We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vibe”
Review of Jason Bakery

Jason Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Magaliesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived early just after 07h00 , such a nice cosy vibe. The street was still quiet but the cafe was nearly full. There was a smell of coffee and pastries. The coffee & croissants (although rich & buttery), were very good. Unfortunately it was too early to taste the ciabatta or other breads. The service was slow ,we had to call a waiter to serve us and trainee waiter who took the cups away did not seem to know much. Overall a great experience, definitely want to go back and would like to taste their lunch time sandwiches. From the menu they look delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandLinda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    60
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy Cafe”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This cafe is one of the best in Cape Town Central. The atmosphere is very cosy and their bakery is great. I would recommend the "pain au chocolat" with one of their variety of coffees. The service is good and they accommodate your extra demands very nicely. They have a breakfast and a lunch menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sahar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for a break”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

A nice warm place for coffee break or a simple meal. We were here for a quick coffee break before continuing with our shopping in town. Service was good and fast. I try their pie and just love it. Very sure its a home made pie unlike those from factory. Should have order some takeaway for my next coffee break...

Helpful?
Thank Arthur8998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee great service”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Usually have the cappuccino and late, with the odd croissant. Meals look delicious too, but I have not yet tried them.

Nice position in the upper Bree street side, with option for bar stools / counters inside or outside.

Just one of those great little spots in Cape Town that you have to try, at least once. Come on, you know you want to ;)

Helpful?
Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You must try their pain au chocolate”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

great place to eat breakfast. Lots of local people come here. The best bread I had in Cape Town and especially the pain au chocolate is diving. Highly recommend

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 888globetrotter_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jason Bakery also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Jason Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing