We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and quaint breakfast spot”
Review of Dinkel Bakery

Dinkel Bakery
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: German
Description: Small family run bakery located at the slopes of Table Mountain. We serve breakfast and light lunches in our coffee shop and garden. Daily freshly baked breads, rolls, pastries and cakes. Birthday cakes and wedding cakes on order.
Restaurant details
Description: Small family run bakery located at the slopes of Table Mountain. We serve breakfast and light lunches in our coffee shop and garden. Daily freshly baked breads, rolls, pastries and cakes. Birthday cakes and wedding cakes on order.
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Dinkel Bakery is hidden away on Kloof Nek Road. It is a lovely little German bakery and restaurant. Well worth a visit. The selection of home bakes is great esp the jam biscuits.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018

If you like German bread, pastry and also feel like speaking German, then this is the place to go. It seemed like there were German books and games upstairs too, but I did not check it out. The bakery seemed wedged between a cluttered living room and a small kitchen. The back garden, however, was nice and shady with 3-4 tables.

As for the food, our breakfast was presented beautifully. I had a Brandenburg omelette with spinach & feta and my German friend a breakfast board or some such thing that looked very pretty with a constellation of multicolored fruits, cherry tomatoes, cheese, an egg, ham etc. Despite the fancy name, the taste of my Brandenburg omelette left much to be desired. It did have salt though!

Glad there was a German-joint in central Cape Town and I got to visit the place, but I probably would not go there again for breakfast.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

This was a lovely little find. The coffee was great and the slice of beesting cake was delicious.
We were able to sit outside in a delightful courtyard garden.
A very friendly chatty young man served us, with an amazing smile.
Would definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank LadyParker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Nice location and cute decor/furnishings. This is the perfect spot to grab a cappuccino, enjoy delicious croissants and read a book!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Marcopolo20th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Excellent bakery with the best croissant ever. Ambience is very cozy and quaint with option of open air seats in a garden. Good choices of bread and by far, they made the best croissants.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Justsnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinkel Bakery also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Dinkel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing