to the craft off serving up good eats/drinks and then some...at bargain prices. Chris the owner is a charismatic and dedicated host and will guide you down the path of lovely curry dishes, beans, rices, desserts:) with advice on what will suit your palate best: vegetarian to beef, mild to spicy. One of the treats we encountered:
The Mielie Pap is AMAZING:
MEILIE 'PAP' or 'PUTU'
This is the staple diet of the majority of South African's, made from maize meal. It is also the most popular side dish at a braai (barbeque). SA Kids and adults love it! It is usually served with a tomato and onion gravy. Or served with a stew, to soak up all that delicious gravy. It is even eaten for breakfast with milk and sugar.
Chris' establishment is across the street for the renown Granddaddy Hotel on Long street ..is tiny..which means the service is exceptional.
Why not tried and true AFRICAN food for a change?
You won't regret... We ate there twice in 3 days:)
Liz from the USA

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredensborg, Denmark
1 review
“Oxtail + Jack black = Master class”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very friendly staff that really care about good food. The combination of a simple but very tasty African oxtail stew + a pale ale from the local microbrewery "Jack black" was the best dinner I have had here in CT. Not expensive, just excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teunis_S_Jansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Your new local African food joint in Cape Town”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

When in a foreign land, there's nothing worse than walking into a bar or restaurant just to see a bunch of other tourists. And as much as I love trip advisor, the " #1 restaurant in xyz" often puts you on a collision course for exactly that. Instead, we love finding a place that at least has some local cred. The diplomatic is exactly that. We were the only foreign faces when we arrived, and the only others that showed up were there for repeat visits. The space is small, comfortable but otherwise unremarkable. The menu is also small - but there is plenty of variety in the limited selections, as though the intent is to do fewer things really we'll rather than to try and please everyone, though I'm not sure anyone would have little trouble being very pleased once they dig in. We had boerwors as a starter (deliciously dense, wonderfully sauced) and I was steered from a typical castle light to a local IPA - jack black butcher block- that was also great and a perfect match for the meal. As for the "steering" our server/manager Mauris (sp?) was excellent - clearly he loves his place, the food they serve and genuinely enjoys serving people who dine there. On his recommendation, we had lamb curry with dap (think polenta/grit cakes if you are from the American south) and an impala shank that fell off the bone. Both were excellent and the overall meal with tip was a steal at $50 USD. Is this the super posh white table cloth "big name" restaurant the tourists will flock to in Cape Town? Probably not. It's a local secret (or at least it's getting to be) and it's one any traveler should get in on now

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abelonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Diplomatic Bar & Restaurant Pty also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Diplomatic Bar & Restaurant Pty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing