We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking : Dream home in a dream location.”
Lothian Lake House is situated in the Elgin Valley - its part 007 house, part Bali paradise.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lothian Lake House is situated in the Elgin Valley - its part 007 house, part Bali paradise.
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Lothian Lake House is situated in the Elgin Valley - its part 007 house, part Bali paradise.
Pool
Bedroom: Protea, with lake in Background.
Double volume lounge
Master bedroom is a large Suite in itself. With a log fire , desk , and sofas.
Arum Lilly Bedroom, with River in Background.
Lara bathroom Ensuite
VIew over the pool to the Palmiet River with vines in the distance
Front door garden, keypad security.
Gym, has pretty well everything. Rowers, runners, Cross trainers,bicycle,  Free weights , mats etc
The boys winter lounge Cocktail /bar with big LCD , and table football
Front Stairs
Peaceful Massage room in a Zen Setting.
Sauna
Looking down the drive ,towards the Vineyard and Orchard.
Pool Deck at Sunset
The river in the morning, look out for Otters.
Inspecting the  Lothian Vineyards vines.
Garden
The Vines.
Looking down the river .
Gym, next to Sauna and Massage Rm overlooking onto the pool
24' Searay
Tennis Court
Guests enjoying the Pool Bar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Cape Town Central, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Breathtaking : Dream home in a dream location.”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Set in a spectacular valley, 30mins from Cape town airport. The house and staff were amazing with our every need catered for, Jamie the House manager seemed to know what we wanted before we asked, she had endless ideas to keep the kids happy from weaving headbands from wild flowers to pottery throwing or water skiing. The adults too were taught to fly fish, blend their own wines ( which we are having sent home!) and numerous other activities from paint balling to mountain biking.
The home is the ideal family home that caters for the wild thing in you- to the book worm who just needs quiet nook, The pool is huge and sits in a backdrop that is simply devine. We hired a chef for our stay who really got what we were into and catered for both the fussy and even the vegan daughter with a flourish. We had yoga in the morning , a few tennis lessons too for the adults. We soon realised we were really central to more or less everywhere we wanted to go- Hermanus for the Whales, Franschoek for a little French influence and Stellenbosch for a wine tour (we realised later we should have stayed in the Elgin Valley) .The longer we stayed the more we really wanted just to enjoy Lothian House, its one of those places where the little things have been thought of, we soon found we had some many things to get to we will have to come back!
The Estate also boasts a range of wines made by Richard Kershaw which are simply outstanding.
The tired mother in me certainly felt rejuvenated at the end of the holiday, and thats after fair few nights where partying was high on the agenda. I would certainly recommend the House for parties of 10 or more , the place seems to thrive on people! The place is pretty huge, the master bedroom is probably bigger that most apartments , all the bedrooms were individual and everyone felt they had stunning rooms: every room had awesome views.
Can't wait to do it all over again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fdahmed
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday on the vineyard”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is not only spectacular but is perfectly designed for large groups. The views and rooms are amazing as the house sits in the middle of the lake. Grant, the property manager and the chef Angela were accommodating to every need and the staff were very friendly. Getting around to Cape town and other sites was really easy and after a few tours all we wanted to do was stay at the house and enjoy it to the max.

I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a great stress free vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rene z
Pinilla, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Incredible house wth a superb staff. Just perfect !!”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I decided to rent the place to celebrate my 50th birthday. It could accomodate 8 families in spacious bedrooms. As I closed the deal in February 2014 for December 27th till January 10th I got carried away and started inviting more childhood friends. We ended up being 65 with two other hotels close by to fit everyone.

All parties and pool days that people didn't go for sigthseeings were spent at the house. Yes, 65 crazy friends (26 children) and the staff was so willing to help and go the extra mile all the time that they became part of the group.
Grant, the manager (with Gavin's blessing) and his staff made us all feel that there were no impossible requests and we set up my bithday party with african dancers, acrobats, fire show, DJ as well as a one man band that blew everyone's mind !!

The house sits in a beautiful property with all the activities we could ask for. Jet skis, tenis court, beautiful setting for jogging, great swimming pool with jacuzzi, gym and sauna.
Rooms always very clean as well as all premises of the house, even after the big parties we had. And to add to it all the wines they make are great.

The chefs, Angela and G were tireless as well as Tyrone and Nick. Ty even gave us personal trainning at the gym and Nick and Nu (Grant's sister) were fantastic with the kids. Melanie also was always available to help us out and these people semmed to have some facial paralisys once that they were ALWAYS smiling.

I have organized trips for friends (groups of 10, not 65) in Bali, Vietnam, Thailand, Maldives and other places and have never had such a house in such settings and specially with such staff !!

Believe me I am not a friend of the owner for saying so many good things. It's just that with 65 people I had set up a trap for myself that could have been a nightmare and at the end, heard from a lot of the people there that it was the trip of their lives.

Unforgettable !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: staff friendliness and beauty fo the place
Liked least: Swimming pool could have some sort of heating
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 4 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
We are always pleased to see our guests coming back. We also think there is something very special about the house and its setting and love welcoming you and your family to experience it again. We had our first wedding earlier this year...the groom arrived in our powerboat on the river which provided a touch of fun, and have just hosted the Beauty and the Beast tv show for several weeks of filming in and around the property. It is turning into a busy year but we hope to see you this summer as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jun 2013
Thankyou Simon....we hope to see you again soon. The fishes in the river are already trembling at the thought of seeing you and your rod on the banks again. since your booking we have added several benches around the property to take advantage of the views and can now provide picnics, replete with wines from the estate which will shortly also feature a champagne, and will make your post fishing experience even more enjoyable!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing