We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality avoid”

Chabivin Champagne & MCC House
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chabivin's seeds was planted in 2007 through a meeting with Hendrik Snyman, a passionate winemaker and French Champagne House owners, Brigitte Charbaut-Abiven and Jean-Pierre Abiven. Chabivin has a wonderful selection of locally produced MCC's as well as French Champagne. We have a tasting room on the farm as well as a restaurant that caters the most delicious cuisines. Regular events are hosted on the farm.
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We visited Chabivin for a tasting and picnic "experience". What was meant to be a mini treat for my boyfriend on his birthday turned into a 40 minute or less pitstop. I had booked a month prior and confirmed the picnic and not once did they mention construction work would be taking place on the plot (farm is over stating). Drilling, hammering and grinding greeted us on our visit. The tasting compromised a sip of three wines whose grapes don't originate from their farm but rather different farms around the province. The pictures displayed are a stretch for what you actually get for your picnic 3 olives, 2 cocktail tomatoes, 3 slices of cheddar cheese, a cut of brie, a half fig as well as 3 slices of cold meats and a fly encrusted salad of limp leaves is a better description. Their explanation " We are opening a restaurant on Friday", suggestion then not to have people come whilst busy if you ever hope to have repeat business or if you would like people to suggest the place to their friends. AVOID AVOID AVOID. Go to the JC le Roux tasting 10 minutes away or even Spier for a better experience, better food and better service.

Date of experience: February 2013
2  Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

10 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We came across the website for this farm and decided that we'd like to go visit it. I'm so glad that we did.

Firstly, the setting is gorgeous - there are plenty of umbrellas, big cushions and plenty of tables. The farm is very close to the R44, which is convenient and yet far enough to still feel like you are escaping it all.

Now about the wine: You must have a group of 8 in order to do the full MCC and champagne tasting. We were a little disappointed to hear that, since we were only two but it is perfectly understandable considering the costs involved for the farm. Also, the manageress very kindly offered to let us taste some of the champagne which had remained from a previous tasting. I think such gestures are thoughtful and make a big difference to one's overall impression of a place.

The MCCs we did taste were excellent. There is something for everyone, whether you enjoy the very dry MCCs or the slightly sweeter ones.

I must admit that some of the Stellenbosch sparkling wine and MCC producers have begun to disappoint me lately. The emphasis has shifted from the wines to the touristy attractions and that is very sad. I recently went to a tasting at a large producer where all my MCCs were poured at once and allowed to get warm and lose their bubbles. At Chabivin, I had the exact opposite experience. The MCCs were served COLD (as they should be) and none of them had lost their bubbles. It's all about the personal touch at this farm.

I highly recommend this farm and their wines. The staff are extremely eager to assist and to share information. Since it was a quiet day before the December madness, we were even treated to some delicious biscuits with homemade cheese spread. It was more glamorous than a spread but I've forgotten what it was called. Either way - it was delicious!

I will certainly go back to this farm again!

Date of experience: December 2012
4  Thank Pepper216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Excellent tasting of excellent wines. Accompanied by meat and cheese platters, we tasted our way through the list. Beautiful setting overlooking the vineyards. We enjoyed meeting the owners. We'll be back!

Date of experience: December 2012
2  Thank 40onilkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We found this place by accident when trying to find another estate. Well, what a great find. The Winemaker Hendrik Snyman is very enthusiastic and is eager to share his knowledge on making Champagnes and Method Cape Classique. It is a young estate but it produces wonderfull sparkling wines. We recommend a visit to this place at any time.

Date of experience: December 2012
1  Thank Pimmetje_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chabivin Champagne & MCC House also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Chabivin Champagne & MCC House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing