We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous!

Easy check-in, and a friendly welcome by Danelle & Henrick. Gorgeous house, well equipped with... read more

Reviewed 26 June 2018
Cathy D
,
Metro Manila, Philippines
House of MCC / Methode Cap Classique and Champagne in Stellenbosch / Vive la France!

If you are looking for an exclusive MCC and Champagne Tasting (best on appointment)... 021 880... read more

Reviewed 25 June 2018
etenarogos
,
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
9
1
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
1
0
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Easy check-in, and a friendly welcome by Danelle & Henrick.
Gorgeous house, well equipped with everything you need. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Very homely and comfortable on a lovely property. Thank you also for the bottle of Chardonnay you produced yourself. It was FAB!
Would definitely stay again :)

Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

If you are looking for an exclusive MCC and Champagne Tasting (best on appointment)... 021 880 1643 ....Brigitte Abiven (Owner) and Jean-Pierre coming from France to South Africa, offer high class produce and the charming French way to explain all things 'bubbly' from Jean-Pierre is a unique experience....find your way to this wonderful place (half way direction to Dornier Wine Estate...)!

Thank etenarogos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Please note this review is not about the wine farm, it's about accommodation only. The location on a working farm is lovely and the visiting dogs were quite special. The Manor House has spacious living areas. In general though, we were unfortunately a little disappointed. Our room had no hanging cupboards (drawers only), blinds with broken strings/cables and lacked proper cleaning. The outside braai area hadn't been swept for a while and, although this might just be a personal preference, we prefer two sheets on our beds. In general the place is a little shabby and hardly lives up to it's title. If this was a TGCSA graded establishment they'd struggle to be awarded two star yet the rate charged seems to imply a five star. We paid a little under ZAR 6000 for two nights.

Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Amazing mcc to rival any French Champagne! Lovely outdoor tasting, 3 different varieties. This is a definite must for bubbly lovers

Thank Frikkadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Easter weekend we drove around Stellenbosch and it was 3pm and saw the signs for J C LeRoux and decided to visit - mistake after wasting our time driving up to the estate we were told rather arrogantly its by appointment only, maybe they should put that on their 10 meter sign on the main road in Stellenbosch!
So we checked out the vineyard lists and came across Chabivin so we phoned hoping it was open. Our call was answered by a french sounding person who said he had just finished his lunch and was on desert but he would gladly welcome us. So off we went Its just outside Stellenbosch on the R44. We were met by the owner Jean-Pierre, a frenchman who lives summer in the Champagne district in France and then Summer in Stellenbosch. Not your typical frenchy, a character of note with a good sense of humor! Being the only ones at the estate it was great because we were taught the ins and outs of MCC Champagne and with such enthusiasm by Jean-Pierre. The tasting was exceptional we tried 3 different bottles 2 white and one Rose'. the champagne was served at the right temperature and not just a single or double tot full, more like 3/4 of a glass! New bottles were opened without any complaint which we thought very decent of him. We even purchased 2 bottles to take home. I would put Chabivin on a level with Moet Chandon and having gone through our fair share of Moet we can compare.
We only wish we had discovered this estate earlier in the day as we only got there late but Jean-Pierre as i said welcomed us and kept open for us.
Yes will be back just a pity we cant get any bottles in our local bottle stores in Natal.At R130 a bottle that we paid its a bargain.

Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

This venue is spectacular. Though the tasting room is smaller than what one is use to, the outside seating area for this establishment is exactly the kind of escape one needs when they think Champagne and Sundays. Surrounded by tall trees which sing to you as the wind makes the branches sway, coupled with a central tree with champagne bottles for leaves and fairy lights scattered all around, this establishment is a rare gem.

We had the MCC tasting, which consisted of 4 different x 500ml glasses of 11% alcohol infused bubbles. Unlike JC le Roux, this champagne gives off a more adult feel with very little to no sugar being added to the mix, but don't let this mislead you, as I am a sweet-lover and still find this champagne quenches my thirst and taste buds all round.

If you're looking for a place that you and your loved one can connect in and enjoy, than this is definitely your venue.

No food is offered at this venue, any more, but events and parties can be arranged at this beautiful venue.

Really - it's a slice from a fairy tale (especially when they have their huge cushions outside on the lawn for your leisure).

Thank TheFirstChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We went to Sage Restaurant at Chabivin on Sunday. It was on a Groupon type deal, however we were treated as one would expect to be otherwise. The food was very good, and the service, greeting, and general attitude of the two staff in attendance was excellent. There was no management presence whatsoever, however that did not seem to matter. The only real negative to the afternoon was the chef, who we never saw, but heard constantly shouting and swearing at the two wonderful service staff. Only other negative was pricing. No complaint for us since as said we had a discount voucher, but had we paid full price, value for money would also have been out of balance. So on the whole good, but chef, you are not Gordon Ramsay, not even close, so treat your fellow staff with the respect they deserve!

Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We visited this wine farm over the Easter weekend and paid R220 for a picnic basket I could have created for about R30

Half a baggett
6 small slices of meat
Some lettuce in a jam jar
A small wedge of brie
A small block of cheddar
A bottle of water
A tiny pot of balsamic and pesto sauce

I'm glad I visited and tried it, but wont be visiting again. This kind of rip off just puts anyone off visiting again. I'd understand if the place was upmarket, clean and tidy. But it's a wannabe wine farm cashing in on unsuspecting visitors. Go elsewhere, this place has a lot of growing up to do.

Rather go to Warwick, they have far superior picnics, better service, and much nicer surroundings

2  Thank AndyZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spend our sunday at chabivin, what an amazing experience... we started off with our picnic basket and tastings, the setting is beautiful,, went on to order some starters off the menu of the restaurant "Sage". compliments to the chef!!! excellent food, great champagne....oops, not allowed to called it that! wonderful music , french and south african, had chats with the French owner.... certainly worth visiting and will be back with more ffiends.... so glad I found this littlle piece of paradise.... weel done to all of them

Thank chickliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We visited Chabivin for a tasting and picnic "experience". What was meant to be a mini treat for my boyfriend on his birthday turned into a 40 minute or less pitstop. I had booked a month prior and confirmed the picnic and not once did they mention construction work would be taking place on the plot (farm is over stating). Drilling, hammering and grinding greeted us on our visit. The tasting compromised a sip of three wines whose grapes don't originate from their farm but rather different farms around the province. The pictures displayed are a stretch for what you actually get for your picnic 3 olives, 2 cocktail tomatoes, 3 slices of cheddar cheese, a cut of brie, a half fig as well as 3 slices of cold meats and a fly encrusted salad of limp leaves is a better description. Their explanation " We are opening a restaurant on Friday", suggestion then not to have people come whilst busy if you ever hope to have repeat business or if you would like people to suggest the place to their friends. AVOID AVOID AVOID. Go to the JC le Roux tasting 10 minutes away or even Spier for a better experience, better food and better service.

2  Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews