We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Waterkant Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$887
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$631
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$498
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
19
20
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
20
13
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

A centrally located B and B.
Close to restaurants and a supermarket.
Made to feel very welcome.
Quiet situation with views of Table Mountain.
Clean rooms. Towels etc provided.
Excellent cold buffet breakfast (can make toast).
Excellent self catering facilities.
Reasonably priced.
Premises secure.
Internet available.
Staff helpful and can organise car hire, trips etc.

Room Tip: Top floor is peaceful and private with easy access to self catering facilities.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zyxwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This was a quick stop for business and my first time at De Waterkant. Check in was fast and efficient. Rooms nice, clean and tidy. Biggest problem was lack of parking in vicinity. Area very busy so ended up parking in a parkade and walking up to check in and then moved my car later. Am a light sleeper so street noise was a bit of a problem. Breakfast was self service and continental. Everything fresh and tasty. Location was good for where I hadto be so would go again but for the parking problem.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank JaypeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Thanks again to De Waterkant for making coming to Cape Town feel like coming to a second home. Always friendly and helpful, in a nice, village-y neighborhood. This time, my room was in a shared apartment (never saw nor heard the other guests) with a private balcony with late morning to early afternoon sun. Always something to be wanted - this time there wasn't a proper shower, just a hand-held connected to the bathtup. The bathtub is great, though, if you're into baths..! I'll come back, and back, and back.

Room Tip: Ask for one with balcony or roof terrace access
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofusoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We made a last-minute booking at De Waterkant when our first choice was unavailable, and it was a good experience. We balked at the price at first (R1000 during the low season), which is way more than we would usually pay for lodging, but the place was really nice, so I suppose you get what you pay for. The place was immaculate, the location was convenient, the breakfast was good, the staff was friendly, and we met some very nice people and sipped some decent port and brandy whilst chilling on the deck. No complaints, really, other than the obnoxious Belgians that were staying there.

Room Tip: The side building (around the corner from reception) was very private and had a nicely-equipped kitchen.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskan_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Hi,
We stayed at De Waterkant Lodge for 4 nights, and would recommend anyone travelling toCape Town to consider staying there.It is very central, close to the hop on and hop off bus stop, and within minutes of great restaurants and a large supermarket/shopping centre. We could walk around the city of a day, and walk back to the Guesthouse without a problem. Lots of security personnel around the De Waterkant area, but we were not out late of a night, as we were exhausted after our full day of sightseeing.
Jeremy and his staff great to deal with, very friendly and helpful. We were in apartment number 7 which was around the corner from the main part of the guesthouse. Our bedroom was at the front of the building, but very quiet. We shared the kitchen , lounge area and balcony ,with one other couple, but rarely sighted anyone. Cooking facilities were good, but as the cost of eating out in Cape Town is so reasonable, we only made lunch once in the apartment,and walked to nearby restaurants for dinner.(many choices within 5 minutes walk) Breakfast was in included in the rate. Nice breakfast room, with a wonderful Balcony and views of Table Mountain.
Would love to return to Cape Town one day, and would have no hesitation with staying at De Waterkant Lodge. Thanks Jeremy for your kindness.
Russell

Room Tip: Not necesary to get a room with a kitchen, as there is an abundance of reasonably priced restaurants nearby
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews