We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome curries :)”
Review of Vandiar's

Vandiar's
Ranked #465 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome curries :)”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Came here with my cousins - food was amazing but service was a little slow! We got complimentary brinjal fritters after our meal :) would go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“AWESOME”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great food, great service! Had a great time at Vandiars.
Im definately going to become a regular!Butter chicken Pizza was amazing!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tariq i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon's Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My family and I started on this adventure of trying at least one traditional food restuarant a month, and we started with Vandiar's. Excellent food, excellent service, can recommend it for anyone that like strong but flavoured curry. Prices are very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erienorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Divine Curry”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The restaurant is stuck away and kind of strange. We were apprehensive on entering but once those aroma's hit you - it's heaven.
We shared three different curries with roti and rice. Each curry very distinctive.
It is one of the best curry houses I have been too.
Absolutely divine!!
Service was great too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Curry in Cape Town”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We discovered this gem of an Indian restaurant in Dunkley Square, Barnett St, Gardens. The location is a romantic square in one of Cape Town's popular Victorian neighbourhoods, nestling under the shadow of Table Mountain. Although we had read in reviews of service complaints, we were promptly offered drinks after being seated upstairs in the restaurant which is situated in a pretty Victorian semi, and throughout the meal the service was friendly and attentive. No complaints on that score- and the food. We had a simple and delicious starter selection- a trifle oily but delicious nevertheless. I had the Mutton curry, succulent cubes of tender lamb in a gravy so spicy and delicious that I mopped up the last morsel with the Naan bread. My wife had the chicken curry and a veg curry, and she found the dark Durban style chicken curry a little overpowering and salty, but I enjoyed it very much.
Photographs of the beautiful Indian family, apparently one of Durban's most prestigious, line the walls and the decor is romantic and relaxing. With prices much less than many in the City Centre, we would recommend this to anyone wanting a fix of spicy food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HorizonsNoordhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vandiar's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Vandiar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing