We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Stella Maris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Stella Maris
Bagnoles de l'orne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have just discovered that the review I entered to tripadvisor somehow was not published, so here goes again. My wife and I booked Villa Stella Maris through groupon, I contacted the hotel and the reservation process was very straightforward and friendly. On arrival it was obvious that we were going to love this place as the hospitality was second to none, Dirk and Romy simply could not do enough to make us feel at home, The Breakfast was superb and they responded to every request we had, and Dirks local knowledge and restaurant recommendations were first class ( try the Salzburger at the bottom of the hill, food is superb). We were visiting from Nairobi and we needed to stock up before returning, Dirk lent us his Cash & Carry card so we could get everything we needed. Wonderful people, I am only sorry our first review was not published, I would recomment this hotel to anyone who values an excellent host, great food and wonderful ambience. Thank you Villa Stella Maris.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Stella_Dirk, Owner at Villa Stella Maris, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Villa Stella Maris,
guests like you makes our lives a gratifying one. Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

For the best views over Sea Point, nothing beats Villa Stella Maris! And, for hospitality, nobody beats the proprietor, Dirk, Friendly, helpful, congenial; these words describe him but he is more than that. The room I took was slightly small, and the separating false wall into which I staggered in the early hours of the morning, detract from a fantastic, awesome experience. Now, to be fair, the access has to be described. One drives up, up, up the hill until a gate looms in front of one. Turn left immediately - to enter a different property - where a security gate has to be entered. After passing some apartments, another climb awaits. If you are not used to driving up hills, this will certainly present a challenge BUT then the good stuff outweighs, by far, this minor obstacle. Walk down the hill to shops and restaurants; a few blocks further, then on to the promenade next to the sea. But, be afraid, very afraid of the walk back up the hill! Oh my! Yes, a fantastic stay to be had.

Room Tip: Either SUNSET or SUNRISE. Really nice to be able to walk out onto a huge patio and to watch the ship...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The stay was like being at second home! Lovely, easy going and helpful people and a relaxed atmosphere. They has some really cute animals also. The location was perfect to explore Cape Town and the view was absolutely stunning! Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cathrine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, excellent place, excellent ambience, excellent staff and excellent host. Everything was perfect.
We will return for sure and we will recommend Villa Stella Maris to our friends.
Thanks Dirk

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JmaElias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Is true is next to everything, shops,sea. But please if you are not used to gym make sure you have your own car cause is on steep. But overall i enjoyed everything about the place i managed to go everywhere i liked to in Capetown. Public transport is accessible as well 2 street away from Villa is bus stations, 4 streets away from Villa is public taxis

Betty

Room Tip: If you like to cook for yourself Slate room is for you. Sunrise is good as well for sun and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Villa Sella Maris. The accommodation was very homey and quaint and it was a beautiful setting. The location was perfect to do all the cool tourist stuff, table mountain, lions head, the VA Waterfront, Camps Bay, everything was so close as well as having a great view of the ocean. The staff were so helpful, anytime we needed directions Dirk was there to help us out and point us in the right direction, not to mention the breakfast was delicious! We would absolutely stay there again as it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Dirk does a great job of helping you feel at home and comfortable! Great views of the ocean. Quiet area of the city. Great location for walking the ocean front. We would stay there if we ever return to Cape Town in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
1.3 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Stella Maris

Property: Villa Stella Maris
Address: 55 St Johns Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Stella Maris at the foothills of Signal Hill in Cape Town offers 5 en-suite rooms, stunning views, sparkling pool, best "home away from home" experience. Close to all beaches, restaurants, V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. Owner Dirk have over 18 years of experience with guesthouse management. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Stella Maris Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing