We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to see the Cape town area”

Cape Sidecar Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.98*
and up
Cape Town City Sightseeing by Motorcycle Sidecar Experience
Ranked #59 of 325 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our fleet of 30 vintage motorbike sidecars provide chauffeured tours and transfers around Cape Town, Cape Peninsula and the Winelands.
north wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best way to see the Cape town area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Not the most comfortable way to take a tour of the cape town area but easily the best.
Trixie our driver was great. Very friendly and eager to make sure we were having a great time.
The bikes are old and basic but that was part of the attraction and on a nice warm sunny day you can appreciate the clean air of the cape and have the full benefit of the amazing scenery.
Be prepared to have your photo taken by other jealous tourists who are on the bus tours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aceadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun way to explore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of a full day peninsula trip. Donald took great care of us and carefully planned how we wanted to spend the day. He was really friendly and informative and we enjoyed every minute of the day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank zapcat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
204 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Fun ride, not the full two hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I was very excited for this ride - chose it instead of going on winery tours with my husband. Arranged with Tim to be picked up at 9:45 at hotel (very nice service) and dropped in town at noon. Driver arrived at 10:10 and dropped me at 11:45. Car was quite old - not like the photos on the website. Thoroughly enjoyed the ride - wished it were longer and in a cooler car

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timthescorpio, Owner at Cape Sidecar Adventures, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
hi barbara,

Thanks for taking the time to review your outing on one of our sidecars. My apologies for your late pick-up and early drop-off. It is absolutely contrary to our mission statement which is to provide a service which far exceeds our guests' expectations. This obviously wasn't the case on your outing. I have discussed this with the driver concerned & we have taken steps to ensure this sloppy service will not be repeated.
Regarding our sidecars. They are all hard-working vintage sidecars from the 1960's and, although we maintain them in the safest possible state of roadworthiness, they are all pretty old and some of them tend to look somewhat scruffy. We choose authenticity at the expense of coolness, i'm afraid..
If you're back in our beautiful Cape Town again sometime, I would be more than happy to treat you to a complimentary outing and hopefully be able to show off our true colours..

Regards
Tim Clarke
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had the pleasure of a two hour tour, with my daughter (10) in the sidecar.We both really enjoyed it! A great way to see all the beauty of the cape. A great addition to the hop on hop off bus, and great fun for kids. (and adults)...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LivefromAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were a bit apprehensive as my wife has walking difficulties and we were concerned about her getting in and out of the sidecar. We needn't have worried as our driver, Eugene, was very helpful and it was much easier than we thought. We went on the short tour up the coast and what a wonderful experience it was, great fun and Eugene was very informative. We are both the wrong side of 60, but don't let age or disability put you off, go for it, you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Sidecar Adventures also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Sidecar Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing