We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shahieda Dollie”
Review of Afternoon Tea

Afternoon Tea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy delicate finger sandwiches filled with rare roast beef and rocket, smoked salmon, egg mayonnaise or cucumber. Follow with a delectable dark chocolate cake, lemon meringue and freshly baked scones with clotted cream and preserves. Adding a special local flavour is a typical South African milk tart, called "melktert" in Afrikaans. During the winter months you can also enjoy a selection of warm treats. Expect mushroom empanadas, tomato tarts and chicken pies. The signature Mount Nelson Tea has been expertly blended from six teas: Darjeeling, Kenya, Assam, Keemun, Yunnan, Ceylon, and rose petals from our garden. In addition, we offer an array of leaf and flowering teas. Morning, Afternoon and Evening Tea is served in the lounge, on the terrace or around the garden fountain.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shahieda Dollie”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Brilliant service from an excellent staff member. Lunch served with cool attitude, great advice and sparkling personality. Matched only by the view.
Experienced staff counts for everything. Thank you Shahieda Dollie!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry-Princesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundula W, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Recognition for our staff is always appreciated! Thank you so much for making the effort - she has appreciated her name appearing in such a wonderful manner in this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    156
    72
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant High Tea”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a pleasant afternoon High Tea at the Mount Nelson but it certainly didn't blow my hair back. As Capetonians, we feel it's over priced compared to other hotels in the area. Mount Nelson have also recently change afternoon from 1 sitting to 2 sitings (13:30-15:30 or 15:30-17:30) I had chosen the later option as we didn't want to feel rushed and under pressure by the 2 hours limitation. Unfortunately our table wasn't ready on arrival and had to wait +-15 mins, lack of friendly welcome on arrival, none of the staff look happy however a few do try to smile. However besides the few negatives, the selection of savouries and sweets were wonderful and generous.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyLynne14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundula W, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We value your feedback and will surely address the issues mentioned with the team, thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant afternoon”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I treated my husband to a belated 10th anniversary celebration at the Mount Nelson for High Tea. We had a wonderful time and the quality of food presented was superb. The only complaint we had was the lack of a friendly welcome upon arrival. We were shown to our seats and when we requested to rather sit indoors we could see the lady was irritated with us. I informed her it was my first time at the Mount Nelson and was hoping she would be helpful. She was not. We really had no clue how it worked and my husband proceeded to fill up on cake! Later we were then given a delicious selection of savory items, my husband was suitably unimpressed. However our wonderful waiter John made up for the unfriendly welcome upon our arrival. John took good care of us! We still had a wonderful time and would definitely go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimmysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundula W, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
A warm welcome makes all the difference - we have shared your experience with our team to highlight to them once again of the importance of first impressions! Thank you for making the time to let us know about how you enjoyed the experience and that each welcome counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Deen is the best tea ambassador”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a must do to experience for high tea at its best. The food is superb, but the overall experience is the best. Deen carefully explained all that we ever wanted to know about tea and guided us through the two hour afternoon experience. At $23 USD, it was a bargain considering the quality and quantity of food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundula W, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
It is imperative that the tea's are explained, with the large variety on offer, we can only assume you may get 'lost' in the pages if our waiters are not guiding you along! Thank you for taking the time to comment on this and we have passed the great feedback on to Deen and our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at the Mount Nelson”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were staying at the Table Bay Hotel and our tour group visited the Mount Nelson Hotel for afternoon tea. It is served buffet style consisting of finger sandwiches with a wide variety of fillings, followed by an incredible range of mouth-watering cakes, freshly baked scones with cream and strawberries and it was all scrumptious. Everything was in plentiful supply and you could return to the buffet table as many times as you liked.

One small problem was being with a tour group we were served pots of the signature Mount Nelson tea which was delicious but were not offered any other variety of tea to try and I think it would be even more special to visit independently.

After tea we enjoyed a walk around the beautiful grounds of the hotel with its interesting art work. It was a very enjoyable and memorable experience and in my opinion the quality of food is totally on a par with afternoon tea at the Ritz in London

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afternoon Tea also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Afternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing