We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect trip for backpackers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Xtreme

Cape Xtreme
Book In Advance
More Info
US$138.04*
and up
Paragliding in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CapeXtreme Adventure Tours and Cape to Addo Safari's has been operating quality scheduled and private tours since 2006 and is the first and original operators of the Cape to Addo route. We offer unique week and weekend Garden Route tours with guaranteed departures, as well as day tours and packages throughout Cape Town, the Garden Route and Kruger NP.
Landshut, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect trip for backpackers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Cape to Addo is a perfect chance to get to know the Western Cape. It is (compared to others) so cheap and you'll get in touch with so many other people. In our tour bus, we had 9 different nationalities. You stay in really good accommodation near beaches or other beautiful landscapes. In my opinion the tour is very good planned, because you are starting at the ocean to see whales or dolphins, later riding on through the beautiful landscape of the "route 62", then watching animals in parks or national parks (addo elephant park).
To be honest, we weren't really convinced of doing a group tour at the beginning, because we are not the kind of people who want to have a plan in holiday. But we realised that this is the best way to get to know new people, to get around very cheap and to get the first touch with South Africa. And now, to be honest again: it was a great decision. We found new friends (you are travelling with a majority of young backpacker), had great fun (like ostriche riding, kayaking, hiking, cage diving with crocodiles, etc.) and had an awesome guide: he was a great cook, driver, guide and also a friend. He always tried to please everybody and also told us really cool facts about South Africa and the locations we visited.

We are still talking about this trip and won't forget the fun we had. We are really convinced about it, so I don't see a reason not to book it when you are in Cape Town, looking forward to have fun, facts, animals and South Africa as you want it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peanut P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyA661, Manager at Cape Xtreme, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Hi Peanut P,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our Cape to Addo tour.
We are so happy to have changed your mindset a little bit in terms of group travel! it is a great way to make new friends, learn about other cultures and of course, save a bit on travel expenses!!
We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the guide. And we look forward to having you in our beautiful country again.
James - Cape to Addo Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    12
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful week traveling along the Garden Route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I, both seniors, opted for this budget safari even though the company warned us that our traveling companions would much younger than us and that the tour was geared to a younger age bracket. We took the 7 day Cape to Addo tour in January 2014 and we enjoyed every minute of it. Our driver and guide Nico picked us in Hermanus where we were staying with friends and we then met our traveling companions. They hailed from Argentina, Brazil, the UK and the Netherlands, and we all enjoyed one another's company throughout the entire trip. We spent 7 interesting and adventure filled days together. The program was varied, balanced, and interesting. We watched our companions bungee jump from the Bloukrans bridge, joined them zip lining, hiking, and swimming in some of the beautiful beaches where we stopped along the way. The itinerary followed the Garden Route and included visits to many natural wonders, such as the Cango Caves. Our trip culminated in the visit of Addo Elephant Park where we took an early morning game drive with a park ranger during which we saw lions, tens of elephants, jackals, zebras, etc, followed by another drive with Nico who took us to another section of the park where we saw many more wild animals. The accommodations where we spent the nights were all comfortable, clean, and well situated. The guest house at Sedgefield was located near the beautiful Myoli beach where the owner of the company Gavin, and Nico our guide drove us before dinner, for a memorable swim in the sunset. Everything about this trip was enjoyable and Nico spent a lot of energy to insure that everyone was comfortable and had a good time. His efforts were successful. It was a wonderful trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabonde401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyA661, General Manager at Cape Xtreme, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Hi Vagabonde401,

Thank you for your positive review of Cape to Addo Safaris.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every minute of the tour even though you considered yourselves "seniors"! The tour is generally considered to be geared towards the youth travel market, but we do strive to make sure that whoever is on our tour enjoys themselves and is made to feel included in the tour group.
We will be sure to pass on the great feeedback to our tour guide too.

We look forward being able to offer the same service with a smile to you and your family/friends when next you find yourself in South Africa!
Kind regards,
James - Cape to Addo Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I would recommend to do that tour with lourens. It was an amazing trip with a really interesting guide.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jocapejotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyA661, General Manager at Cape Xtreme, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Hi Jo,

We would like to thank you for your Tripadvisor review of Cape to Addo Safaris.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed it, and especially the tour guide. We will be sure to pass on the kind words to Lourens.
Kind Regards,
James - Cape to Addo Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Of the beaten Track Wine tour delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

All I have to say is Jimmy (James)! That may sound strange, but this tour guide and driver is a true gem to have around. Very knowledgeable, patient, insightful and funny character. We booked (Rather late, as usual with my family) for a wine tour of the Winelands region of Western Cape, and gladly my endless search directed me Revel who went out of their way to accomodate my large party on a one day notice of intention to partake on a tour.

The tour took us to Paarl, stellenbosh and Franschoek regions to some fantastic wine tasting venues (Not the commercially known wineries, but some true hidden gems of the region) for some vino tasting and interesting pairings with not only food but chocolates and cheeses (Try the Marble cheese from Fairview).

Jimmy Took us off the beaten track for some insightful and knowledgeable tastings and visiting, even going as far as taking us to see the prison from which the Great Madiba was released from (not Robben Island for all you self appointed Mandela fundis out there), which was off the tour route but worth the visit, and even at a stage assisting on one of the wineries to provide us with information on the wines being served (yes by him as well), to which i might add was delightful and surprising and he kept all in a familiar tone and funny.
Revel went out of the way to provide us with a modified rate to accomodate us and not just sticking to the price is this take it or leave policy that some other operators stick to. I recommend you give these chaps a call to book you next tour. I am definitely putting these guys on my speed dial to kill off some items of my bucket list. (Do read the funny captions on the back of their tour buses - Hilarious)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanchinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fascinating Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Martin Hitge picked us up at our hotel in Capetown on a Sunday morning and we soon got acquainted with a group of delightful traveling companions from Austalia, Brazil and the UK. We were in for a fascinating and varied travel experience. Our first stop was Hermanus, the world's whale watching capitol. We then visited Cape Agulhas, Africa's southernmost point, where the Atlantic and Indian Oceans meet. Monday's highlight was a visit to the Cango Caves near Oudtshorn, South Africa's ostrich center. That evening we were treated to ostrich steaks from a local ranch. They were delicious, like eating a very tender beef steak. Other highlights included a stop at the Bloukrans Bridge, where some of the younger members of our party partook in the world's highest bungie jump. A hike along the coast in Tsitsikamma National Park on a rainy morning provided spectaucular views of a rugged coast, a chance to see many wildflowers and rock hyrax, the closet living relative of elephants. Game drives in Addo Elephant National Park provided an opportunity to see large herds of buffalo and elephants as well as zebra, kudo, warthogs, jackals and other animals. A special treat was a stop at Botlierskop Farms where we had the opportunity to walk with Mufasa and Lyla, a pair of young, very well trained lions. We could even pet Lyla on the rump. Our accomodations were backpacker lodges. They were simple but clean and comfortable. Martin, it was a great trip. We would do it again. Many many thanks.

Bill and Pat Ciesla
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wciesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyA661, General Manager at Cape Xtreme, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Hi Bill and Pat,

We would just like to thank you for taking the time to review our Cape to Addo tour.
Sounds like you had the perfect trip (besides the weather down @ Tsitsikamma NP), with a mix of nature, adventure, scenery and of course the South African lekker local culture!
We look forward to being able to show you and your family/friends as good a time down here in sunny South Africa as you had!
Kind regards,
James - Cape to Addo Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Xtreme also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Xtreme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing