We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Simply Asia Waterfront
Ranked #763 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Restaurant details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

No sushi on offer. Even though there is a neon sign on the exterior of the building flashing sushi available. Waiter informed me they stopped serving sushi months ago. Well then don’t advertise it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank InyatiSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaviCapeTown, Owner at Simply Asia Waterfront, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Leighanne

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We do not offer sushi in our new location, do not have any signage or advertise sushi. we are a take away found in the food court so we do not have any waiters.
I have written to you prior to posting this response and await your response.

I agree with your view but It seems as if it is a case of mistaken identity and you are referring to another business. if you have referenced some old media or publication, then I apologise.

Please do pay us a visit the time you are in Cape Town to try Thai cuisine.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great tasting, healthy fast food”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Nothing beats an affordable healthy authentic thai meal that is served with a warm smile and quick service. The manager and her team are always ready to rock!!!

Best Thai restaurant in town!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ntvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaviCapeTown, Owner at Simply Asia Waterfront, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Customer

thank you for the great feedback

your feedback has been passed on to the staff.

we look forward to being of future service to you

Regards
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not authentic Asian, like the other Simply Asia's”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We love Asian food, and especially Simply Asia's, menu. But, were very disappointed in the taste and presentation. We asked for , and payed for extra veg, but got onions and green pepper... The chicken items, which were advertised with veg, had very little veg and chicken in it. The taste was definitely not the same as before, and the other Simply Asia in Somerset west, which serves fantastic food! The next day I had a phone call from the manager, which was good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreLoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaviCapeTown, Owner at Simply Asia Waterfront, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Customer

thank you for your feedback.

the staff were made aware of your comments.

Regards

Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnievale, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple, fast, friendly”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Simple, fast, friendly, some vegetarian foot, delicious, this is what I love, I can recommend it. We always stop there when we're at Waterfront.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaviCapeTown, Owner at Simply Asia Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you valued customer for your feedback
we look forward to being of service whenever you visit the waterfront

Regards
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thai is King”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The new restaurant looks so much more professional than the old one. It serves VERY nice food and has friendly service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ria Bela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaviCapeTown, Owner at Simply Asia Waterfront, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Customer

thank you for your feedback

Regards
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Asia Waterfront also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Simply Asia Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing